The Indian Subcontinent
Recommended Books
The recommended books below include reference works and books on several topics related to Indian and South Asian music. For the music of India, see in particular the call numbers ML 338 and ML 3748. For additional results, run the subject searches Music -- India, Hindustani music, and Carnatic music. Books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description.
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 5: South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent
by
In volume 5 of this 10-volume set, Arnold presents about 65 authors who cover the music of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Kashmir, Nepal, and Afghanistan. Following an introduction to the music of South Asia and the region itself, they focus on general issues and processes encompassing the great traditions of classical and religious music, the relation of music to art, musical instruments and organology, the social organization of music, learning and transmission, music in theatre and dance, mass media, and the music of the South Asian diaspora. Finally, they discuss the musical culture and traditions region by region. The included CD-ROM contains audio examples, notes for which are found at the end of the encyclopedia. Contains many b&w photographs, as well as guides to publications, recordings, films, and videos.
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 V.5 and Music OnlinePublication Date: 1999 -
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India
by
Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India depicts the story of Indian music through 2,000 years of history. Entries cover forms of music from classical to film-originated, as well as dance styles, technical terms, instruments, and biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saints, poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists. The range and breadth of the Encyclopedia is immense. With 5,000 entries by approximately 100 acclaimed contributors, the work spans not only all regions of India, but also covers the music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. A vast collaborative effort spanning 12 years and supported by an extended group of around 250 musicians, scholars, and teachers of music from India and the world, the Encyclopedia is unprecedented in its vast coverage of a musical tradition renowned for its beauty and spirituality.
Call Number: Oxford Reference OnlinePublication Date: 2011 -
Theorizing the Local: Music, Practice, and Experience in South Asia and Beyond
by
Over the past four decades, the "globalized" aspects of cultural circulation have received the majority of scholarly-and consumer-attention, particularly in the study of South Asian music. As a result, a broad range of community-based and other locally focused performance traditions in the regions of South Asia have remained relatively unexplored. Theorizing the Local provides a challenging and compelling counterperspective to the "globalized," arguing for the value of comparative microstudies that are not concerned primarily with the flow of capital and neoliberal politics. What does it mean for musical activities to be local in an increasingly interconnected world? To what extent can theoretical activity be localized to the very acts of making music, interacting, and composing? Theorizing the Local offers glimpses into rich musical worlds of south and west Asia, worlds which have never before been presented in a single volume. The authors cross the traditional borders of scholarship and region, exploring in unmatched detail a vast array of musical practices and significant ethnographic discoveries-from Nepal to India, India to Sri Lanka, Pakistan to Iran. Enriched by audio and video tracks on an extensive companion Web site, Theorizing the Local is an important study of South Asian musical traditions that offers a broader understanding of 21st-century music of the world.
Call Number: ML330 .T44 2009Publication Date: 2009 -
Time in Indian Music: Rhythm, Metre, and Form in North Indian Rāg Performance
by
Time in Indian Music is the first major study of rhythm, metre, and form in North Indian rag, or classical, music. It presents a theoretical model for the organization of time in this repertory, elucidated and illustrated with reference to many musical examples drawn from authentic recorded performances. Written in a clear and intelligible style, it will appeal to anyone interested in Indian aesthetic forms and the study of musical time. The book includes a free CD of authentic recorded performances closely referred to in the text.
Call Number: ML338 .C593 2000Publication Date: 2000 -
Encyclopaedia of Indian Music
by
Contents: Origin of Indian music -- Historical background of Indian music -- Epic era to dynasty -- Forms and instruments -- From Gandharva music to folk music -- Musicologists and composers of the 19th century -- Musicians of the 19th & 20th century -- Indian classical music -- North Indian classical music -- Carnatic music -- Hindustani Khayal singing -- Gharana and schools -- Modern musicians -- Modern instruments.
Call Number: ML338 .P75 2007Publication Date: 2007 -
Music in North India: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
by
North India is home to a wealth of musical traditions composed of many different styles, genres, and practices. Music in North India provides a representative overview of this music, discussing rhythm and drumming traditions, song composition and performance styles, and melodic and rhythmic instruments. Drawing on his experience as a sarod player, vocalist, and music teacher, author George Ruckert incorporates numerous musical exercises to demonstrate important concepts. The book ranges from the chants of the ancient Vedas to modern devotional singing and from the serious and meditative rendering of raga to the concert-hall excitement of the modern sitar, sarod, and tabla. It is framed around three major topics: the devotional component of North Indian music, the idea of fixity and spontaneity in the various styles of Indian music, and the importance of the verbal syllable to the expression of the musical aesthetic in North India.
