LibGuides: Urban Planning: Home

OneSearch
Search for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This article database is the main source for citations of articles on architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation.
Description: Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An article database; covers city planning and offers full text for several planning journals.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

More Urban Planning Databases
JSTOR, America: History & Life, and more.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books in other libraries and request them through interlibrary loan.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Interlibrary Loan
Login to your ILLiad account with your Ball State username and password to place requests or check the status of a request. Or, use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat or databases to request an item.

Architecture Images Collection
The Architecture Images Collection consists of digitized images of 35mm slides from the Architecture Library's David R. Hermansen Slide Collection. The images were photographed by Prof. Hermansen and others on study trips to sites all over the world, the United States, and Indiana. Image subjects include buildings, landscapes, street scenes, interiors, and other features of the built environment. In the University Libraries Digital Media Repository (DMR).
Architecture Images Teaching Collection
The Architecture Images Teaching Collection consists of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, and urban planning images for use by Ball State students and instructors in lectures and class projects. The collection is composed of high quality digital images purchased from vendors and digitized images of select 35mm slides in the Architecture Library’s slide collection. In the University Libraries Digital Media Repository (DMR). [Ball State username and password required]

Videos

Architecture Library DVDs in OneSearch
Ask for DVDs at the Architecture Library Circulation Desk.

Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and educational videos. Browse architecture videos by subject or search by keywords such as: cities, landscape architecture, historic preservation.
Description: Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.

Note: Creating a profile allows you to access your Dashboard, where you can create and share a watch list. Here's how you do it. Also, Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Time Period:
Sources: Select from more than 30,000 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Streaming Video
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Kanopy
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
Video tours of buildings around the world and interviews with architects.
Description:OnArchitecture is an audiovisual database which focuses on the main trends in architecture around the world. Videos include interviews with architects, editors, and curators. The database has photos of buildings and short articles about them and their architects.
Time Period: 2007 to present
Sources: Contains more than 200 videos.
Subject Headings: Architecture
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Images, Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher:
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art and Architecture Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window Art and Architecture in Video is a database with more than 500 hours of documentaries and interviews related to modern and contemporary architecture as well as other periods. The videos include searchable transcripts and tables of contents which allow easy access to specific points in the streaming video.
Description: Art and Architecture in Video is a database with more than 500 hours of documentaries and interviews related to modern and contemporary architecture as well as other periods. The videos include searchable transcripts and tables of contents which allow easy access to specific points in the streaming video.
Time Period: From earliest times to present
Sources: Contains more than 640 videos.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Urban Planning

MUD@CAP Indy users

Subject Guide

Videos

See Also