Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture and Planning Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections for researching the history of neighborhoods, businesses, buildings, homes, and other structures in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana.

Abstract of Title Files

Our Abstract of Title Files contain photocopies of Abstracts of Title for properties in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana from the 1830s through the 1970s. An abstract of title summarizes the ownership history for a particular parcel of land including the names of its owners and references to any applicable deeds, probate, or other public records. The abstracts are arranged alphabetically by street name and then numerically by block number.

**See online finding aid for a list of properties included in this collection.

Building Research Files

Our Building Research Files contain newspaper clippings, student research papers, and other documents related to buildings, homes, and streets in Muncie, Indiana and some neighboring communities circa 1970-2000s. The majority of the buildings documented in the files are located in downtown Muncie. The files are arranged alphabetically by street name and then numerically by block number.

**See online finding aid for a list of properties included in this collection.

Family Files and Family Name Index Cards

The Family Files and Family Name Index Cards contain historical documentation for prominent families and individuals in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana and include newspaper and magazine clippings, references to published histories and record indexes (Census records, deeds, etc.), genealogies, and research papers. The family files are organized alphabetically by last name of the family or individual.

A digital version of the Family Name Index Cards is available online in the Digital Media Repository: https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/LclHstCrds

Local History Files (Database)

The Local History Files database is both browsable by folder and searchable by keyword. The database contains digitized local newspaper clippings, student research papers, and other resources organized by subject. This is an excellent resource for researching local buildings, businesses, and individuals. Due to copyright restrictions, access to this resource is limited to the Archives and Special Collections research room.

Some of the most relevant folders for researching the built environment of Ball State University, Muncie, and Delaware County, Indiana include

  • Architecture
  • Ball State-Buildings (multiple subfolders)
  • Bridges
  • Bridges_Covered Bridges
  • Bridges_Indiana Bridge Company
  • Buildings-General
  • Buildings-Goddard
  • Buildings-Historic
  • Buildings-Masonic Temple
  • Buildings-Mitchell Block
  • Buildings-Union Station
  • Businesses (multiple subfolders)
  • Fires
  • Historic Preservation-Awards
  • Historic Preservation-Businesses
  • Historic Preservation-Endangered Sites
  • Historic Preservation-Farms & Barns
  • Historic Preservation-Groups & Organizations
  • Historic Preservation-Historic Districts
  • Historic Preservation-Historical Markers
  • Historic Preservation-Homes
  • Historic Preservation-National Register
  • Historic Preservation-Old Washington Street Festival
  • Historic Preservation-Schools
  • Historic Preservation-Tours
  • Historic Preservation-White River
  • Housing-Blight
  • Housing-General
  • Housing-Public Housing
  • Land
  • Landmarks
  • Maps
  • Muncie-Downtown-General
  • Neighborhoods
  • Parks-Cardinal Greenway
  • Parks-General
  • Parks-Improvements & Developments
  • Parks-Student Papers
  • Property
  • Redevelopment
  • Streets-Broadway-MLK
  • Streets-General
  • Streets-Main Street
  • Streets-Repairs & Construction
  • Streets-Student Papers
  • Streets-Walnut Street
  • Theatre-Opera House
  • Transportation-Automobiles
  • Transportation-Aviation & Airports
  • Transportation-Buses
  • Transportation-General
  • Transportation-Interurbans
  • Transportation-Railroads
  • Transportation-Streetcars
  • Transportation-Student Papers
  • Zoning