Southeast Asia
Recommended Books
The recommended books below include reference works and books on several topics related to the music of southeast Asia. Books on multiple Asian countries are classified in ML 330 while works on the individual countries of southeast Asia can be found in ML 345. For additional results, run subject searches such as Music -- Indonesia, Music -- Thailand, Music -- Vietnam, and Music -- Southeast Asia. To exclude results related to the Vietnam War, try adding NOT war to keyword searches, although this might eliminate some relevant results. Recommended books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description.
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 4: Southeast Asia
by
Geographic areas mentioned include : Thailand, Laos, Burma, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Sumatra, Java, Bali, Borneo, Philippines, Barat, Timur, Sulawesi, Maluku. Ethnic groups mentioned include: Khmer, Orang Asli, Chăm
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 V.4 and Music OnlinePublication Date: 1998 -
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
by
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. **Mainland Southeast Asia is a culturally diverse and musically intriguing area, yet the ethnomusicological record lacks coverage of many of its musical and cultural traditions. Placing the music of this region within a social, cultural, and historical context, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is the first brief, stand-alone volume to profile the under-represented musical traditions of Burma, Cambodia, Thailand, and Vietnam. It also contains the first introduction to Burmese music ever presented in a music textbook. Drawing on his extensive fieldwork, author Gavin Douglas frames this survey of Southeast Asian music within three key themes: music and diversity, music and political turmoil, and music and globalization. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's classical musical traditions, folk traditions, and contemporary developments. Uniquely focusing on the people who practice these musical traditions - rather than the locales from which the traditions originate - the text also follows individuals out of their native lands and into diasporic communities throughout the world. A vibrant, thorough introduction, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses in Southeast Asian music or Southeast Asian culture. Packaged with a 70-minute CD containing musical examples, the text features numerous listening activities that actively engage students with the music and the themes. The companion website includes supplementary materials for instructors.
Call Number: ML330 .D68 2010Publication Date: 2010 -
The Garland Handbook of Southeast Asian Music
by
An abridged paperback edition of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 4: Southeast Asia with revised essay. Available for regular circulation, but no online access.
Call Number: ML330 .G37 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
Music in Bali: A Study in Form and Instrumental Organization in Balinese Orchestral Music
by
This account of music in Bali as it was practiced in the decade preceding World War II is based on musical material collected by the author during the six years he lived on the island. Although written primarily from the viewpoint of the composer, with a composer's professional interest in musical form, rhythm, technical devices, and orchestration, the book is not intended solely for the musicologist. The author is also concerned with the place of music in Balinese culture and the relation of music to dance and drama. There is an analysis of the instrumental music of Bali, both ancient and modern. Musical examples and scale charts are given, and there is a 64-page section of photographs, taken by the author, of instruments and their players as well as of dancers in ceremonial dress.
Call Number: ML345.B3 M3Publication Date: 1966 -
Music in Central Java: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
by
Music in Central Java is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around theworld. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. Visitwww.oup.com/us/globalmusic for a list of case studies in the Global Music Series. The website also includes instructional materials to accompany each study.Music in Central Java offers a vivid introduction to the region's musical and cultural landscape, showing how three themes--flexibility, appropriateness, and interconnectedness--characterize Javanese musical practices and traditions. Drawing on his extensive fieldwork, author Benjamin Brinnertakes an in-depth look at gamelan music--a traditional musical ensemble tradition that typically features metallophones, xylophones, drums, and gongs--providing readers with a sense of what it means to be a musician performing gamelan. Building from fundamental Javanese concepts of time and melody,the book covers gamelan's instruments, musical idioms, and central interactions and also surveys contrasting performance contexts. It examines both the theatrical and musical aspects of the vibrant tradition of shadow-puppet plays (Wayang kulit) and offers a broad survey of other music found inCentral Java. In addition, Music in Central Java provides an engaging portrait of a leading Javenese musician, traces musical responses to radical social, political, and cultural changes over the past century, and considers Javanese music in relation to Indonesia and the rest of the world.Enhanced by eyewitness accounts of performances, interviews with key performers, vivid illustrations, and hands-on listening activities, this book is a captivating introduction to the music of Central Java. It is packaged with a 78-minute audio CD containing examples of the music discussed inthe book.
Call Number: ML345.I5 B75 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
Music in Bali: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
by
Music in Bali is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. Visit www.oup.com/us/globalmusic for a list of case studies in the Global Music Series. The website also includes instructional materials to accompany each study. Music in Bali introduces the ensemble tradition of Balinese music, reflecting cooperative aspects of the island's social organization. Drawing on many years of study with Balinese performers in the United States and extensive fieldwork in Bali, author Lisa Gold presents contemporary Balinese performance within its cultural and historical context, linking Bali's rich past to its current role in modern, globalized society. She illustrates how new compositions borrow material from earlier traditions while also allowing for individual expression and innovation in vibrant present-day culture. By describing various performances--from a temple ceremony, to a shadow puppet performance, to a masked dance drama--Music in Bali surveys a wide range of performance contexts, from the highly sacred to the secular. It looks at the interconnected layers of the Balinese musical tradition, showing how the island's music, dance, theater, and ritual are intertwined. Music in Bali is enhanced by eyewitness accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations. Packaged with a 70-minute CD containing examples of the music discussed in the book, it features guided listening and hands-on activities that encourage readers to engage actively and critically with the music.
Call Number: ML345.I5 G65 2005Publication Date: 2005 -
Colonial Counterpoint: Music in Early Modern Manila
by
In this groundbreaking study, D. R. M. Irving reconnects the Philippines to current musicological discourse on the early modern Hispanic world. For some two and a half centuries, the Philippine Islands were firmly interlinked to Latin America and Spain through transoceanic relationships of politics, religion, trade, and culture. The city of Manila, founded in 1571, represented a vital intercultural nexus and a significant conduit for the regional diffusion of Western music. Irving argues that the introduction and institutionalization of counterpoint acted as a powerful agent of colonialism throughout the Philippine Archipelago, and that contrapuntal structures were reflected in the social and cultural reorganization of Filipino communities under Spanish rule
Call Number: ML345.P528 I78 2010Publication Date: 2010 -
Recollecting Resonances: Indonesian-Dutch Musical Encounters (eBook)
by
Over time Dutch and Indonesian musicians have inspired each other and they continue to do so. Recollecting Resonances offers a way of studying these musical encounters and a mutual heritage one today still can listen to. Readership: All those willing to learn more about the impact and consequences of musical encounters between Dutch and Indonesian performers in both a colonial and postcolonial setting as well as those with a wider interest in cultural and musical studies.
Call Number: Directory of Open Access BooksPublication Date: 2013
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.