Subject Guide
Related Resources
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Films and Videos
The Muncie and Delaware County Film and Videos digital collection currently consists of several digitized historical 16mm films ranging from 1913 to 1980. In an effort to provide documentation of important events in and around the Delaware County, Indiana area, this rare footage is now available online. Additional films and videos will be added to this collection in the future.
This collection of digitized films includes footage in both black and white and color. Included are films of a tour of Camp Chesterfield in the early 1970s; the Delaware County Council Boy Scout Fair at the Delaware County fairgrounds in 1965; the Westinghouse plant groundbreaking on November 5, 1959; a Delaware County, Indiana fireman demonstration that included fire departments from the cities of Albany, Eaton, Union, Blountsville, Muncie, and Salem; the Delco Remy UAW strike involving the Anderson, Indiana plant and the Muncie, Indiana community over improved health and safety conditions for workers during the 1970s; and the 1913 flood in Indiana that reached various counties along the White River, including Delaware County, Indiana.
Also included are films that were conducted by WLBC-TV, as a part of a segment titled, "Week in Review." The station was created in 1953 by Don Burton. It carried all three major networks, primarily CBS, until the early 1960s when it became a primary NBC affiliate. WLBC-TV Channel 49 was sold in 1971 to a local non-profit group, who changed the station`s callsign to the current WIPB-TV. The station was eventually acquired by Ball State University on October 31, 1971 and remains to be its present licensee.
Audio Recordings
We continue to digitize audio recordings on a monthly basis. A selection of the Stoeckel Archives of Local History audio recordings, specifically oral histories, can be found in the Digital Media Repository.