China
Recommended Books
The recommended books below include reference works and books on several topics related to Chinese music. Most books on the traditional music of China can be found in ML 336 while popular music is in ML 3502.C5. For additional results, run the subject searches Music -- China and Music -- Taiwan. Books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 7: East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea by
This volume explores not only the close ties that link the cultures and musics of East and Northeast Asia, but also the distinctive features that separate them.
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 V.7 and Music OnlinePublication Date: 2001
Chinese Music by
Unique and complex in style, traditional Chinese music forms a fascinating part of China's cultural heritage. This accessible, illustrated introduction to Chinese music takes the reader through the 8000-year history of China's musical instruments, the diversity of Chinese folk music, the development of China's famous operas and the modern Chinese music industry. From classical to contemporary styles, Jin Jie explores the influence that Chinese music has had around the world.
Call Number: ML336 .J5413 2011Publication Date: 2011
Music in China: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture by
Music in China is one of many case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. Itsets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. Visit www.oup.com/us/globalmusic fora list of case studies in the Global Music Series. The website also includes instructional materials to accompany each study.Music in China offers a unique exploration of the rich, dynamic, and multifaceted Chinese musical landscape. In contrast with previous scholarship--which focused almost exclusively on the role of music in elite culture--this volume takes a balanced look at a variety of traditional and moderngenres, including those performed among local and regional folk musicians, in academia, in the media, and on concert stages both inside and outside of China. Using the interrelated themes of identity, modernization, and ideology as a narrative framework, author Frederick Lau discusses the musicalfeatures of the selected genres, the processes through which they came into existence, and related socio-political issues. Lau draws on his own extensive fieldwork and performance experience in both mainland China and its diasporic communities to show how the ever-changing Chinese musical traditiontakes on particular meanings in China, in overseas Chinese communities, and in diverse international settings.Enhanced by eyewitness accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, vivid illustrations, and hands-on listening activities, Music in China provides an accessible and engaging introduction to Chinese music. It is packaged with an 80-minute audio CD containing examples of themusic discussed in the book.
Call Number: ML336 .L28 2008Publication Date: 2008
Music of the Billion: An Introduction to Chinese Musical Culture by Call Number: ML336 .L53 1985Publication Date: 1985
Lives in Chinese Music by
Until recently, most scholarly work on Chinese music in both Chinese and Western languages has focused on genres, musical structure, and general history and concepts, rather than on the musicians themselves. This volume breaks new ground by focusing on individual musicians active in different amateur and professional music scenes in mainland China, Hong Kong, and Chinese communities in Europe.
Call Number: ML336 .L59 2009Publication Date: 2009
Music in the Age of Confucius by
Chinese archaeologists digging in central China in 1977 unexpectedly uncovered two of the earliest and most extensive surviving groups of musical instruments in the entire ancient world, dating from nearly 2500 years ago. Since these percussion, string, and wind instruments were in near-pristine condition-some still playable, others inscribed with musicological information-they provided hitherto unimagined possibilities for the study of music and the history of musical instruments in ancient China. Presented here are the insights of six specialists who describe these instruments' sophisticated tuning systems, techniques of manufacture, and inscriptions revealing their musical and non-musical significance in ancient Chinese society.
Call Number: ML336.2 .M87 2000Publication Date: 2000
Pianos and Politics in China: Middle-Class Ambitions and the Struggle over Western Music by
In China, a nation where the worlds of politics and art are closely linked, Western classical music was considered during the cultural revolution to be an imperialist intrusion, in direct conflict with the native aesthetic. In this revealing chronicle of the relationship between music and politics in twentieth-century China, Richard Kraus examines the evolution of China's ever-changing disposition towards European music and demonstrates the steady westernization of Chinese music. Placing China's cultural conflicts in global perspective, he traces the lives of four Chinese musicians and reflects on how their experiences are indicative of China's place at the furthest edge of an expanding Western international order.
Call Number: ML336.5 .K72 1989Publication Date: 1989
Chinese Music and Musical Instruments by
The history of Chinese music is as vast and diverse as the history of China itself. This book illustrates the development of Chinese music from its early beginnings to the formation of Chinese folk orchestras in the 20th century, and is an essential guide for anyone interested in the development and unique character of Chinese traditional music.
