General Resources
Below find resources designed for the study of world musics, or ethnomusicology. Some resources like The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music are available both in print and online, while other reference works are only in print. Also find holdings for the academic journal Ethnomusicology and links to powerful online tools like RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, Anthropological Index, and The Global Jukebox. New to music research? Consider starting at the Music History Research Guide where you will learn strategies for finding and utilizing reference sources, books, articles, scores, audio, and other formats available from University Libraries.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the online version of the multi-volume scholarly encyclopedia shelved in the Music Collection's reference section as ML100 .G16 1998 V.1-10. Garland's ambitious 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Audio selections found on the left side of the screen illustrate music described in the text and match the nine accompanying CDs.
Click on the Audio menu to hear all or part of the audio that accompanies the text:
Databases and Journals
University Libraries provides online access to more than 300 databases across numerous fields of study. Databases collect scholarly articles and information, and they can direct you to academic journals available from the Libraries. Searching a relevant database is often your best place to start for items not held in the physical collections. A complete list of databases can be found at the Libraries website. There are also databases specific to Fine and Performing Arts and History and Culture which can be selected through the subject filter.
Recommended Databases for Ethnomusicology:
- Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window Key database in the field of anthropology. Based on the collection of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind). Provided at no cost to users worldwide by the Royal Anthropological Institute. Please also try AnthroSource.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Full-text content from peer-reviewed journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Results list will include articles from journal titles with restricted access. Journals with full text will have a green dot on the results list.
- Folkstreams This link opens in a new window The Folkstreams database provides access to more than 300 films from independent film makers on a wide range of topics. Topics includes African American Culture, arts and crafts, dress, ethnic and immigrant cultures, healing and medicine, religion, and social justice. The database partners are: iBiblio.com, The University of North Carolina, and The Southern Folklife Collection. See the Film Rights link within the database for information about classroom usage.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online provides electronic access to the award winning print resource of the same name. It contains more than 700 articles contributed by experts on the music of the world's peoples and is over 9,000 pages long. The database, which includes all illustrations from the print edition, also includes audio examples of musical performances from around the world.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Contains the online version of the reference works listed above, including Grove Music Online, the online version of the classic scholarly encyclopedia of music, in which each entry is peer-reviewed.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a key database in the field of music. The database covers a wide range of subjects areas, including but not limited to, Composition, Music Analysis, Musicology, Dramatic Arts, Dance Studies, Music Pedagogy, Music Therapy, Performance Practice, and Popular Music Studies. Approximately 50,000 new articles are added each year.
Many journals can be found in multiple online databases while others are in-print at Bracken Library. Click here to search for a specific journal title, including online and physical locations. Use the filters on the left and the search bar above to narrow your results. You can also download the browser extension LibKey Nomad to eliminate paywalls you might encounter, if you find an article on Google, Wikipedia, or a publisher's website.
Recommended Journals for Ethnomusicology:
- EthnomusicologyEthnomusicology is an international, peer-reviewed journal published three times a year by the University of Illinois Press on behalf of the Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM). It features scholarly articles representing theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields, as well as book, sound recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews.
- Ethnomusicology ForumEthnomusicology Forum, formerly known as the British Journal of Ethnomusicology, is the academic, refereed journal of the British Forum for Ethnomusicology. The journal seeks to provide a dynamic forum for the presentation of new thinking in the field of ethnomusicology, defined broadly as the study of "people making music", and encompasses the study of all music, including Western art music and popular music.
- The World of MusicPublished by Verlag für Wissenschaft und Bildung, The World of Music is an international peer-reviewed journal seeking a critical understanding of performing arts and cultural practices involving music, dance, and theatre worldwide, as well as the many contexts in which they come into being.
How Books are Organized in the Music Collection
The Music Collection at University Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing books and scores on the shelves. This system, maintained by the national library of the United States and utilized by libraries across the country and around the world, groups together items on similar subjects. Each item is then assigned a unique call number which combines alphabetical and numerical characters. These features are designed to make browsing library collections easier for users and librarians alike. Tip: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section.
