Source Readings
In OneSearch, after limiting to "Library Catalog" and "Music Collection" as the Library Location, You can add specific keywords to find primary sources in the collection, for example:
facsimile -- for reproductions of original handwritten manuscripts or early printed music
correspondence -- the Library of Congress subject for letters of specific people is "correspondence."
interview -- many composers and performers have been interviewed by members of the popular press and by scholars.
Anthologies and Companions
Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present by
The voices of women such as Abbess Hildegard of Bingen, Clara Schumann, and Marian Anderson resonate as they emerge from the wide range of materials in this volume, which includes letters, diaries, poems, novels, and reviews that reveal women's achievements not only as patrons and educators but also as composers and performers.
Call Number: ML82 .W65 1996Publication Date: 1996
Music in the Western World: A History in Documents by
This classic anthology assembles over 200 source readings, bringing to life the history of music through letters, reviews, biographical sketches, memoirs, and other documents. Writings by composers, critics, and educators touch on virtually every aspect of Western music from ancient Greece to the present day.
Call Number: ML160 .M865 1984Publication Date: 1984
Source Readings in Music History by
Forty-five years after the appearance of the first edition, Oliver Strunk's monumental anthology of writings about music has been thoroughly revised and extended by a team of scholars working under the direction of musicologist Leo Treitler. For this new edition, seven specialists in music history have replaced some selections, added others, contributed new translations, and provided additional notes and introductions. An entire new section, covering the twentieth century, significantly enlarges the book's scope. Readers can now acquire a comprehensive picture of Western musical thought and ideas through the ages.
Call Number: ML160 .S89 1998Publication Date: 1998
Audio Culture: Readings in Modern Music by
The groundbreaking Audio Culture: Readings in Modern Music maps the aural and discursive terrain of vanguard music today. Rather than offering a history of contemporary music, Audio Culture traces the genealogy of current musical practices and theoretical concerns, drawing lines of connection between recent musical production and earlier moments of sonic experimentation. It aims to foreground the various rewirings of musical composition and performance that have taken place in the past few decades and to provide a critical and theoretical language for this new audio culture. Via writings by philosophers, cultural theorists, and composers, Audio Culture explores the interconnections among such forms as minimalism, indeterminacy, musique concrète, free improvisation, experimental music, avant-rock, dub reggae, Ambient music, HipHop, and Techno. Instead of focusing on the putative "crossover" between "high art" and "popular culture," Audio Culture takes all of these musics as experimental practices on par with, and linked to, one another. While cultural studies has tended to look at music (primarily popular music) from a sociological perspective, the concern here is philosophical, musical, and historical. Audio Culture includes writing by some of the most important musical thinkers of the past half-century, among them John Cage, Brian Eno, Glenn Gould, Umberto Eco, Ornette Coleman, Jacques Attali, Simon Reynolds, Pauline Oliveros, Paul D. Miller, David Toop, John Zorn, Karlheinz Stockhausen, and many others. The book is divided into nine thematically-organized sections, each with its own introduction. Section headings include topics such as "Modes of Listening," "Minimalisms," and "DJ Culture." In addition, each essay has its own short introduction, helping the reader to place the essay within musical, historical, and conceptual contexts. The book concludes with a glossary, a timeline, and an extensive discography.
Call Number: ML197 .A85 2005Publication Date: 2005
Music in the USA: A Documentary Companion by
Music in the USA: A Documentary Companion charts a path through American music and musical life using as guides the words of composers, performers, writers and the rest of us ordinary folks who sing, dance, and listen. The anthology of primary sources contains about 160 selections from 1540 to 2000. Sometimes the sources are classics in the literature around American music, for example, the Preface to the Bay Psalm Book, excerpts from Slave Songs of the United States, and Charles Ives extolling Emerson. But many other selections offer uncommon sources, including a satirical story about a Yankee music teacher; various columns from 19th-century German American newspapers; the memoirs of a 19th-century diva; Lottie Joplin remembering her husband Scott; a little-known reflection of Copland about Stravinsky; an interview with Muddy Waters from the Chicago Defender; a letter from Woody Guthrie on the "spunkfire" attitude of a folk song; a press release from the Country Music Association; and the Congressional testimony around "Napster." "Sidebar" entries occasionally bring a topic or an idea into the present, acknowledging the extent to which revivals of many kinds of music play a role in American contemporary culture. This book focuses on the connections between theory and practice to enrich our understanding of the diversity of American musical experiences. Designed especially to accompany college courses which survey American music as a whole, the book is also relevant to courses in American history and American Studies.
