Andrew Seager Archives of the Built Environment

The Andrew Seager Archives of the Built Environment actively supports academic research and course instruction across all disciplines in the R. Wayne Estopinal College of Architecture and Planning, including architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design, construction management, and urban design.

Students and faculty in disciplines outside of the College of Architecture and Planning have also found the Seager Archives collections relevant to their research and instruction, including in history, graphic design, and journalism – among others.

The Andrew Seager Archives of the Built Environment is excited to work with Ball State University faculty and staff to identify and design archival instruction sessions that meet both course and project objectives. The Archivist for Architectural and Design Records can provide both in-person and virtual instruction services to undergraduate and graduate courses.

To request a class visit or to discuss instruction session options, please contact Cody Sprunger, Archivist for Architectural and Design Records, at dakota.sprunger@bsu.edu

Instruction sessions might include: 

Class Visits

An in-person visit to the Andrew Seager Archives of the Built environment where students will be provided an introduction to the Seager Archives, our physical and digital collections, and protential uses of archival collections in current and future research. Students are also given an opportunity to handle, examine, and interact with archival materials in this setting.

Alternatively, the Archivist for Architectural and Design Records can visit your class virtually (via Zoom or Webex) to provide an overview of the Seager Archives.

Research Consultations

Students can meet one-on-one with the Archivist for Architectural and Design Records to discuss indentifying and evaluating relevant archival materials for course-specific assignments, studio projects, thesis research.

Course/Studio-Specific Research Projects

The Archivist for Architectural and Design Records can work with faculty and staff to identify and place on reserve selected materials for use in course-specific assignments or projects. Projects might include precedent research on a specific building type or design during a specified period of time.