Subject Guide
About Archives and Special Collections
The mission of Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to archival and printed materials that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.
Introduction
Want to learn more about Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana? This guide will help you find information about local history materials located in Archives and Special Collections!
Named for former Ball State history professor Althea L. Stoeckel, the Stoeckel Archives of Local History contains documentation on Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, including records of business and industry, churches, clubs and organizations, education, genealogy, government, personal and family papers, photographs, and oral histories.
P40-1248X, Center Township School Bus, Spurgeon-Greene Photograph Collection
The Stoeckel Archives of Local History offers a wide range of research documentation generated by various studies, projects, publications, and documentaries concerning Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana. Finding aids, research guides, and digital resources are available online. Books on Muncie and Delaware County history, as well as selected local history manuscript collections located in Archives and Special Collections, can be found in the University Libraries' online catalog, OneSearch.
Also, the Middletown Studies Collection holds a wealth of research materials on Muncie as "Middletown." Records collected fall into two categories: Records of Middletown Research, which consist of documentation generated by various studies and projects on Middletown; and collections on Muncie in the Stoeckel Archives of Local History.