Call Number: ML200 .M89 2008Publication Date: 2008
Readings in the History of Music in Performance by
" . . . extremely useful . . . In MacClintock's selections, even when the source is primarily theoretical, she chooses passages that give a lively insight into actual music-making." --Continuo Readings on the performance of Western music from the late middle ages to the early nineteenth century describe the accepted conventions and actual practices of former times.
Call Number: ML457 .R4Publication Date: 1979
Keeping Time: Readings in Jazz History by
Featuring more than seventy thought-provoking selections drawn from contemporary journalism, reviews, program notes, memoirs, interviews, and other sources, Keeping Time: Readings in Jazz History, Second Edition, brings to life the controversies and critical issues that have accompanied more than 100 years of jazz history. This unique volume gives voice to a wide range of perspectives which stress different reactions to and uses of jazz, both within and across communities, enabling readers to see that jazz is not just about names, dates, and chords, but rather about issues and ideas, cultural activities, and experiences that have affected people deeply in a great variety of ways. Selections include contributions from well-known figures such as Jelly Roll Morton, Billie Holiday, Charles Mingus, Louis Armstrong, Dizzy Gillespie, and Miles Davis; from renowned writers including Langston Hughes, Norman Mailer, and Ralph Ellison; and from critics and historians ranging from Gunther Schuller and Christopher Small to Sherrie Tucker and George Lipsitz. Filled with insightful writing, Keeping Time aims to increase historical awareness, to provoke critical thinking, and to encourage lively classroom discussion as students relive the intriguing story of jazz.
Call Number: ML3507 .K4 2015Publication Date: 2015
Reading Jazz: A Gathering of Autobiography, Reportage, and Criticism from 1919 to Now by
Displaying keen intellectual discernment and great passion, Robert Gottlieb, former president of Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., and former editor of The New Yorker, brings together more than 150 excerpts from books, journals, magazines, and newspapers, creating a monumental anthology of essays about jazz--the life and the music--and rescuing many an important but neglected writer from oblivion.
Call Number: ML3507 .R44 1996Publication Date: 1996
Readings in Black American Music by
The collection includes documents dating from early America through the twentieth century. Monumental figures such as Frederick Douglass, Solomon Northrup, W. E. B. DuBois, W. C. Handy, Ethel Waters, Dizzy Gillespie, Imamu Baraka, and Martha Jackson are represented, as are several complete musical works, by Francis Johnson and others.
Call Number: ML3556 .S75Publication Date: 1972
Contemplating Music: Source Readings in the Aesthetics of Music by
The first three volumes of Contemplating Music pinpointed the kinds of issues raised in the course of systematic philosophizing about music. Volume IV Community of Discourse attempts to bridge philosophical and sociological issues without presuming to provide a full panorama of the questions raised in sociological inquiries concerning music. The latter the compilers believe deserves separate treatment. Rather throughout Contemplating Music emphasis is placed on opposing intellectual strands seeking to make clear their relative primacy in different periods and their possible relationships with other ideas. This volume contains the writings of David Hume, Max Weber, J.W.N. Sullivan, Paul Honigsheim, Walter Benjamin, Theodor W. Adorno, W.A. Zhdanov, John H. Mueller, Leonard B. Meyer, Edward A. Lippman, and Stanley Cavell.
Call Number: ML3845 .C66 1987 V.1-4Publication Date: 1987
Music in European Thought, 1851-1912 by
This volume, in the series Cambridge Readings in the Literature of Music, is an anthology of original German, French, and English writings from the period 1851-1912. Throughout the second half of the nineteenth century music continued to be a subject to which philosophers, psychologists, scientists, and critics repeatedly addressed themselves. Some of the philosophical approaches followed the tradition of the German speculative philosophy of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Elsewhere the new 'scientific' climate of the nineteenth century left its mark on the work of scientists and psychologists interested in the impact of acoustical stimuli on the human mind or in the role of music and song in the prehistory of mankind.
