Find Books
Finding Books in OneSearch
OneSearch is Ball State Libraries' integrated discovery tool for books, scores, articles, recordings, and other library materials. It also indexes selected trustworthy online resources and incorporates subscription databases such as Academic Search Complete. On the Libraries' home page, you will see a simple search box:
|
After searching for your topic, you may find more resources than you need. You can narrow your results by using the filters listed to the left of the search results. For both physical and online books owned by Ball State University Libraries, check "Library Catalog." For physical books, the location (Music Collection) and call number (beginning with "M") indicate the books' location in Bracken Library. To specify online books (ebooks) only, check "eBook Full Text Online." Some eBooks require log in with Ball State University authentication to view the book. |
 |
More information on OneSearch can be found at the research guide here: https://bsu.libguides.com/onesearch.
Classification and Call Numbers
The Music Collection at University Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing books and scores on the shelves. This system, maintained by the national library of the United States and utilized by libraries across the country and around the world, groups together items on similar subjects. Each item is then assigned a unique call number which combines alphabetical and numerical characters. These features are designed to make browsing library collections easier for users and librarians alike. Tip: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section.
Call Numbers for Wind Ensemble and Band Music:
ML 385 - 429 Biography
ML 410 Composers
ML 419 Instrumentalists
ML 424 Manufacturers of instruments
ML 929 - 990 History and criticism. Wind instruments
ML 1300 - 1354 History and criticism. Band
ML 1300 General works
ML 1310 - 1351 By country or region
ML 1311 United States
ML 1331 Great Britain
ML 3469 - 3541 Popular music
ML 3506 - 3509 Jazz
ML 3518 Big band music. Dance band music
ML 3530 Ragtime music
ML 3544 - 3776 Folk, national, and ethnic music
MT 339 - 533 Instruction and study. Wind instruments
MT 339 General works
MT 339.5 Woodwind instruments (General)
MT 418 Brass instruments (General)
MT 733 Instruction and study. Band
Subject Headings and Subject Search
Recommended Books
The recommended books below represent a wide sampling of topics in wind band music. Many are classified in ML 1300, "Band. General works," while others are in related areas. Perhaps one or more of these topics will inspire your next research project. Books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description.
The Conductor's Legacy: Conductors on Conducting for Wind Band by
Paula Crider shares a wealth of knowledge gleaned from interviews with extraordinary personalities who have changed the landscape of the wind band world. These pioneering and innovative conductors share concepts of band sound, views on score marking, thoughts on advancing the wind band genre, the elements of their musical success, and much more about the art and craft of conducting a band. Featured conductors are Frank Battisti, Harry Begian, Col. John Bourgeois, Ray E. Cramer, James Croft, Col. Arnald Gabriel, H. Robert Reynolds, Richard Strange, and David Whitwell.
Call Number: ML458 .C66 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Sociology of Wind Bands: Amateur Music Between Cultural Domination and Autonomy by
Despite the musical and social roles they play in many parts of the world, wind bands have not attracted much interest from sociologists. The Sociology of Wind Bands seeks to fill this gap in research by providing a sociological account of this musical universe as it stands now. Based on a qualitative and quantitative survey conducted in northeastern France, the authors present a vivid description of the orchestras, the backgrounds and practices of their musicians, and the repertoires they play. Their multi-level analysis, ranging from the cultural field to the wind music subfield and to everyday life relationships within bands and local communities, sheds new light on the social organization, meanings and functions of a type of music that is all too often taken for granted. Yet they go further than merely portraying a musical genre. As wind music is routinely neglected and socially defined in terms of its poor musical quality or even bad taste, the book addresses the thorny issue of the effects of cultural hierarchy and domination. It proposes an imaginative and balanced framework which, beyond the specific case of wind music, is an innovative contribution to the sociology of lowbrow culture.
Call Number: ML1300 .D8213 2013Publication Date: 2013
Wind Bands of the World: Chronicle of a Cherished Tradition by
This engaging text presents a comprehensive history of the wind band from its earliest days to today. The author's narrative describes the development of instruments, musicians, composers, conductors, and the music itself, tracing in chronological order, virtually every aspect of the growth of bands that has led to today's outstanding ensembles. A must read for musicians and for those interested in music and history.
Call Number: ML1300 .F67 2013Publication Date: 2013
The American Wind Band: A Cultural History by
A remarkable amount of historical information is covered in this comprehensive history of the American band. Timelines and photos track developments in American band music from colonial drum and fife corps to the Big Band era; and useful tables compare band music milestones to those of other arts in western civilization, events in U.S. history, and with other American musical breakthroughs. The final section of the book discusses new directions in American music and predicts a bright future for the modern wind band.
Call Number: ML1311 .H18 2005Publication Date: 2005
The New Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary American Wind Band/Ensemble and Its Music by
A new and expanded version of the first two Winds of Change volumes containing much new information about wind band/ensemble literature, important conferences, concerts and events from the 19th century through 2015.
Call Number: ML1311.5 .B392 2018Publication Date: 2018
English Brass Bands and Their Music, 1860-1930 by
This book is an addition to the British music culture as it traces the history, growth and environmental, social and musical conditions of the Brass Band Movement during the Victorian era, and the influences of the Romantic Period.
Call Number: ML1331.5 .T39 2011Publication Date: 2011
The Complete Marching Band Resource Manual: Techniques and Materials for Teaching, Drill Design, and Music Arranging by
The Complete Marching Band Resource Manual provides the first serious guidebook for the intricate art of directing high school or college marching bands. Wayne Bailey presents both the fundamentals and the advanced techniques that are essential for successful leadership of a marching band: music instruction, choreography, and band management. In this second edition, Bailey provides band instructors with even more diagrams as well as information on computer charting techniques.
Call Number: MT733.4 .B35 2003Publication Date: 2003
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.