Watch Video
Online Streaming Resources
University Libraries subscribes to several streaming platforms which include videos of theatre and dance productions and other resources. These platforms often feature niche content which is more current and better organized than familiar commercial platforms like YouTube and Netflix.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
- Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more. Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Recommended DVDs
The Best of Broadway Musicals: Original Cast Performances from the Ed Sullivan Show
Features unforgettable performances by such classic stars as Ethel Merman, Carol Channing, Richard Kiley, Pearl Bailey, Julie Andrews, Richard Burton and many more. Narrated by John Raitt and complete with behind-the-scenes interviews with songwriters Rodgers & Hammerstein and Lerner & Loewe
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 7476Publication Date: 2004
Broadway: The Golden Age by
In their own words, over one hundred of Broadway and Hollywood's greatest stars and theatrical creators tell how they came to New York and created this legendary century in American theatre, thereby preserving the memories of historic Broadway performances.
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 1926Publication Date: 2004
Broadway: The American Musical by
Hosted by Julie Andrews, this three-part documentary details the razzle-dazzle history of a unique American art form. Each episode explores a different era in American musical theatre, spotlighting the Broadway shows and songs that defined the period. Draws on feature films, rare television moments, archival news footage, original cast recordings, still photos, diaries, journals, first person accounts, and on-camera interviews with many of the principals involved in creating the American musical.
Call Number: DVD VIDEO 1997Publication Date: 2004
Busby Berkeley Collection by
Features 21 song-and-dance spectaculars staged and directed by Busby Berkeley, from movie musicals released in the 1930's. Included are excerpts from 42nd Street, Gold diggers of 1933, Fashions of 1934, In Caliente, Footlight parade, Wonder Bar, Dames, Gold diggers of 1935, and Gold diggers of 1937.
Call Number: DVD Video 7215 to 7224Publication Date: 2006
Playback Options for DVDs
All public computers in the University Libraries have CD/DVD players. In addition, you can use the viewing/listening booths to the north of the books about music, and you can checkout laptops from the Education, Music and Media information desk.
Headphones can also be checked out at the information desk.
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.