Reference databases
These two databases are collections encyclopedias, dictionaries, and similar resources. Both are great places to look for background information about mythology topics.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias provide brief introductions to subjects - in these cases people, gods, legends, places objects, motifs, and other aspects of mythology and folklore. Entries are typically one or two pages long.
-
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL303 .M45 2004Publication Date: 2004 -
-
-
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
by
Call Number: General Collection, GR35 .G75 2006Publication Date: 2005 -
-
The Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL900 .M66 2004Publication Date: 2003 -
The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL2450.G6 W56 2003Publication Date: 2003-05-26 -
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL715 .D56 1998Publication Date: 1998 -
-
-
Encyclopedia of the Undead
by
Call Number: General Collection, GR830.V3 M44 1999Publication Date: 1998 -
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0787677787Publication Date: 2003-11-01 -
Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0787677647Publication Date: 2003-11-01 -
Man, Myth and Magic
by
Call Number: General Collection Oversize BF1407 .M34 1995Publication Date: 1994
Dictionaries
Dictionaries tend to offer very brief definitions and descriptions of subjects - in these cases people, gods, legends, places objects, motifs, and other aspects of mythology and folklore. Entries usually are only a paragraph long.
-
The Dictionary of World Myth
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL303 .D46 1995Publication Date: 1995 -
Dictionary of Ancient Deities
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL473 .T87 2001Publication Date: 2001 -
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion
by
Call Number: General Collection, BL715 .O94 2003Publication Date: 2003
-
A Dictionary of English Folklore
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2000Also available in the General Collection, GR141 .S59 2000 -
A Dictionary of Asian Mythology
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2001Also available in the General Collection, BL1005 .L46 2001 -
Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2006Also available in the General Collection, BL900 .M445 2000 -
A Dictionary of Superstitions
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 1992Also available in the General Collection, BF1775 .D53 1989 -
A Dictionary of African Mythology
by
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2000Also available in the General Collection, BL2400 .S24 2000 -
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
by
Call Number: General Collection, GR111.M49 C37 2000Publication Date: 2000