Call Number: ML3845 .M973 1988Publication Date: 1988
Autobiographies, Lectures, and Essays
Father of the Blues, An Autobiography by
W.C. Handy's blues, Memphis Blues," "Beale Street Blues," "St. Louis Blues", changed America's music forever. In Father of the Blues, Handy presents his own story: a vivid picture of American life now vanished. W.C. Handy (1873-1958) was a sensitive child who loved nature and music but not until he had won a reputation did his father, a preacher of stern Calvinist faith, forgive him for following the "devilish" calling of black music and theatre. Here Handy tells of this and other struggles: the lot of a black musician with entertainment groups in the turn-of-the-century South his days in minstrel shows, and then in his own band how he made his first 100 from "Memphis Blues" how his orchestra came to grief with the First World War his successful career in New York as publisher and song writer his association with the literati of the Harlem Renaissance. Handy's remarkable tale, pervaded with his unique personality and humor, reveals not only the career of the man who brought the blues to the world's attention, but the whole scope of American music, from the days of the old popular songs of the South, through ragtime to the great era of jazz.
Call Number: ML410.H18 B6Publication Date: 1941
Stockhausen on Music: Lectures and Interviews by
The leading German composer of electronic music presents his theories of composition and performance. Transcribed from a series of public lectures given in English in 1971, and a long interview with Maconie in 1981, the book covers electronic, chance and intuitive music, process planning and other trends in avant-garde composition. Maconie (The Works of Karlheinz Stockhausen) has retained the flavor of Stockhausen's English, revealing much of the composer's personality as he talks about his sources of inspiration and describes in detail his composing methods. Stockhausen's lectures contain penetrating philosophical and spiritual observations on his lifelong involvement with sound and his desire to build an aural tradition. Published on the occasion of the composer's 60th birthday, the book includes a chronological list of Stockhausen's works and a discography.
Call Number: ML410.S858 A5 1989Publication Date: 1989
Classical Music, Why Bother?: Hearing the World of Contemporary Culture Through a Composer's Ears by
The famous quip "I don't know much about art, but I know what I like" sums up many people's ideas about how to judge a work of art; but there are inherent limitations if we rely on immediate impressions in judging what should be enduring products of our culture. While some might criticize this as a return to "elitism," Joshua Fineberg argues that without some way of determining intrinsic value, there can be no movement forward for creators or their audience. He draws on contemporary thought about "Design space" and "Universal Grammar" to show how intrinsic values can be rediscovered. He then looks at the importance of multimedia in allowing multiple points of entry for the discovering of new works, finally showing how the composer can "Design music for human beings"--Creating a kind of art that can preserve the research agenda of conceptual work without renouncing the understanding of human listeners and performers embodied by craft. Classical Music: Why Bother? will intrigue all listeners of contemporary music, students of musical thought, and composers-but it will also interest students of contemporary aesthetics. It answers the age-old question "How can we bring a new audience to contemporary art?"--and challenges both the creators and their audience to broaden their ideas about what is valuable and lasting in today's culture.
Call Number: ML3800 .F444 2006Publication Date: 2006
The Unanswered Question: Six Talks at Harvard by
The varied forms of Leonard Bernstein's musical creativity have been recognized and enjoyed by millions. These lectures, Mr. Bernstein's most recent venture in musical explication, will make fascinating reading as well. Virgil Thomson says of the lectures: "Nobody anywhere presents this material so warmly, so sincerely, so skillfully. As musical mind-openers they are first class; as pedagogy they are matchless." Mr. Bernstein considers music ranging from Hindu ragas through Mozart and Ravel, to Copland, suggesting a worldwide, innate musical grammar. Folk music, pop songs, symphonies, modal, tonal, atonal, well-tempered and ill-tempered works all find a place in these discussions. Each, Mr. Bernstein suggests, has roots in a universal language central to all artistic creation. Using certain linguistic analogies, he explores the ways in which this language developed and can be understood as an aesthetic surface. Drawing on his insights as a master composer and conductor, Mr. Bernstein also explores what music means below the surface: the symbols and metaphors which exist in every musical piece, of whatever sort. And, finally, Mr. Bernstein analyzes twentieth century crises in the music of Schoenberg and Stravinsky, finding even here a transformation of all that has gone before, as part of the poetry of expression, through its roots in the earth of human experience. These talks, written and delivered when Leonard Bernstein was Charles Eliot Norton Professor of Poetry at Harvard University, are the newest of the author's literary achievements. In addition to a distinguished career as conductor, pianist, and composer, Mr. Bernstein is the recipient of many television Emmys for the scripts of his Young People's Concerts, Omnibus programs, and others, and is the author of The Infinite Variety of Music and The Joy of Music, for which he received the Christopher Award.
