Subject Guide
Related Resources
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Manuscript Collections Finding Aids
Use the Stoeckel Archives of Local History finding aids to research records of business and industry, churches, clubs and organizations, schools, genealogy and family history, government, photographs, and oral histories. A finding aid is a descriptive tool that includes the contents and arrangement of materials in the collection. Finding aids can help you determine whether or not a collection is relevant to your research needs.
Finding aids are detailed inventories, registers, indexes, and guides to describe their collections of primary source materials. They provide a comprehensive overview of a collection's scope and contents. They define the condition under which a collection may be accessed or copied, explain its provenance, and contain histories of individuals and organizations connected with the collection.
Finding aids within the Stoeckel Archives of Local History are organized alphabetically and by category. Please cite the collection number (e. g. MSS.001) and the box number (e. g. Boxes 1 and 2) to request specific materials.