Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Create Your Chicago Style Citations

Website Basics

Website Basics

The citation should include the author's name, the page title, enclosed in quotation marks, the website name, publishing organization, publication date, and URL. If the publication date or revision date is not available, use the access date in its place. If the cite source is frequently updated consider including the timestamp.

Webpage Without Publication Date

Note: 

1. Destiny Mowadeng et al., “CPTSD Resources,” CPTSD Foundation, accessed February 8, 2022, https://cptsdfoundation.org/.

Bibliography: 

Mowadeng, Destiny, Shirley Davis, Richel Burkey-Harris, and Robyn Brickel. “CPTSD Resources.” CPTSD Foundation . Accessed February 8, 2022. https://cptsdfoundation.org/.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Mowadeng et. al n.d.)

Reference list: 

Mowadeng, Destiny, Shirley Davis, Richel Burkey-Harris, and Robyn Brickel. n.d. “CPTSD Resources.” CPTSD Foundation . Accessed February 8, 2022. https://cptsdfoundation.org/.

Webpage with an Organizational Author and No Date

Note:

2. “Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct,” American Psychological Association, accessed February 8, 2022, https://www.apa.org/ethics/code.

Bibliography: 

American Psychological Association. “Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct.” Accessed February 8, 2022. https://www.apa.org/ethics/code.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(American Psychological Association, n.d.)

Reference list: 

American Psychological Association. n.d. “Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct.” Accessed February 8, 2022. https://www.apa.org/ethics/code.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia does not need to be in italics like other reference resources because it has never been in print. Well known reference sources often do not appear in a bibliography or references list, none the less an example has been included. Also, consider including a last modified date in your citation since Wikipedia articles are edited frequenty.

Note: 

3. Wikipedia, s.v. “Cognitive Bias Modification,” last modified August 8, 2021, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_bias_modification.

Bibliography: 

Wikipedia. “Cognitive Bias Modification.” Last modified August 8, 2021. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_bias_modification. 

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Wikipedia 2021)

Reference list: 

Wikipedia. 2021. “Cognitive Bias Modification.” Last modified August 8, 2021. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_bias_modification. 

News Websites

Note: 

4. Pete Williams, “Supreme Court Allows Alabama Voting Maps That Advocates Say Disenfranchise Black Voters,” NBCNews. NBC Universal News Group, February 7, 2022.  https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/supreme-court/supreme-court-allows-alabama-voting-maps-advocates-say-disenfranchise-rcna15162.

Bibliography: 

Williams , Pete. “Supreme Court Allows Alabama Voting Maps That Advocates Say Disenfranchise Black Voters.” NBCNews. NBC Universal News Group, February 7, 2022. https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/supreme-court/supreme-court-allows-alabama-voting-maps-advocates-say-disenfranchise-rcna15162.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Williams 2022)

Reference list: 

Williams , Pete. 2022. “Supreme Court Allows Alabama Voting Maps That Advocates Say Disenfranchise Black Voters.” NBCNews. NBC Universal News Group, February 7, 2022. https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/supreme-court/supreme-court-allows-alabama-voting-maps-advocates-say-disenfranchise-rcna15162.

Blog Post

Blogs

Citations to a blog include the author, the post's title in quotes, the blog's title or name in italics, the date of the post, and its URL. If the blog is part of larger publication, its title is to be included after the blog's name, in italics, and then followed by a comma. Also, bibliography entries are optional when citing a blog.  The documentation can appear in text or notes.

Note that since the blog's name in the example below includes the word blog, there is no need to add the word blog in parentheses after its name.

Note: 

3. Aravosis, John, “Asian-Americans Pay the Price for Trump’s Hate,” AMERICAblog, March 17, 2021, https://gay.americablog.com/2021/03/asian-americans-pay-the-price-for-trumps-hate.html.

Bibliography: 

Aravosis, John. “Asian-Americans Pay the Price for Trump’s Hate.” AMERICAblog. March 17, 2021. https://gay.americablog.com/2021/03/asian-americans-pay-the-price-for-trumps-hate.html.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Aravosis 2021) 

Reference list: 

Aravosis, John. 2021. “Asian-Americans Pay the Price for Trump’s Hate.” AMERICAblog. March 17, 2021. https://gay.americablog.com/2021/03/asian-americans-pay-the-price-for-trumps-hate.html.