Call Number: MT6.B45 U6Publication Date: 1976
What to Listen for in Music by
In this fascinating analysis of how to listen to music intelligently, Aaron Copland raises two basic questions: Are you hearing everything that is going on? Are you really being sensitive to it? If you cannot answer yes to both questions, you owe it to yourself to read this book. Whether you listen to Mozart or Duke Ellington, Aaron Copland's provocative suggestions for listening to music from his point of view will bring you a deeper appreciation of the most rewarding of all art forms. This classic work, the only book of its kind written by an eminent American composer, features: - Chapters on contemporary music and film music - Recommended recordings for each chapter - A selected list of books for further reading and reference In this edition, leading music critic Alan Rich continues Copland's discussion of contemporary music for today's listeners and traces the composer's success in bringing music lovers "closer to the magical mysteries of the music we can hear and want to hear better."
Call Number: MT6 .C78 2009Publication Date: 2009
Correspondence and Diaries
The Boulez-Cage Correspondence by
Between May 1949 and August 1954 the composers Pierre Boulez and John Cage exchanged a series of remarkable letters which reflect on their own music and the music and culture of the time. This correspondence, together with a further letter from 1962 and various other relevant documents, have been edited by Jean-Jacques Nattiez and appear here for the first time completely in English. At the time Cage and Boulez were great friends and these amicable letters reflect their differing ideas on the course new music should take. While Boulez was thinking about forms of serialism, Cage was moving in the direction of ever greater compositional freedom and chance procedures. Professor Nattiez has written a full introduction to this collection of documents and the meticulous and detailed annotation of every letter makes this a volume of extraordinary value for our understanding of the development of both Cage and Boulez and the music of their time.
Call Number: ML410.B773 A32 1993Publication Date: 1993
Letters from a Life: The Selected Letters and Diaries of Benjamin Britten, 1913-1976 by
These remarkable letters, never before published, constitute a comprehensive biography told largely in Britten's own words. Volume 1 accompanies him through prep and English public school and then to London to the Royal College of Music, where the young composer is plunged into metropolitan life and makes influential new friends, among them Auden and Isherwood. This was a time of prodigious musical creativity, a growing awareness of his homosexuality, and the dawning of his political convictions. It was during this time that Britten met Peter Pears, the partner with whom his musical and personal relationship was to last a lifetime. This volume closes in May, 1939, when Britten and Pears depart for the United States. Volume 2 offers an overview of a crucial period in American and British history, politics, and culture. Britten's experience of exile, his return with Pears to England to face recriminations as a Conscientious Objector and prejudice as a brilliant gay artist, and the triumph of his first major opera, Peter Grimes, are all outlined in letters which are a fascinating mix of the public and private. These first two volumes of the Selected Letters and Diaries--a further two are in preparation--make a fundamental contribution to Britten studies and to twentieth-century cultural history.
Call Number: ML410.B853 A4 1991Publication Date: 1991
Martinů's Letters Home: Five Decades of Correspondence with Family and Friends by
These letters document Martinů's life in his own words, from his student days in Prague and Paris to his triumphs in American exile. The 121 letters collected in this book document Martinů's life in his own words, beginning as a student in Prague and Paris, following his flight from Nazi-occupied France and charting his triumphs in American exile; the last letter is dated shortly before his death in 1959. They are addressed to his family and friends back home in the village of Policka, on the Czech-Moravian border. Kept at a distance by the Nazi occupation and then by Communism, Martinů was never to return there but, in a letter to the mayor, written as a gesture of solidarity after August 1938, he proudly described himself as a "native son who is far from his home but who constantly returns - if only in his thoughts - with gladness - to that dear land - the most beautiful on earth."
Call Number: ML410.M382 A4 2012Publication Date: 2012
The Complete Correspondence of Clara and Robert Schumann by
The first volume of the Schumann correspondence contains letters written by Robert Schumann (1810-1856) and Clara Wieck Schumann (1819-1896) between 1832 and 1838. The letters document the major events in their lives: Robert's short-lived engagement to Ernestine von Fricken, his courtship of Clara, Friedrich Wieck's vehement opposition, and Clara and Robert's secret plans for marriage. The letters comment on their encounters with Franz Liszt, Frederic Chopin, Felix Mendelssohn, Ignaz Moscheles, and others. They also describe Clara's triumphant concert tour of Austria and Robert's attempt to establish himself and his journal in Vienna.