Call Numbers for International Music:
ML 128.E8 Bibliography. Ethnomusicology
ML 159 - 3785 History and criticism
ML 198 - 360.6 By region or country
ML 199.9 - 210 North America
ML 220 - 239 Central and South America
ML 240 - 325 Europe
ML 330 - 345 Asia
ML 350 - 355 Africa
ML 360 Australia, Oceania, etc.
ML 385 - 429 Biography
ML 3469 - 3541 Popular music
ML 3544 - 3776 Folk, national, and ethnic music
ML 3545 General works
ML 3551 - 3570 North America. United States
ML 3556 African American
ML 3557 Indian nations and tribes
ML 3561 Songs. By topic or title, A-Z
ML 3571 - 3575 Central and South America
ML 3580 - 3730 Europe
ML 3740 - 3758 Asia
ML 3746 China
ML 3748 India
ML 3750 Japan
ML 3752 - 3753 Korea
ML 3754 Israel. Palestine
ML 3757 Turkey
ML 3760 Africa
ML 3770 - 3775 Australia and the Pacific
ML 3776 Jewish music
ML 3797.6 - 3799.3 Musical research. Ethnomusicology
ML 3798 General works
ML 3799 Addresses, essays, lectures
Print Reference and General Works
The recommended books below represent a wide sampling of topics in ethnomusicology research. Perhaps one or more of these topics will inspire your next research project. Books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Click on the info icon to see a description. Also find specific series such as the Global Music Series which includes volumes on music of different regions and countries. Explore other pages in this guide for recommended books on specific cultural and geographic regions.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
v. 1. Africa / Ruth M. Stone, editor -- v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean / Dale A. Olsen and Daniel, editors -- v. 3. The United States and Canada / Ellen Koskoff, editor -- v. 4. Southeast Asia / Terry E. Miller and Sean Williams, editors -- v. 5. South Asia / Alison Arnold -- v. 6. The Middle East / Virginia Danielson, Scott Marcus, and Dwight Reynolds, editors -- v. 7. East Asia; China, Japan, and Korea / Robert C. Provine, Yosihiko Tokumaru, and J. Lawrence Witzleben, editors -- v. 8. Europe / Timothy Rice, James Porter, and Chris Goertzen -- v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands / Adrienne L. Kaeppler and J. W. Love, editors -- v. 10. The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools / Ruth M. Stone, editor.
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 V.1-10 (Music Reference) and Music OnlinePublication Date: 1998
Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide by
Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography to books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of ethnomusicology. The book is divided into two parts. Part One is organized by resource type in categories of greatest concern to students and scholars. It includes handbooks and guides; encyclopedias and dictionaries; indexes and bibliographies; journals; media sources; and archives. It also offers annotated entries on the basic literature of ethnomusicological history and research. Part Two provides a list of current publications in the field that are widely used by ethnomusicologists. Multiply indexed, this book serves as an excellent tool for librarians, researchers, and scholars in sorting through the massive amount of new material that has appeared in the field over the last decades.
Call Number: ML128.E8 P67 2011Publication Date: 2011
Musics Lost and Found: Song Collectors and the Life and Death of Folk Tradition by
This is the first-ever book about song collectors, music's unsung heroes. They include the Armenian priest who sacrificed his life to preserve the folk music which the Turks were trying to erase in the 1915 Genocide; the prisoner in a Nazi concentration camp who secretly noted down the songs of doomed Jewish inmates; the British singer who went veiled into Afghanistan to learn, record and perform the music the Taliban wanted to silence. Some collectors have been fired by political idealism - Bartok championing Hungarian peasant music, the Lomaxes bringing the blues out of Mississippi penitentiaries, and transmitting them to the world. Many collectors have been priests - French Jesuits noting down labyrinthine forms in eighteenth-century Beijing, English vicars tracking songs in nineteenth-century Somerset. Others have been wonderfully colourful oddballs.Today's collectors are striving heroically to preserve endangered musics, whether rare forms of Balinese gamelan, the wind-band music of Chinese villages, or the sophisticated polyphony of Central African Pygmies. With globalisation, urbanisation and Westernisation causing an irreversible erosion of the world's musical diversity, Michael Church suggests we may be seeing folk music's 'end of history'.
