Reference Sources
Online Reference Databases
Reference sources are designed to provide users with quick and authoritative background information on a given subject. They are the ideal place to familiarize yourself with a subject and its existing literature, although they should never be the culmination of your research process. The following reference sources are all available online, although log-in might be required off-campus.
- Gale eBooks Gale eBooks is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers, including nearly 500 specialized background sources in a wide variety of subjects. Choose your field of study under the "Subjects" heading to see the titles in your area. For music books, look under the subject "Arts."
- Music Databases at Ball State Links page for the most commonly used music and multi-subject databases for music.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online provides electronic access to the award-winning print resource of the same name. It contains more than 700 articles contributed by experts on the music of the world's peoples and is over 9,000 pages long. The database, which includes all illustrations from the print edition, also includes audio examples of musical performances from around the world.
- Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is the authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. It is the gateway to Grove Music Online which compiles invaluable resources like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Second Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2013), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), and others. Oxford Music Online also provides access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2013) and The Oxford Companion to Music (2011), resources which are based in Oxford Reference Online.
- Oxford Reference Online Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Note: Oxford Reference Online is separate from the familiar Oxford Music Online, and it has its own set of twelve music dictionaries and encyclopedias. These can be found under the Subject tab or through the search bar.
Print Reference Books
Most reference books on music for marching band, brass band, and wind ensemble are located in the Music Reference section shelved in ranges 36 through 38. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers and include specialized bibliographies for band music (ML128.B23) and for wind instruments (ML128.W5). Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book.
Sourcebook for Wind Band and Instrumental Music by
This sourcebook was created to aid directors and teachers in finding the information they need and expand their general knowledge. The resources were selected from hundreds of published and online sources found in journals, magazines, music company catalogs and publications, numerous websites, doctoral dissertations, graduate theses, encyclopedias, various databases, and a great many books. Information was also solicited from outstanding college/university/school wind band directors and instrumental teachers. The information is arranged in four sections.
Call Number: ML128.B23 B37 2014 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2014
The Band Music Handbook: A Catalog of Emerging Band Repertoire by
The Band Music Handbook: A Comprehensive Catalog of Band Repertoire presents professional, college, community, and school band directors with an essential tool for discovering and selecting appropriate repertoire. Christopher M. Cicconi presents a wide-ranging catalog of band music composed in the past twenty-five years. From the work of John Adams to Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, the music cataloged includes works appropriate for all ages and skill levels. Each work listed includes date of origin, duration, exact instrumentation, and publisher. A number of appendixes further classify the repertoire by composer, title, and duration and offer a detailed list of publishers, a bibliography for further reading, and a comprehensive march list. Following the model of the best-selling Daniels' Orchestral Music, The Band Music Handbook puts the information that band conductors, directors, and musicians need right at their fingertips. It is also an essential tool for future music educators and instrumental music education students seeking assistance in repertoire selection.
Call Number: ML128.B23 C53 2017 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2017
Instructional Literature for Middle-Level Band by Call Number: ML128.B23 I57 1996 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1996
Music for Concert Band: A Selective Annotated Guide to Band Literature by
The second edition of Music for Concert Band is a new and comprehensive anthology of meticulously selected and graded literature for wind band. It contains hundreds of outstanding works appropriate for elementary through professional-level ensembles and will acquaint directors with a wide spectrum of quality literature both standard and new. Each recommended work contains pedagogical, stylistic and form indicators. In addition, the text contains a section on recommended marches and optional concert material.
Call Number: ML128.B23 K7 2014 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2014
The Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music: Composers and their Music by
With a few exceptions noted by the author, this work is "an attempt to document all editions of all music ever published. . .for concert and military bands" and "an attempt to provide biographies of composers whose music has been used by bands. . . ." The publisher of this very important two-volume collection admits falling short of this ambitious goal; but this monumental encyclopedia, which took more than a decade to complete, will surely become the standard in its field. It provides band masters with the most complete guide to band music to date. The main body of the work consists of almost 9,000 alphabetical composer entries, each followed by a list of works and reference citations. Some of the composers included can be found in no other published source. One can nitpick over detail, and missing are biographies and even complete names of some composers. But publisher, author, editor, and contributors view this as a seminal work leading to further research in band studies and they invite input from readers with a view toward a future update. In addition to the composer/works section there is a bibliography, very informative and useful appendixes, and a title index. All contribute to make this a valuable addition to any academic library music collection.