Call Number: ML417.S4 A4 1994Publication Date: 1994
Alan Lomax, Assistant in Charge: The Library of Congress Letters, 1935-1945 by
Alan Lomax (1915-2002) began working for the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress in 1936, first as a special and temporary assistant, then as the permanent Assistant in Charge, starting in June 1937, until he left in late 1942. He recorded such important musicians as Woody Guthrie, Muddy Waters, Aunt Molly Jackson, and Jelly Roll Morton. A reading and examination of his letters from 1935 to 1945 reveal someone who led an extremely complex, fascinating, and creative life, mostly as a public employee. While Lomax is noted for his field recordings, these collected letters, many signed "Alan Lomax, Assistant in Charge," are a trove of information until now available only at the Library of Congress. They make it clear that Lomax was very interested in the commercial hillbilly, race, and even popular recordings of the 1920s and after. These letters serve as a way of understanding Lomax's public and private life during some of his most productive and significant years. Lomax was one of the most stimulating and influential cultural workers of the twentieth century. Here he speaks for himself through his voluminous correspondence.
Call Number: ML423.L6347 A4 2011Publication Date: 2011
Interviews and Dialogues
Keeping Score: Interviews with Today's Top Film, Television, and Game Music Composers by
The movie, Jaws. The main character, a vicious shark coursing through the deep blue ocean taking victims along the way. Who among us can't hum the ominous musical accompaniment to this? Would Jaws be what it is today without its recognizable score? What about the theme to Star Wars? The Good, the Bad and the Ugly? Movies and music go hand in hand, neither can exist alone. Is the "shower scene" in Psycho made eerier with the musical score that plays hauntingly in the background? Absolutely! For some, simply hearing the music from movies such as The Exorcist is enough to evoke goose bumps and shivers. Music is powerful. Music is moving. "Keeping Score" features interviews with the top composers of Hollywood from the worlds of film, television, and games. The insightful conversations are both entertaining and informative, taking the reader behind the scenes of the film scoring industry like never before. As you read about what the composers have to say, you'll find that their words present a new manner in which the typical movie fans can access "behind-the-scenes" information about their favorite films. You'll also notice that these composers are as creative with their words as they are with their music.
Call Number: ML390 .H774 2010Publication Date: 2010
American Composers: Dialogues on Contemporary Music by
..". Strickland's own deep involvement with the works of these composers [is] revealed by the questions and comments he poses in an appreciative, Paterian way. His profound pleasure in these works also leads him to scrutinize and challenge them intimately." -- Publishers Weekly "This is an indispensable book about American music... " -- Fanfare ..". exhilarating... Any of the interviews in American Composers will stimulate your curiosity and appetite." A -- Hungry Mind Review ..". not only engaging, but also a useful representation of the major compositional styles of the 1980s and their corresponding practitioners." -- Notes Philip Glass, Keith Jarrett, Meredith Monk, and eight other active American composers reveal a broad spectrum of musical personalities in these candid, in-depth conversations. Witty and articulate, their remarks convey the great vitality, diversity, and distinctiveness of today's American music.
Call Number: ML390 .S942 1991Publication Date: 1991
Blues Before Sunrise: The Radio Interviews by
This collection assembles the best interviews from Steve Cushing's long-running radio program Blues Before Sunrise, the nationally syndicated, award-winning program focusing on vintage blues and R&B. As both an observer and performer, Cushing has been involved with the blues scene in Chicago for decades. His candid, colorful interviews with prominent blues players, producers, and deejays reveal the behind-the-scenes world of the formative years of recorded blues. Many of these oral histories detail the careers of lesser-known but greatly influential blues performers and promoters. The book focuses in particular on pre-World War II blues singers, performers active in 1950s Chicago, and nonperformers who contributed to the early blues world. Interviewees include Alberta Hunter, one of the earliest African American singers to transition from Chicago's Bronzeville nightlife to the international spotlight, and Ralph Bass, one of the greatest R&B producers of his era. Blues expert, writer, record producer, and cofounder of Living Blues Magazine Jim O'Neal provides the book's foreword.
