Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Create Your Chicago Style Citations

Academic Journal Article Basics

Academic Journal Article Basics

General Format:

The citation for an academic journal will include the name of the author, the title of the article, the journal name, volume, and issue number, year of publication, page numbers, and a DOI or URL. The article title is to be closed within quotation marks, and the journal name should be italicized. Both should use headline style capitalization. 

Volume/Issue number

The issue number is preceded by the abbreviation no. which is in italics. The number is not in italics. The issue number is included even if the journal has continuous pagination or if a month or season precedes the year.

URL/DOI 

A DOI, or digital object identifier, is used to identify a digital item. When citing a digital source, use a DOI or URL as the final element of the citation.

  • For subscription databases, such as most of those found on our databases page, consider using the database name if no DOI is available or if the reader will not have access to the database.
  • Many databases on our databases page will have a permalink link which can be found in the article record within the database. This is to be used instead of the web address in the web browser's address bar.  
  • DOIs have the advantage that they will almost always lead the reader to information about the work, if not the full text.

Academic Journal Articles Found Online

Articles not found online

Citations to articles not found online are formatted the same, minus the URL or DOI.

Journals with no issue number

If the journal does not use issue numbers, the volume number will be followed by a colon and no space appears between it and the page number. If the publication uses a season or month in place of an issue number, there will a space between the volume number and the season or month. The season or month is placed in parentheses and will be followed by a colon.  There will be no space between the colon and the page numbers.

Page numbers

The page numbers in the bibliography and references list represents the beginning and ending page numbers of the article, rather than the pages, cite as seen in seen in the note example below.

Note: 

2. Sara Koopman and Seliga Laine, "Teaching Peace by Using Nonviolent Communication for Difficult Conversations in the College Classroom," Peace and Conflict Studies 27, no. 3 (2021): 11-12, https://doi.org/10.46743/1082-7307/2021.1692.

Bibliography: 

Koopman, Sara, and Laine Seliga. “Teaching Peace by Using Nonviolent Communication for Difficult Conversations in the College Classroom.” Peace and Conflict Studies 27, no. 3 (2021): 1-31. https://doi.org/10.46743/1082-7307/2021.1692.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Koopman and Laine 2021, 11-12) 

Reference list: 

Koopman, Sara, and Laine Seliga. 2021. “Teaching Peace by Using Nonviolent Communication for Difficult Conversations in the College Classroom.” Peace and Conflict Studies 27, no. 3: 1-31. https://doi.org/10.46743/1082-7307/2021.1692.

Single author articles

Please note that if this article had only one author, a comma would have been placed after Koopman in the note and is followed by the title. In the bibliography and on the Reference list, a period would have been placed after Sara, since the author's name is inverted there. In the references list, that would then be followed by the publication date.

Academic Journal Book Review Found Online

In the bibliography and on the references page, book reviews are placed alphabetically using the review author's last name. If there is not attribution, it will be alphabetized by the journal title.

Page numbers

In the example below, the book review is one page. If the review was longer than one page, the beginning and ending page number would be separated by a hyphen.

Note: 

2. Guy Lancaster, review of Minds and Computers: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence, by Matt Carter, The Heythrop Journal 50, no.3 (April 7, 2009): 565. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-2265.2009.00484_50.x. 

Bibliography: 

Lancaster, Guy. Review of Minds and Computers: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence, by Matt Carter. The Heythrop Journal 50, no.3 (April 7, 2009): 565. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-2265.2009.00484_50.x. 

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Lancaster 2009, 565) 

Reference list: 

Lancaster, Guy. 2009. Review of Minds and Computers: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence, by Matt Carter. The Heythrop Journal 50, no.3 (April 7, 2009): 565. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-2265.2009.00484_50.x.