Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture and Planning Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections for researching the history of neighborhoods, businesses, buildings, homes, and other structures in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana.

Drawings + Documents Archive

The Drawings and Documents Archive is a unique resource dedicated to preserving the history of the built environment in Indiana. Its collections contain over 120,000 original architectural drawings, landscape plans, blueprints, photographs, models and building remnants that document the history of Indiana’s sites and structures. The Archive is located in Ball State University’s Architecture Building, room 120.

Architecture Library

The Architecture Library, located in the Architecture Building (AB) room 116, is a branch of the University Libraries. It features collections and services that support research in architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. The Architecture Library's Visual Resources Collection, located next door in the Architecture Building, room 117, supports the Architecture Images Collection in the Digital Media Repository and the Building Material Samples Collection. A Ball State University login is required to view the Architecture Images Collection in the Digital Media Repository.  

GIS Research and Map Collection

The GIS Research and Map Collection (GRMC) offers a substantial collection of cartographic resources, GIS software, expert mapping assistance and cartographic reference services using a wide-ranging collection of geospatial materials.  The GRMC also provides customized cartographic instructional sessions, a large GIS research area, and a growing collection of digital resources. The GRMC also offers large-format printing and laminating services to members of the Ball State University community. The GIS Research and Map Collection is located on the second floor of Bracken Library, east of the spiral staircase.The collection contains over 145,000 paper maps, digital maps, atlases, and gazetteers