Find Articles
Scholarly articles, like books, are textual sources which help you interpret the scores and performances you are studying. They often contain the newest research and presume an expert knowledge which can demand that you consult and compare other perspectives to gain full context. Most articles initially appear within journals, but we tend to access them through online databases. On this page, learn how to find articles and evaluate their authority.
Searching Online Databases
University Libraries provides access to nearly 300 online databases which you can use to find scholarly articles. Different databases are geared toward different disciplines. Find a complete list at the A-Z Databases page at the Libraries website, or select the subject Fine and Performing Arts to see databases which can be useful in theatre research.
Recommended Databases for Musical Theatre:
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR functions as an electronic archive of older journals. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. It often does not contain the most recent years of a journal. Includes several important theatre journals.
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch searches a vast number of databases, including titles owned by the BSU Libraries. Topics related to theatre are included, from academic criticism to reviews of performances.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format. Includes a good number of theatre and drama journals.
Many articles can be found in multiple online databases, while others must be found in print journals held at Bracken Library. Click here to search for a specific journal title, including online and physical locations. OneSearch and Google Scholar can also be useful tools for finding scholarly articles. If searching on the open internet, be sure to evaluate the authority of articles you find. Download the browser extension LibKey Nomad to avoid paywalls you encounter on the open internet.
How to Tell if a Journal is Scholarly
Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals share these characteristics:
Scholars write the articles:
- The author has a PhD or another graduate-level degree.
- The author is an expert in the field.
- The author is usually a university professor.
Scholars decide which articles are published:
- The main editor is a scholar in the same field.
- There is a panel of editors (the "peers" who review the articles). They are usually called an "editorial board." They are also experts in the same field.
- Authors submit their articles to the editorial board, which decides if the articles are appropriate for the journal.
Scholars are cited in the articles:
- The article has a bibliography and footnotes or end-notes
- Authors of the articles and books in the bibliography are scholars.
- The article may refer to the fellow researchers' theories or findings in the body of the article.
Other features:
- The journal is published by an association.
- The word "journal" is in the title.
- Advertising is minimal, usually book publishers or upcoming scholarly events.
- Book reviews are lengthy, often with footnotes or end-notes.
For examples and a comparative chart, see Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Articles from Rutgers University. Also see the guide Evaluating Information Sources by Ball State University Libraries for further considerations.
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.