Vietnam Moratorium: Work for Peace, 1969-1972
To learn more about this resource, view the item in the Ball State University Student Life collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Introduction
The Vietnam War began as a struggle between communist North Vietnam and non-communist South Vietnam, and broadened to include the United States. It was preceded by the Indo-China War (1946-1954) between France and the Viet Minh, which ended with the defeat of the French at Dien Bien Phu. The Geneva Conference left North Vietnam under the rule of Ho Chi Minh, while the South was ruled first by Bao Dai and then by Ngo Dinh Diem. Elections were planned to choose a single government for all of Vietnam, but when they failed to take place, fighting was renewed. From 1961 in an attempt to stop the spread of communism, the USA increased its aid to South Vietnam and the number of its 'military advisers.' Although the US Congress never declared war officially, it passed the Gulf of Tonkin Resolution which authorized US forces in South-East Asia to repel any armed attack and to prevent further aggression. US bombing of North Vietnam was continued, and in 1965 the USA stepped up its troop commitment substantially.
Source: Chambers Dictionary of World History. London: Chambers Harrap, 2005. s.v. "Vietnam War."
DMR Subject Search
Use links below to search military subjects across the entire Digital Media Repository.
DMR Collections
The Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository contains the collection listed below pertaining to the Vietnam War, 1961-1975. To browse all Vietnam War materials in the DMR click here.
- Ball State Campus PhotographsThe Ball State University Campus Photographs digital collection is a representative sampling of more than historic 40,000 photographs, negatives and other images dating back to 1899.
- Ball State University Historic Films and VideosThe Ball State University Historic Films and Videos collection provides online access to digitized videos and films that document significant developments and events, noteworthy scholarship, and student life throughout the institution's history.
- Cantigny First Division Oral HistoriesThe Cantigny First Division Oral Histories digital collection includes high definition video oral history interviews with veterans of the U.S. Army's First Infantry Division, commonly known as the 'Big Red One.'
- Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral Histories collection provides online access to digitized audio recordings and transcripts of 64 oral history interviews with U.S. military veterans from Grant County conducted by Marion High School students between 1998 and 2004.
- Middletown Digital Oral HistoriesThe Middletown Digital Oral History digital collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana.
- Muncie and Delaware County Films and VideosThe Muncie and Delaware County Film and Videos digital collection currently consists of over 1500 digitized historical 16mm films ranging from 1913 to 1980. In an effort to provide documentation of important events in and around the Delaware County, Indiana area, this rare footage is now available online.
- Robert F. Kennedy Speech CollectionThe Robert F. Kennedy Speech Collection includes audio and video recordings, photographs, as well as a transcript of Robert F. Kennedy's speech delivered at Ball State University on April 4, 1968.
- Vietnam Era Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Vietnam War Era Veterans Oral Histories digital collection includes 26 oral histories conducted by students from Michael W. Doyle's HIST 499 Oral History Workshop course in Fall 2009.