Related Resources
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Introduction
Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections is home to a variety of primary and secondary resources for researching the history of East Central Indiana's built enviroment. These resources will be useful to students from programs within the College of Architecture and Planning (Architecture, Historic Preservation, Landscape Architecture, Real Estate Development, and Urban Planning and Development), as well as other students, faculty, and independent scholars interested in researching the history of neighborhoods, businesses, buildings, homes, and other structures in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana.
Included in these holdings are published histories, city directories, business and genealogical indexes, vertical files, manuscript collections, University Archives records, newspapers, photographs, architectural drawings, maps and atlases, official Delaware County records, and online digital collections. In addition to local history resources and Ball State University records, Archives and Special Collections is also home to collections with state-wide, regional, national, and even international research value. Some of these collections are included here due to their usefulness for researchers of the broader history of architecture and planning in Indiana and the United States.
Please note that this research guide is not intended to be an exhaustive list of all available architecture and planning resources in Archives and Special Collections, but rather a starting point for further research that may include additional relevant collections and published items not listed here.
Delaware County Courthouse, Spurgeon-Greene Photographs Collection, Archives and Special Collections. Available online in the Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository.