Architecture and Planning Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Official county records can be a valuable resource for researching the history of specific properties as well as biographical information about property owners in Delaware County. These records include Census records, cemetery records, vital records (birth, marriage, and death records), tax records, mortgage records, deeds, civil orders, wills, and probate records documenting family relationships, property holdings/values, and land and building locations and descriptions.

Circa 2000, the Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections transferred a large quantity of official Delaware County records in their original format to the Muncie Public Library. Prior to transfer, the following records were microfilmed and the microfilm reels are currently available for use in Bracken Library (Microforms Collection, 1st Floor East). Note that many of the reels are prefaced by an index of names that appear in the record images (indicated in CardCat record below).

• Circuit Court Civil Complete Order Books, 1828-1929
• Circuit Court Civil Order Books, 1828-1921
• Court of Common Pleas Complete Civil Order Books, 1853-1857
• Deeds, 1827-1901
• Marriage Records, 1827-1950
• Probate Order Books, 1853-1919
• Probate Records, 1831-1869
• Wills, 1831-1921

The following indexes located in Archives and Special Collections can be used to navigate Delaware County records on microfilm:

• Delaware County Cemetery Records Index, circa 1960s-1970s
  • Index to cemeteries in Delaware County, Indiana as well as some cemeteries in Randolph and Henry counties. The card file index is arranged alphabetically by name of the person and indicates the cemetery where they are buried. The cemetery lists include names of those buried in the cemetery and where they are buried in the cemetery.


• Delaware County Deed Record Index, 1828-1899
  • ​ Includes copies of handwritten deed indexes for Delaware County, Indiana from 1828 to 1899.  The indexes are organized by seller, or Grantor, and indicate the Grantee, or buyer, as well as the page in the deed book where the deed can be found.​


• Delaware County, Indiana Index of Names of Persons and of Firms, 1939
  • ​Index of personal names and businesses referenced in some of the major histories of Delaware County, Indiana published before 1939. The index includes a bibliography of the resources that were indexed. All but one of the publications indexed in this work are held by Archives and Special Collections. Entries in this index may include the name of the person or firm, birth and death dates, name of spouse, and the title and page number of the history where the name can be found. 


• Index to Birth Records Delaware County, Indiana, 1882-1920
  • ​Index to records for births that occurred in Delaware County, Indiana between 1882 and 1920. Entries may include the name of the child, father's given name, mother's maiden name, the sex and race of the child, date of the birth, and the book and page number where the original birth record can be found.

• Index to Death Records Delaware County, Indiana, 1882-1920

  • ​Index to records for deaths in Delaware County, Indiana between 1827 and 1920. Entries include the name, sex, race, and age of the deceased; their date of death; birth place; and the book and page number where the original death record can be found.

• Index to Marriage Records Delaware County, Indiana, 1827-1920
  • ​Index to records for marriages in Delaware County, Indiana between 1827 and 1920. Entries may include names, birth dates, and race of groom and bride; date of the marriage; and the book and page number where the original marriage record can be found. Entries are arranged alphabetically by name of the bride or groom (searchable by either).