Singing and Acting
Recommended Books
The Music Collection offers many books on singing and acting, including several within the context of musical theatre. Many are classified in MT 892, MT 956, or related areas. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers to ease browsing. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book. Also visit the Music Performance Guide for additional resources on practice, health, auditions, careers, copyright, and other topics.
Vocal Technique: A Guide to Classical and Contemporary Styles for Conductors, Teachers, and Singers by
Vocal Technique is a practical, easy-to-read guide to better singing. This new edition offers a stylistically flexible approach that allows soloists and choral singers to vary the elements of technique to sing virtually any style-classical through contemporary (musical theatre, pop/rock, jazz, and more). It is a comprehensive yet concise book covering all aspects of technique, including body alignment, breath control, initiation of sound, vocal fold closure, resonance, register use, vowels, pitch control, articulation, and vibrato. It also features expanded treatment of vocal health and development. Conductors and teachers will appreciate the numerous practical exercises. Grounded in the latest pedagogical and scientific research, Vocal Technique, Second Edition will expand the horizons of both amateur and professional singers.
Call Number: MT820 .D247 2021Publication Date: 2021
Singing and the Actor by
Singing and the Actor takes the reader step by step through a practical training programme relevant to the modern singing actor and dancer. A variety of contemporary voice qualities including Belting and Twang are explained, with exercises for each topic.
Call Number: MT820 .K36 2005Publication Date: 2005
Singing on Stage: An Actors' Guide by
Singing on stage can be a daunting prospect for actors, particularly for those who have not sung before. Yet singing should be an essential part of every actor's toolkit. Singing on Stage: An Actor's Guide gives an insight for the first time into the vocal techniques and practical approaches that have been developed over generations as an integral part of the training at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art. Jane Streeton and Philip Raymond are highly experienced performers and teachers; their book encourages each actor to explore their own authentic voice as opposed to offering a 'one-size-fits-all' or 'quick-fix' approach. Written in an accessible, friendly and enabling style, Singing on Stage: An Actor's Guide is packed with exercises to develop the actor's skills and gives an overview of: * elements of technique * how to work on a song * the process of singing theatrically * how to choose the best songs for you Featuring inspirational listening suggestions and the observations of successful performers and practitioners, Singing on Stage: An Actor's Guide is the must-have companion for complete beginners as well as for experienced actors who wish to develop their understanding of singing on stage.
Call Number: MT820 .S86 2014Publication Date: 2014
A Performer Prepares: A Guide to Song Preparation for Actors, Singers, and Dancers by
A Performer Prepares is a 13-part master class on how to perform on any stage from bleak rehearsal room to the Palace Theatre. The class covers the basic Broadway song numbers, from show ballad to showstopper. With precise, logical steps and dynamic and entertaining dialogues between himself and his students, David Craig takes anyone with the desire to shine from an audition to final curtain call. These lessons on the pages recreate as closely as possible the unique interpersonal dynamic of Craig's legendary coaching encounters in New York, Los Angeles and across the country.
Call Number: MT892 .C73 1993Publication Date: 2000
Thank You -- That's All We Need for Today: A Practical Guide to Musical Theatre Auditions by
Thank You -- That's All We Need for Today is full of practical advice for anyone who auditions for musical-theatre shows, whether professional or amateur. Starting with the earliest stages, it covers every aspect of the audition process: Choosing and learning songs, Looking after your voice, Deciding what to wear, Preparing CVs and photos, How to make a good impression, Who's who on the audition panel, Also included: a CD of vocal warm-ups - helps you get the best out of your voice
Call Number: MT892 .H36 2009Publication Date: 2009
Belting: A Guide to Healthy, Powerful Singing by
Belting is a strong way of big singing that has become very popular in contemporary styles. It is heard in everything from rock to hip-hop to pop to musical theater to the plethora of award shows. However, not only is there much confusion and misinformation about how to belt well, if done poorly belting can actually damage the voice. Numerous famous singers have belted their way to injury or even lost their voices, sometimes permanently. Many voice teachers believe (incorrectly) that belting is simply bad, physically and aesthetically. So, singing students are getting mixed messages. They hear their favorite artists belt-singing throughout their favorite music, yet the resources teaching healthy belting techniques are few and far between. Belting for the Contemporary Singer seeks to remedy the situation. The fact is, belting can be done well and without causing injury. This book presents the facts about belting, what approaches work and which to avoid. Its online video and audio demonstrate good techniques and exercises.
