LibGuides: Mythology and Folklore: Articles

Databases - best bets

These databases have a high concentration of journals and articles about mythology and folklore. They are excellent places to begin looking for sources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format.
Description: Project Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
Time Period: 1993 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 300 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Journal Articles
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Databases - try also

These databases also feature some journals and articles about mythology and folklore.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides electronic access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index which reports how many times an article is cited and where it is cited. It also allows you to search across more than 1,700 of the leading journals in the arts & humanities.
Description: This database provides electronic access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index which reports how many times an article is cited and where it is cited. It also allows you to search across more than 1,700 of the leading journals in the arts & humanities.
Time Period: 1982 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,700 journal titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Clarivate Analytics
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is a great source for background information on major authors and their works. It includes biographies and basic literary criticism of the works of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Consider using in conjunction with Literature Criticism Online.
Description: Literature Resource Center is a great source for background information on major authors and their works. It includes biographies and basic literary criticism of the works of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Consider using in conjunction with Literature Criticism Online.
Time Period: 1973 to present
Sources: Indexes or contains the full text of more than 480 magazines or journals and 42 reference titles.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Contemporary Authors
Publisher: Gale Group
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Description: MLA International Bibliography is an electronic version the print index published by the Modern Language Association beginning in the 1920's. Subjects include literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Contains some full text articles.
Time Period: 1926 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 5,000 journals and series.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures
Publisher: Modern Language Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press. Some full text is included.
Note: Installing the LibKey Nomad browser extension will assist you in accessing journal article text. For more information and to download the extension see the LibKey Nomad guide.
Description: Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press. Some full text is included.
Note: Installing the LibKey Nomad browser extension will assist you in accessing journal article text. For more information and to download the extension see the LibKey Nomad guide.

Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 400 journals and contains the full of more than 80.
Subject Headings: Business, English & Linguistics, History, Humanities, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Journals and articles in print

The University Libraries have back issues of several folklore journals in print. You can find them using OneSearch's advanced search feature. Search for the term "folklore" and use the "content type" filter to choose "journal/ejournal." On the left side of the results page, click "library location" and then "bound periodicals." Older print journals and magazines are shelved in alphabetical order on Bracken Library's second floor.

Recent issues of a few folklore journals are available in current periodicals, on Bracken's first floor. These also can be found via OneSearch's advanced search, by selection "current periodicals" as the location.