Cantigny First Division Oral Histories
To learn more about this collection, view the Cantigny First Division Oral Histories collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Introduction
The First Gulf War was an international conflict triggered by Iraq's invasion of Kuwait in August 1990. Though justified by Iraqi leader Saddām Hussein on grounds that Kuwait was historically part of Iraq, the invasion was presumed to be motivated by Iraq's desire to acquire Kuwait's rich oil fields and expand its power in the region. The United States, fearing Iraq's broader strategic intentions and acting under UN auspices, eventually formed a broad coalition, which included a number of Arab countries, and began massing troops in northern Saudi Arabia. A ground offensive by the coalition (February 24–28, 1991) quickly achieved victory. Estimates of Iraqi military deaths range up to 100,000; coalition forces lost about 300 troops. The war also caused extensive damage to the region's environment.
Source: Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2006. s.v. "Persian Gulf War, First or Gulf War."
DMR Subject Search
Use links below to search military subjects across the entire Digital Media Repository.
DMR Collections
The Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository contains the collection listed below pertaining to the Persian Gulf War, 1991. To browse all Persian Gulf War materials in the DMR click here.
- Cantigny First Division Oral HistoriesThe Cantigny First Division Oral Histories digital collection includes high definition video oral history interviews with veterans of the U.S. Army's First Infantry Division, commonly known as the 'Big Red One.'
- Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral Histories collection provides online access to digitized audio recordings and transcripts of 64 oral history interviews with U.S. military veterans from Grant County conducted by Marion High School students between 1998 and 2004.
- Vietnam Era Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Vietnam War Era Veterans Oral Histories digital collection includes 26 oral histories conducted by students from Michael W. Doyle's HIST 499 Oral History Workshop course in Fall 2009.