Call Number: ML394 .B646 2010Publication Date: 2010
Samuel Barber Remembered: A Centenary Tribute by
Compulsively readable interviews with the great American composer and his friends and colleagues, including Aaron Copland, Virgil Thomson, and Leontyne Price. Samuel Barber is one of America's most popular classical composers. His widely beloved works include "Adagio for Strings" and Knoxville: Summer of 1915 . The main source for Samuel Barber Remembered: A Centenary Tribute is a panoply of vivid and eminently readable interviews by Peter Dickinson for a BBC Radio 3 documentary in 1981. The interviewees include Barber's friends, fellow composers, and performers, notably Gian Carlo Menotti, Aaron Copland, William Schuman, Virgil Thomson, soprano Leontyne Price, and pianist John Browning. The book also includes three of the very few interviews extant with Barber himself. Dickinson contributes substantial chapters on Barber's early life and on Barber's reception in England. The book has a foreword by the distinguished composer and admirer of Barber, John Corigliano. Peter Dickinson, British composer and pianist, has written or edited numerous books about twentieth-century music, including CageTalk: Dialogues with and about John Cage (University of Rochester Press) and three books published by Boydell Press: The Music of Lennox Berkeley; Copland Connotations; and Lord Berners: Composer, Writer, Painter.
Call Number: ML410.B23 S35 2010Publication Date: 2010
Gustav Mahler: The Conductors' Interviews by
Gustav Mahler was considered one of the greatest opera conductors of his time; he could even be called the first intercontinental star conductor. But that was not the case with his music; until the 1960s his compositions were only performed by specialists, the pieces nowhere near belonging to the standard repertoire. Today, however, performances of Mahler's music rival those of Beethoven's in frequency, thus counting Mahler among the most successful symphonists. What happened to cause that change? This book seeks to answer that question with the aid of interviews with the great Mahler conductors of our day. The discussions range from Mahler's reception by audiences in different countries to the way his audiences gradually came to understand his aesthetic as an expression of the modern human condition, its longings and its aspirations.
Call Number: ML410.M23 G85 2013Publication Date: 2013
Coltrane on Coltrane: The John Coltrane Interviews by
John Coltrane grew up "under the spell," as he put it, of Charlie Parker. But he needed to create a new sound, a music that had nothing to do with anyone except himself. The path he chose was difficult and risky. Nevertheless, he persisted. His work now stands with the greatest music of all time, and continues to inspire devotion, adoration, and joy nearly 50 years after his death. Coltrane was also one of the few musicians whose life, thoughts, and words are as inspiring as his music. This book collects, for the first time, those words. Coltrane was a gracious interviewee. His responses were thoughtful and measured; he rarely said anything negative about others (though he could be highly self-critical). Interviewers noted how different Coltrane seemed from his music--this quiet man whose music was so volcanic. Coltrane on Coltrane includes every known Coltrane interview, many in new transcriptions, and several previously unpublished; articles, reminiscences, and liner notes that rely on interviews; and some of Coltrane's personal writings and correspondence. John Coltrane never wrote an autobiography. This book is as close to one as possible.
Call Number: ML419.C645 A5 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Lost Lennon Interviews by
Featuring rare, exclusive interviews with John Lennon, taken during the period when he produced some of his greatest work with the Beatles, divorced Cynthia Lennon and married Yoko Ono, and overcame a short-lived heroin addiction, The Lost Lennon Interviews offers new insight into this timeless and troubled hero. 200 photos.
Call Number: ML420.L38 G58 1996Publication Date: 1996
DownBeat--The Great Jazz Interviews: A 75th Anniversary Anthology by
Culled from the DownBeat archives, this volume includes in-depth interviews with literally every great jazz artist and personality that ever lived! Features classic photos and magazine covers from DownBeat's vast archives. In honor of its 75th anniversary, DownBeat's editors have brought together in this one volume the best interviews, insights, and photographs from the illustrious history of the world's top jazz magazine, DownBeat. This anthology includes the greatest of DownBeat's Jazz Hall of Famers: from early legends like Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong, Count Basie, Duke Ellington, and Benny Goodman; to bebop heroes like Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie, John Coltrane, Sonny Rollins, and Miles Davis; to truly unique voices like Ornette Coleman, Cecil Taylor, Thelonious Monk, and Rahsaan Roland Kirk; to the pioneers of the electric scene like Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Pat Metheny, and Joe Zawinul. The Great Jazz Interviews delivers the legends of jazz, talking about America's music and America itself, in their own words.
Call Number: ML3506 .D69 2009Publication Date: 2009
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.