Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Create Your Chicago Style Citations

Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Magazine and Newspaper Article Basics

Magazine and Newspaper headings are treated much like journal titles and include the name of the author, the title of the article, the magazine, the date, page numbers, and a DOI or URL if found online.

Magazine Articles

Magazines

The bibliography entries and the notes will include: The author's name, the article title, which is enclosed in quotation marks, the magazine title, which is to be italicized, and the date. Page numbers should be included in the note, but not in the bibliography.

  • “The” is not included at the beginning of a periodical title.
  • The date of the magazine is usually given rather than the volume and issue and is not enclosed in parentheses. 
  • The page number cited is included in the note, while inclusive page numbers are omitted in the bibliography.
  • Online magazines should include the URL at the end of the citation. 

A print magazine article would be cited as below, without the URL. If a specific page was cited from a print article, the number would appear after the date separated by a comma.

Note: 

1. Kalyn Womack, “Black Women Want to Be Nominated in All Levels of Office,” The Root, January 31, 2022.  https://www.theroot.com/black-women-want-to-be-nominated-in-all-levels-of-offic-1848453225.

Bibliography: 

Womack, Kalyn. “Black Women Want to Be Nominated in All Levels of Office.” The Root, January 31, 2022.  https://www.theroot.com/black-women-want-to-be-nominated-in-all-levels-of-offic-1848453225.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Womack 2022)

Reference list: 

Womack, Kalyn. 2022. “Black Women Want to Be Nominated in All Levels of Office.” The Root, January 31, 2022.  https://www.theroot.com/black-women-want-to-be-nominated-in-all-levels-of-offic-1848453225.

Newspaper Articles

Newspapers

Bibliography entries and notes for newspapers will include: The author's name if listed, the headline, the newspaper name, the month, day, and year. 

  • Page numbers are not needed.
  • Section numbers or names can be given in place of page numbers.
  • Bibliography entries for newspapers are optional.
  • If the source is found online, a URL or database name should be included at the end of the note and bibliography entry if one is needed.
  • Bibliography entries can include edition information for the source if available (e.g. eastern edition, evening, etc.)
  • If the newspaper name begins with "The", do not include it.
  • For American papers that are not well known, city name should be added with the title, a state abbreviation may be added as well.
  • News services may be used in place of the author position of the citation.

Note: 

2. Amelia Pak-Harvey, “'We're Not Closing Doors on Anyone': What to Expect as Indianapolis Redraws Council Seats,” Indy Star (Indianapolis, Indiana), January 25, 2022, https://www.indystar.com/story/news/local/indianapolis/2022/01/25/indianapolis-city-council-president-reviews-redistricting-process-democrats-gop-republicans/6565762001/.

Bibliography: 

Pak-Harvey, Amelia. “'We're Not Closing Doors on Anyone': What to Expect as Indianapolis Redraws Council Seats.” Indy Star (Indianapolis, Indiana), January 25, 2022. https://www.indystar.com/story/news/local/indianapolis/2022/01/25/indianapolis-city-council-president-reviews-redistricting-process-democrats-gop-republicans/6565762001/.

Author-Date in-text citation:

(Pak-Harvey 2022)

Reference list: 

Pak-Harvey, Amelia. 2022. “'We're Not Closing Doors on Anyone': What to Expect as Indianapolis Redraws Council Seats.” Indy Star (Indianapolis, Indiana), January 25, 2022.  https://www.indystar.com/story/news/local/indianapolis/2022/01/25/indianapolis-city-council-president-reviews-redistricting-process-democrats-gop-republicans/6565762001/.