Call Number: ML3545 .C53 2021Publication Date: 2021
Concepts, Experiments, and Fieldwork: Studies in Systematic Musicology and Ethnomusicology by
In the volume perspectives on current trends in Systematic Musicology as well as aspects of disciplinary history are presented along with results from current research. Contributions to this volume, covering a broad range of areas, are organized into four sections: theory, methodology, and disciplinary history, musical acoustics (including modelling and signal processing) and organology, music psychology, neuromusicology, music theory and analysis, and ethnomusicology and folk music studies. In the first section, leading scholars in the field contemplate future trends in Systematic Musicology viewed as a proactive science, on the one hand, while reflecting its development (and that of Comparative Musicology, a discipline that has been close to Systematic Musicology from the beginning), on the other. The second section offers a number of articles that report results from research undertaken in musical acoustics making use of up-to-date methodology, plus some articles that are devoted to organology from an historical point of view. In the third section, contributions deal with statistical methods in music psychology, music perception and cognition as well as aspects of music theory and analysis. Section four is devoted to ethnomusicology and folk music research; while some of the articles deal with theoretical issues, others offer findings obtained from field work. This volume also contains a bio-biographical appendix.
Call Number: ML3797.1 .C37 2010Publication Date: 2009
The Music of the Other: New Challenges for Ethnomusicology in a Global Age by
We are surrounded by new musical encounters today as never before, and the experience of musics from elsewhere is progressively affecting all arenas of the human conscience. Yet why is it that Western listeners expect a certain cultural and ethnic 'authenticity' or 'otherness' from visiting artists in world music, while contemporary musicians in Western music are no longer bound by such restraints? Should we feel uncomfortable when sacred rites from Asia or Africa are remade for Westerners as musical entertainment? As these thorny questions suggest, the great flood of world musics and of their agents into our most immediate cultural environment is not a simple matter of expanding global musical exchange. Instead, complex processes are at work involving the growth of intercontinental tourism, the development of new technologies of communication and our perceptions both of ourselves and of the new musical others now around us. Elegantly tracing the dimensions of these new musical encounters, Laurent Aubert considers the impact of world musics on our values, our habits and our cultural practices. His discussions of key questions about our contemporary music culture widen conventional ethnomusicological perspectives to consider not only the nature of Western society as a 'global village' but also the impact of current Western demands on the future of world musics and their practitioners.
Call Number: ML3798 .A8313 2007Publication Date: 2007
The Cultural Study of Music: A Critical Introduction by
What is the relationship between music and culture? The first edition of The Cultural Study of Music: A Critical Introduction explored this question with groundbreaking rigor and breadth. Now this second edition refines that original analysis while examining the ways the field has developed in the years since the book's initial publication. Including contributions from scholars of music, cultural studies, anthropology, sociology, and psychology, this anthology provides a comprehensive introduction to the study of music and culture. It includes both pioneering theoretical essays and exhaustively researched case studies on particular issues in world musics. For the second edition, the original essays have been revised and nine new chapters have been added, covering themes such as race, religion, geography, technology, and the politics of music. With an even broader scope and a larger roster of world-renowned contributors, The Cultural Study of Music is certain to remain a canonical text in the field of cultural musicology.
Call Number: ML3798 .C85 2012Publication Date: 2011
The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-One Issues and Concepts by
The first edition of this book, The Study of Ethnomusicology: Twenty-Nine Issues and Concepts, has become a classic in the field.This revised edition, written twenty-two years after the original, continues the tradition of providing engagingly written analysis thatoffers the most comprehensive discussion of the field availableanywhere. This book looks at the field of ethnomusicology - defined asthe study of the world's musics from a comparative perspective, and thestudy of all music from an anthropological perspective - as a field ofresearch. Nettl selects thirty-one concepts and issues that have beenthe subjects of continuing debate by ethnomusicologists, and he addsfour entirely new chapters and thoroughly updates the text to reflect newdevelopments and concerns in the field. Each chapter looks at itssubject historically and goes on to make its points with case studies, many taken from Nettl's own field experien
Call Number: ML3798 .N47 2005Publication Date: 2005
Theory for Ethnomusicology by
For courses in ethnomusicological theory. This book covers ethnomusicological theory, exploring some of the underpinnings of different approaches and analyzing differences and commonalities in these orientations. This text addresses how ethnomusicologists have used and applied these theories in ethnographic research.
