Jackson Harmeyer, Music Librarian
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Welcome to the Musical Theatre Research Guide! Centered in the New York City theatre district known as Broadway, the world of musical theatre is the focus of this guide. Start your research at the Reference Sources page where you can locate authoritative reference works, online and in print. Next learn how to find Books, Articles, and Scores and Songbooks on OneSearch and through various online databases, and see items recommended by the Music Librarian. At the Listen to Audio and Watch Video pages, access various streaming channels and learn about physical holdings in the Music Collection. Visit the Production and Composition page to learn about directing, staging, and composing musical theatre. Alternatively, visit the Singing and Acting page for resources on performing in musicals, and the Auditions page for specifics on trying out for shows and theatre programs. Know of a resource not included in this guide? Feel free to email the Music Librarian and they will add it. Or, suggest an item for purchase, if it is a resource not currently owned by University Libraries.
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by live chat, email, text, or phone, or schedule a reference appointment.
- Databases on Fine and Performing ArtsSpecialty databases and some general databases with significant theatre and dance content, including International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, Digital Theatre+, and Dance Online: Dance in Video.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available through Ball State University Libraries.
- Journals on Music, Dance, Drama, and FilmBrowse serials focusing on theatre and dance and see access options, in-print or online.
- Libraries Workshops on Arts and DanceSee what sessions on theatre and dance Ball State University Libraries has planned. Email your liaison librarian to suggest a workshop topic.
- OneSearchLaunch a comprehensive search of University Libraries collections, including physical holdings and items with online access. Use filters to narrow results.
- Reading Lists (Course Reserves)Look for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- Research Guides on Fine and Performing ArtsFind a comprehensive list of research guides on theatre and dance topics created by Ball State University Libraries.
- Suggest Materials for PurchaseBelieve a book, script, or media item belongs in our collections? Suggest we purchase it here.