Call Number: MT893 .G343 2015 (Oversize)Publication Date: 2015
The Reason to Sing: A Guide to Acting While Singing by
In The Reason to Sing, renowned composer-lyricist and teacher Craig Carnelia provides musical actors with a step-by-step guide to making their singing performances more truthful, vivid, and full of life. Using a technique developed over decades of teaching the professional community of Broadway actors and students alike, The Reason to Sing utilizes detailed descriptions of sessions the author has had with his notable students and lays out a new and proven approach to help you build your skills, your confidence, and your career. This book is intended for musical theater acting students as well as working professionals and teachers of the craft.
Call Number: MT956 .C37 2021Publication Date: 2021
The Complete Professional Audition: A Common Sense Guide to Auditioning for Musicals and Plays by
In the United States, there are 300,000 actors; 100,000 hold union cards. There are 184 college theater programs and 108 performing-arts high schools. There are 578 acting schools and coaches in New York City and Los Angeles alone. The Complete Professional Audition is the one book all of those actors need-because before actors can act, they have to pass the audition! Here's practical, hand-holding advice for choosing material, rehearsing, warming up, staying calm, standing out in a crowd, understanding casting, avoiding pitfalls, following up, getting the right headshot and resume, and accepting an offer. There's even a section on handling rejection-not that The Complete Professional Audition user is ever going to need that, of course. Ultra-useful appendices of recommended songs and monologues (yes!) make this the complete guide for everyone with an audition coming up. * Designed for both play and musical auditions * There are 300,000 actors and acting students in the US-and all of them want an edge at the audition * Through his workshops and seminars, author Darren Cohen knows exactly what actors need to pass an audition and get that part * Practical, down-to-earth ideas that work
Call Number: MT956 .C68 2005Publication Date: 2005
Acting in Musical Theatre: A Comprehensive Course by
Acting in Musical Theatreis the only complete course in approaching a role in a musical. It is the first to combine acting, singing and dancing into a comprehensive guide, combining what have previously been treated as three separate disciplines. This book contains fundamental skills for novice actors, practical insights for professionals, and even tips to help veteran musical performers refine their craft. Drawing on decades of experience in both acting and teaching, the authors provide crucial advice on all elements of the profession, including: fundamentals of acting applied to musical theatre script, score and character analysis personalizing your performance turning rehearsal into performance acting styles in the musical theatre practical steps to a career. Acting in Musical Theatre's chapters divide into easy-to-reference units, each containing related group and solo exercises, making it the definitive textbook for students and practitioners alike.
Call Number: MT956 .D44 2008 and EBSCOhost EbooksPublication Date: 2008
So You Want to Sing Musical Theatre: A Guide for Performers by
From television shows like Glee and Smash to the phenomenon of the Broadway show Hamilton, musical theatre has never been more popular. In So You Want to Sing Musical Theatre, Updated and Expanded Edition, Broadway vocal coach Amanda Flynn provides an in-depth look at the skills needed to successfully sing and teach this repertoire. Fully updated to meet the current needs of the profession, this new edition covers a vast array of topics with even deeper discussion: musical theatre history; repertoire; genres used in productions; basic singing voice science; vocal health; audio equipment and microphones; vocal production of musical theatre sounds; acting, dancing, and other movement; working with kids; and auditioning at all levels. The book also includes profiles of Broadway singers that explores their training, methods of vocal upkeep, and advice for singers and teachers. The So You Want to Sing series is produced in partnership with the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Please visit www.nats.org to access style-specific exercises, audio and video files, and additional resources.
Call Number: MT956 .F59 2022Publication Date: 2022
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.