Archivist for Architectural and Design Records
Additional Archival Resources at Ball State University
Ball State University Archives
Records that document the history of the University, including archival materials from students, faculty, administration, departments, research offices, and alumni.
Stoeckel Archives of Local History
Documents the history of Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana and includes records of business and industry, churches, clubs and organizations, education, genealogy, government, personal and family papers, photographs, and oral histories.
Special Collections includes special formats, first editions, fine printing and bindings, and other rare published works. This includes unique research topics includes the John Steinbeck Collection, the papers of Congressman Philip Sharp, and the Frank A. Bracken Civil War Collection.
Research materials on Muncie as Middletown. Records collected fall into two categories: Records of Middletown Research, which consist of documentation generated by various studies and projects on Middletown.
Document Your Story: COVID-19 Pandemic Project Archive
Community archive documenting the COVID-19 pandemic. A collaborative project between Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections, the Everyday Life in Middletown Project, and the Muncie Public Library.
Additional Built Environment Resources at Ball State University
The Architecture Library features collections and services that advance research in architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, interior design, construction management, historic preservation, and urban design.
Building Material Samples Collection
The Building Material Samples Collection is home to samples of innovative and sustainable materials as well as traditional building materials.
The Map Collection offers a substantial collection of cartographic resources, GIS software, consultative and instructional services to advance GIS research, expert mapping assistance, and cartographic reference and instructional services using a wide-ranging collection of geospatial materials.
Additional Architecture and Planning Resources in Archives and Special Collections
Locating Additional Architectural and Design Records in Indiana
Columbus Indiana Architectural Archives
The Columbus Indiana Architectural Archives collects, preserves, and promotes the documentation of the design and construction process of the significant architecture that has made Columbus and Bartholomew County an internationally recognized center for modern architecture. The Archives also collects documentation on significant landscape architecture, public art, and public planning.
The Indiana Historical Society Archives and Library collects, preserves and makes accessible one of the largest archival repositories documenting the history of Indiana from its early exploration and settlement to the present.
The Indiana Collection at the Indiana State Libary holds one of the broadest collections of material about the State of Indiana and its people, places and events. The collection contains books, pamphlets, maps, directories, yearbooks, government documents, and newspapers.
The Indiana Album, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that borrows, digitizes, catalogs, and shares photographs, postcards, and graphics depicting Indiana from all eras.
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. As a portal to the collections, Indiana Memory assists individuals to locate materials relevant to their interests and to better appreciate the connections between those materials.
Locating Additional Architectural and Design Records in the United States
Society of Architectural Historians
Digital Resources (Archives Tab)
Society of American Archivists - Design Records Section
American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape Architecture Archives Collections