Battle for Korea
To learn more about this resource, view the item in the Spurgeon-Greene Photographs collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Introduction
A postcolonial civil war between Korean political factions that began in 1945, the Korean War became an international struggle in June 1950. The conventional war ended with an armistice in July 1953, with Korea divided. A Communist government under Kim Il Sung (1912-1994) ruled on one side of the demilitarized zone (DMZ), and an authoritarian, capitalist regime under Syngman Rhee (1875-1965) on the other. The war gave a global dimension to the Cold War by introducing American troops into Asia. The cost in lives made the war one of the worst since 1945: three million Korean civilian and military deaths (out of thirty million Koreans), one million Chinese soldiers, and about thirty-eight thousand battlefield deaths for the American and non-Korean military personnel of United Nations Command (UNC).
Source: The Reader's Companion to Military History. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996. s.v. "Korean War."
DMR Subject Search
Use links below to search military subjects across the entire Digital Media Repository.
DMR Collections
The Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository contains the collection listed below pertaining to the Korean War, 1950-1953. To browse all Korean War materials in the DMR click here.
- Cantigny First Division Oral HistoriesThe Cantigny First Division Oral Histories digital collection includes high definition video oral history interviews with veterans of the U.S. Army's First Infantry Division, commonly known as the 'Big Red One.'
- Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral Histories collection provides online access to digitized audio recordings and transcripts of 64 oral history interviews with U.S. military veterans from Grant County conducted by Marion High School students between 1998 and 2004.
- Middletown Digital Oral HistoriesThe Middletown Digital Oral History digital collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana.
- Other Side of Middletown PhotographsThe Other Side of Middletown Photographs digital collections illustrates the history of the life and achievements of African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana through photographs donated by members of the community.
- Spurgeon-Greene PhotographsThe Spurgeon-Greene Photographs digital collection, created by Richard (Dick) A. Greene and donated by Wiley Spurgeon, almost 3,000 photographs that provide invaluable historical documentation of Muncie, Indiana, from the 1930s through the 1970s.
- Vietnam Era Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Vietnam War Era Veterans Oral Histories digital collection includes 26 oral histories conducted by students from Michael W. Doyle's HIST 499 Oral History Workshop course in Fall 2009.