Call Number: ML128.B23 R43 1991 V.1-3 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1991
The American Wind Symphony Commissioning Project: A Descriptive Catalog of Published Editions, 1957-1991 by
The American Wind Symphony Editions comprises the more than 150 works commissioned by Robert Austin Boudreau for the American Waterways Wind Orchestra and published by the C. F. Peters Corporation. They are here presented for the first time in a complete catalog with detailed descriptive data, biographical information on the composers or arrangers, and score facsimiles. The published music represents about half of the over 300 works commissioned by the orchestra since 1957 in the largest such project in wind instrument history. Presented in this catalog are the published works of 83 composers from 28 countries, including such notables as Alan Hovhaness, Toshiro Mayuzumi, Krzysztof Penderecki, Ned Rorem, and Heitor Villa-Lobos. Genres include original concert and chamber music, incidental and occasional music, and theatrical and pop pieces, as well as arrangements of past masters. The compositional characteristics of each work are described, and data on number of performers, date of composition, duration, score accessibility, composer nationality and dates, and itemized instrumentation is listed. The catalog further provides appendixes classifying the music by composer nationality, duration of works, type of soloist, number of performers, programming category, and other fields. A selective discography is included, as are indexes of works by composer and title. Background history on the wind orchestra and music publisher is also provided.
Call Number: ML128.B23 R46 1991 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1991
French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography by
Contains annotated listings of French literature for tenor trombone, bass trombone, tuba, and bass saxhorn, as well as repertoire suitable for the modern euphonium. Intended for teachers and students, this book also provides separate listings of pedagogical materials for each of these four instruments.
Call Number: ML128.B73 T47 1994 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1994
Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide by
Mozart wrote some of the greatest serenades for wind ensemble. He was not alone in writing works for wind sextet, octet, or larger ensembles--Over 12,000 works for wind harmony by over 2,200 composers are extant. Describing this new genre, Wind Harmony, which is far larger and more influential than ever recognized, this sourcebook includes biographical details, discusses many of the works, and presents country surveys. There is also a survey of the way wind instruments developed at the critical time, and of performance practices. The companion volume, The Wind Ensemble Catalog, is cross-referenced.
Call Number: ML128.W5 S76 1997 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1997
Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography by
Aaron Horne provides the most comprehensive guide to brass music written by Black composers. He covers composers from around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries. Included in the book is biographical information; commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each piece; bibliographical sources; and an index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensemble. This is the fourth volume in Aaron Horne's monumental effort to provide the most comprehensive guide to music composed by Black composers. In this volume he covers composers from around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries, including William Grant Still, Ulysses Kay, Anthony Davis, John Coltrane, and other major figures from the world of classical, jazz, and popular music. The main body of the book is divided into sections devoted to African, African American, Afro-European, and Afro-Latino composers. Within each section composers are arranged alphabetically; each entry provides biographical information as well as commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each composition. Backmatter includes a Brass Music Index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensembles; a title index; discography; and bibliography. As with the earlier volumes, this is an essential reference tool for anyone with an interest in researching and/or performing the music of Black composers.
Call Number: ML128.W5 H62 1996 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1996
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance, and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands, and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians, and music lovers.
Call Number: ML933 .C36 2019 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2019
A Survey of Wind Literature from 1551 to 2022 (eBook) by
The twelve chapters of this book explore music written for winds from as early as 1551 through 2022. Titles, composers, and dates are paired with brief descriptions and, where possible, recordings are also provided.
Call Number: Pressbooks (open access)Publication Date: 2023
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.