Jackson Harmeyer, Music Librarian
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Questions? Chat with a Librarian
Welcome to the Music Performance Research Guide! This guide highlights resources on different aspects of performance that will aid musicians on any instrument. Begin at General Resources where you will find insightful print books like The Oxford Handbook of Music Performance as well as online databases. Then at Find Scores learn to use OneSearch and view collection locations. The pages Physical Health and Mental Health point toward resources on these complementary aspects of healthy performance. Conducting will aid those polishing their skills leading ensembles, while Auditions will assist those seeking to join an ensemble. Career Guidance will help you determine profitable, long-term applications for your performance degree, while Services and Gigs will help you find freelance work for weddings and receptions as well as repertoire for these occasions. Finally Copyright and Licensing will help you determine the legal dimensions around music you wish to perform. Know of a resource not included in this guide? Feel free to email the Music Librarian and they will add it. Or, suggest a book for purchase, if it is a resource not currently owned by University Libraries.
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by live chat, email, text, or phone, or schedule a reference appointment.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available through Ball State University Libraries.
- Libraries Workshops on MusicSee what sessions on music Ball State University Libraries has planned. Email your music librarian to suggest a workshop topic.
- Music DatabasesSpecialty databases and some general databases with significant music content, including Oxford Music Online, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, and Naxos Music Library.
- Music JournalsBrowse serials focusing on music and see access options, in-print or online.
- OneSearchLaunch a comprehensive search of University Libraries collections, including physical holdings and items with online access. Use filters to narrow results.
- Reading Lists (Course Reserves)Look for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- Research Guides on MusicFind a comprehensive list of research guides on musical topics created by Ball State University Libraries.
- Suggest Materials for PurchaseBelieve a book, score, or media item belongs in our collections? Suggest we purchase it here.