Call Number: ML338 .R83 2004Publication Date: 2004 -
A Practical Guide to North Indian Classical Vocal Music
by
This book is a step-by-step practical guide to North Indian music. With the help of this book, the reader can understand the basic aspects of North Indian music and learn to appreciate it better. It describes the ten basic rags of North Indian classical music. It also gives instructions on how to sing and how to play the musical instruments. This book describes the tonal patterns and the tonal embellishments. By following the practical exercises given in this book, you can train your voice, sing notes correctly, develop your own ability to improvise, and make your own tonal patterns. This book is your guide to creating and singing you own rag.
Call Number: ML338 .S68 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
Music in South India: The Karṇāṭak Concert Tradition and Beyond: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
by
Music in South India provides a vivid and focused introduction to the musical landscape of South India, discussing historical and contemporary performance, cultural history and geography, and the social organization of performance traditions. The book centers on Karnatak concert music, a unique performance practice that juxtaposes gorgeous musical compositions with many different types of improvisation. T. Viswanathan and Matthew Harp Allen first compare two types of song--bhajan, a structurally simple devotional genre, and kriti, the primary concert genre--and also analyze raga and tala, the basic elements underlying Karnatak music. They go on to examine the evolution of Karnatak music during the twentieth century, paying special attention to gender and caste and illuminating these issues through case studies and historical recordings of a small group of enormously influential musicians.
Call Number: ML338 .V57 2004Publication Date: 2004 -
Indian Sun: The Life and Music of Ravi Shankar
by
In Indian Sun: The Life and Music of Ravi Shankar, writer Oliver Craske presents readers with the first full portrait of this legendary figure, revealing the personal and professional story of a musician who influenced-and continues to influence-countless artists. Benefiting from unprecedented access to Shankar's archives, and drawing on new interviews with over 130 subjects-including his second wife and both of his daughters, Norah Jones and Anoushka Shankar- Indian Sun gives readers unparalleled insight into a man who transformed modern music as we know it today.
Call Number: ML419.S49 C73 2020Publication Date: 2020 -
Indian Music in the Classroom
by
Indian Music for the Classroom presents the different styles of Indian music and their cultural contexts, with chapters on Indian culture and sound, Indian classical vocal and instrumental music, folk music, film music, and traditional popular musics. From Hindi-Pop to bhangra to the Urdu ghazal, the book covers them all, as well as national songs, children's songs, and the devotional bhajan. With lists of vocabulary and concepts, musical transcriptions, photos, and resources, teachers can use the text in their classrooms immediately. More than 53 lesson activities with listening charts, composition exercises, reflective questions, and other creative ideas bring the music of India alive and align with the National Standards. In addition, 48 musical transcriptions of teaching examples, drum rhythms, and songs make it easy to teach authentically.
Call Number: ML3748 .S27 2009Publication Date: 2009 -
Global Bollywood: Travels of Hindi Song and Dance
by
Bollywood movies and their signature song-and-dance spectacles are an aesthetic familiar to people around the world, and Bollywood music now provides the rhythm for ads marketing goods such as computers and a beat for remixes and underground bands. These musical numbers have inspired scenes in Western films such as Vanity Fair and Moulin Rouge. Global Bollywood shows how this currency in popular culture and among diasporic communities marks only the latest phase of the genre's world travels. This interdisciplinary collection describes the many roots and routes of the Bollywood song-and-dance spectacle. Examining the reception of Bollywood music in places as diverse as Indonesia and Israel, the essays offer a stimulating redefinition of globalization, highlighting the cultural influence of Hindi film music from its origins early in the twentieth century to today.
Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 G54 2008 (General Collection)Publication Date: 2008 -
Performing Pasts: Reinventing the Arts in Modern South India
by
This important collection critically interrogates colonialism and nationalism in the context of the "invention" of South India's performing arts in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It focuses on the tension between modernity and tradition produced in the context of the metropolitan discourse.
Call Number: PN2885.S6 P47 2008 (General Collection)Publication Date: 2008
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.