Andrew Seager Archives of the Built Environment

OUR MISSION

Formerly known as the Drawings and Documents Archive, the Andrew Seager Archives of the Built Environment is a unique resource dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of Indiana's built environment. Our collections contain over 110,000 original architectural and design drawings, models, trade publications, and building remnants, in addition to thousands of photographs and documents -- all of which tell the unique stories of Indiana’s buildings, sites, and structures. Our collections also document the history of statewide professional practice, Indiana design practitioners, and the history of the College of Architecture and Planning at Ball State University.

The Seager Archives actively supports academic research and course instruction across all disciplines in the R. Wayne Estopinal College of Architecture and Planning, including architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design, construction management, and urban design.

Students and faculty in disciplines outside of the College of Architecture and Planning have also found the Seager Archives collections relevant to their research, including in history, graphic design, and journalism – among others.

The Seager Archives also supports the professional research – statewide, nationwide, and globally – conducted by property owners, design practitioners and professionals, and members of the general public.

HOURS

Academic Year: Monday - Friday, 8:00AM - 5:00PM

Summer: Monday - Friday, By Appointment

LOCATION

Architecture Building (AB), Room 120