Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mythology and Folklore

This guide will help you find sources about mythology, folklore, and urban legend.

Articles

Search the University Libraries' databases for articles about your topic. The databases listed on this page were chosen because they contain articles from mythology and folklore journals, including scholarly sources. This page also features tips on finding mythology and folklore journals in the print collection. 

Encyclopedias, etc.

Reference resources like encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources of background information and quick answers. They are particularly helpful when you are researching an unfamiliar topic. The University Libraries own a number of print and online encyclopedias about mythology and folklore.

Books

Search for books about mythology and folklore topics. Books are helpful as sources of in-depth information on specific topics, as well as overviews of broader topics. OneSearch will help you find books within the University Libraries. WorldCat will help you find and request books from other libraries - free of charge!

Internet Resources

Information about mythology and folklore is freely available from a number of websites. This page lists several that Ball State librarians have judged to be reliable and trustworthy, including government resources and many sites published by colleges and universities. 

Urban Legend

This page lists resources about contemporary legend, also known as urban legend and urban myth. The resources include books, encyclopedias, and journals available at the University Libraries, and reliable sources chosen from the Internet. Many of the libraries' resources on this topic are available online. 

Symbols and Iconography

This page lists resources about symbols and iconography - the study of images and symbols associated with a figure or subject, especially one from religion, myth, or legend. The resources include many dictionaries and encyclopedias, but also some books and journals. 

OneSearch

OneSearch is an excellent place to begin searching for sources on an unfamiliar topic. Simultaneously search books, e-books, articles and journals from multiple databases, encyclopedias, and other digital collections. OneSearch can also be helpful if you have had trouble finding sources elsewhere.