Call Number: ML531 .X5 2011Publication Date: 2011
Cries of Joy, Songs of Sorrow: Chinese Pop Music and its Cultural Connotations by
This work explores Mandopop's surprisingly complex cultural implications in Taiwan and the PRC, where it has established new gender roles, created a vocabulary to express individualism, and introduced transnational culture to a country that had closed its doors to the world for 20 years.
Call Number: ML3502.C5 M65 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Narrative Arts of Tianjin: Between Music and Language by
In studying one of the world's oldest and most enduring musical cultures, academics have consistently missed one of the richest forms of Chinese cultural expression: performed narratives. Francesca R. Sborgi Lawson explores the relationships between language and music in the performance of four narrative genres in the city of Tianjin, China, based upon original field research conducted in the People's Republic of China in the mid 1980s and in 1991. The author emphasizes the unique nature of oral performances in China: these genres are both musical and literary and yet are considered to be neither music nor literature. Lawson employs extensive examples of the complex interaction of music and language in each genre, all the while relating those analyses to broader cultural issues and to patterns of social relationships.
Call Number: ML3502.C57 T53 2011Publication Date: 2011
China and the West: Music, Representation, and Reception (eBook) by
China and the West: Music, Representation, and Reception is the first book to explore how Chinese and Western musical materials and traditions-those involving instruments, melodies, rhythms, staged diversions (including operas and musical comedies), concert works, film scores, and digital recordings of several kinds-have gradually moved closer together and become increasingly accepted, as well as exploited, in Asia as well as Europe and North America. Although aimed in large part at a scholarly audience, China and the West should appeal to general readers of many kinds: those interested in politics, cultural history and theory, gender studies, sociology, theater, and media studies as well as musical composition and performance of 'classical' as well as traditional and popular kinds.
Call Number: Directory of Open Access BooksPublication Date: 2017
The Oxford Handbook of Music in China and the Chinese Diaspora (eBook) by
In The Oxford Handbook of Music in China and the Chinese Diaspora, twenty-three scholars advance knowledge and understandings of Chinese music studies. Each contribution develops a theoretical model to illuminate new insights into a key musical genre or context. This volume incorporates extensive input from researchers based in China, Taiwan, and among Chinese communities across the world. Using a model of collaborative inquiry, The Oxford Handbook of Music in China and the Chinese Diaspora features diverse insider voices alongside authors positioned across the anglophone world.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2023
Chinese Songs in the Music Collection
Ball State University Professor of Voice Mei Zhong has edited several volumes of Chinese folk songs and art songs. Volumes include Chinese texts (in traditional characters and Pinyin transliteration), English translations, pronunciation guides, biographical notes, and commentaries. Find additional scores shelved in M1619 or by running an author search for Mei Zhong in OneSearch.
Anthology of Chinese Songs: Newly Arranged Folk Songs, Volume 1 by
Twelve folk songs from various regions of China, selected by Mei Zhong, with piano accompaniments composed by Ting-Yi Ma. Songs are presented twice, in transpositions for medium high and medium low voice ranges. Includes pronunciation guide, texts in Chinese (characters and Pinyin transliteration), word for word and poetic English translations, and short commentary on each song, all by Mei Zhong.
Call Number: M1619 .N495 2005Publication Date: 2005
Contemporary Chinese Art Songs, Book 1 (Medium-Low Voice) by
Contains biographical notes on the compiler, notes on Chinese pronunciation, and texts, also printed separately following score in Chinese with Pinyin and IPA transcription and English word-for-word and poetic translations. Includes pronunciation guide for singing in Chinese.
Call Number: M1619 .C665 2018 BK.1Publication Date: 2018
Contemporary Chinese Art Songs, Book 2 "Heart Whispers" (Medium-High Voice) by
Contains biographical notes on the compiler, notes on Chinese pronunciation, and texts, also printed separately as text following score in Chinese with Pinyin transcription, IPA and English translation, both word for word and poetic translations. Includes pronunciation guide for singing in Chinese.
Call Number: M1619 .C664 BK. 2Publication Date: 2019
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.