Call Number: ML3798 .S76 2008Publication Date: 2008
Thinking Musically: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture by
The cornerstone of the Global Music Series, Thinking Musically incorporates the sounds and traditions of world cultures to establish a conceptual framework for exploring musical diversity. Designed for undergraduates with little or no background in music, the book explores the fundamentalelements of music - including rhythm, pitch in melodic and harmonic relationships, and form - and examines how they vary globally from culture to culture.Thinking Musically also discusses the importance of musical instruments, describing their significance in a culture's folklore, religion and history. The text considers the various cultural influences that shape music and the way we experience it - gender, ethnicity, mass media, and social movements(e.g. westernization, nationalism, and acculturation). Thinking Musically includes activities designed to build critical listening and individual study skills and is packaged with two 80-minute CDs that feature selections from a wide variety of musical cultures.
Call Number: ML3798 .W33 2009Publication Date: 2008
Ethnomusicology: A Contemporary Reader by
Ethnomusicology: A Contemporary Reader is designed to supplement a textbook for an introductory course in ethnomusicology. It offers a cross section of the best new writing in the field from the last 15-20 years. Many instructors supplement textbook readings and listening assignments with scholarly articles that provide more in-depth information on geographic regions and topics and introduce issues that can facilitate class or small group discussion. These sources serve other purposes as well: they exemplify research technique and format and serve as models for the use of academic language, and collectively they can also illustrate the range of ethnographic method and analytical style in the discipline of ethnomusicology. Ethnomusicology: A Contemporary Reader serves as a basic introduction to the best writing in the field for students, professors, and music professionals. It is perfect for both introductory and upper level courses in world music.
Call Number: ML3799 .E79 2006Publication Date: 2006
Nettl's Elephant: On the History of Ethnomusicology by
From one of the most lauded scholars in ethnomusicology comes this enlightening and highly personal narrative on the evolution and current state of the field of ethnomusicology. Surveying the field he helped establish, Bruno Nettl investigates how concepts such as evolution, geography, and history serve as catalysts for advancing ethnomusicological methods and perspectives. This entertaining collection covers Nettl's scholarly interests ranging from Native American to Mediterranean to Middle Eastern contexts while laying out the pivotal moments of the field and conversations with the giants of its past. Nettl moves from reflections on the history of ethnomusicology to evaluations of the principal organizations in the field, interspersing those broader discussions with shorter essays focusing on neglected literature and personal experiences.
Call Number: ML3799 .N38 2010Publication Date: 2010
The New (Ethno)musicologies by
Over the past twenty years, a range of radical developments has revolutionized musicology, leading certain practitioners to describe their discipline as 'New.' What has happened to ethnomusicology during this period? Have its theories, methodologies, and values remain rooted in the 1970s and 1980s or have they also transformed? What directions might or should it take in the new millennium? The New (Ethno)musicologies seeks to answer these questions by addressing and critically examining key issues in contemporary ethnomusicology. Set in two parts, the volume explores ethnomusicology's shifting relationship to other disciplines and to its own 'mythic' histories and plots a range of potential developments for its future. It attempts to address how ethnomusicology might be viewed by those working both inside and outside the discipline and what its broader contribution and relevance might be within and beyond the academy. Henry Stobart has collected essays from key figures in ethnomusicology and musicology, including Caroline Bithell, Martin Clayton, Fabian Holt, Jim Samson, and Abigail Wood, as well as Europea series editors, Martin Stokes and Philip V. Bohlman. The engaging result presents a range of perspectives, reflecting on disciplinary change, methodological developments, and the broader sphere of music scholarship in a fresh and unique way, and will be a key source for students and scholars.
Call Number: ML3799 .N39 2008Publication Date: 2008
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Call Number: GN380 .S65 2021 (General Collection)Publication Date: 2021
The Global Jukebox
The Global Jukebox is a free, online listening platform hosted by the Association for Cultural Equity. Presented as a non-commercial, educational place for everybody, all types of listeners can explore expressive patterns in their own cultural-geographic and diasporic settings alongside those of other cultures. By inviting familiarity with many kinds of vocalizing, musicking, moving, and talking, The Global Jukebox hopes to reconnect people and communities with their creative heritage and to advance cultural equity. Create a free account to login.
 |
|
|
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.