Bibliographies
It is always smart to look at sources other writers have used as you begin your own research. Bibliographies, or lists of references, can be found in almost all scholarly writings, including books, articles, and entries at Oxford Music Online, and you should scan these lists as you look for sources of your own. There are also book-length bibliographies which can be particularly valuable, if your topic is one which has already been extensively researched. In the print Music Collection, most bibliographies can be found in Music Reference where they are classified as ML 112.8 to ML 158.8. Especially be on the lookout for volumes in the series Routledge Music Bibliographies which includes numerous informative and up-to-date guides.
ML120 Bibliographies by Region or Country
Bibliographies on the music of different regions and countries are classified in ML 120. Some works attempt to be comprehensive to a geographic place and its people, while others focus on a particular era or genre within their music history. See below for several recommendations, or search by call number to see all volumes held in the Music Collection.
Musical Settings of Late Victorian and Modern British Literature by Call Number: ML120.G7 G66 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1976
Japanese Music: An Annotated Bibliography by
A splendidly organized and intelligently annotated bibliography, primarily of articles (books, other bibliographies, and discographies are included) on all phases of Japanese music through 1983, except Western-style popular music. The majority of the 881 articles are in English; a considerable number are in German, and some are in French. The author is generous with his indexes (e.g., history is subdivided into six sections, and genres of traditional music include specific instrumental indexes as well as the various dance and drama categories). Most welcome of all are the indexes dealing with Japan and the West. Here earlier post-Restoration Western-influenced music is differentiated from the very active contemporary scene; with its other four divisions this section constitutes what is almost undoubtedly the best bibliographical study of its type available. Should there be a second edition, less formal sources of articles concerning contemporary music might be included (e.g., The Japan Society Newsletter).
Call Number: ML120.J3 T8 1986 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1986
Polish Music Literature, 1515-1990: A Selected Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: ML120.P6 P6 1991 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1991
American Fuging-Tunes, 1770-1820: A Descriptive Catalog by
The fuging-tune has long been associated with American music. Indeed, it was once thought to have been an American innovation, but research has shown that, like much else in 18th-century America, the fuging-tune had its origins in England. The American composer adopted and developed it, added his own expressive touches, and made it a primary vehicle for his musical creativity. The almost 1300 fuging-tunes by American composers published between 1770 and 1820 testify to their widespread popularity and musical impact. They represent about a quarter of all the pieces composed by American psalmodists, and are by far the most imaginative musical settings for religious poetry.
Call Number: ML120.U5 K76 1994 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1994
ML128 Bibliographies by Topic
Bibliographies on a particular topic are classified in ML 128. Topics can include musical genres, instruments, demographic groups, academic disciplines, special themes, and more. See below for several recommendations, or search by call number to see all volumes held in the Music Collection.
A Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King Jr. by
In 1983, Ronald Reagan signed into law a federal holiday to honor Martin Luther King, Jr. Three years later, the holiday was first formally observed by the federal government. In response to the growing number of musical celebrations surrounding the holiday, Anthony McDonald published in 1996 the first edition of The Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr. Now, more than a decade since its second edition in 1999, McDonald presents his definitive third edition of the catalog. McDonald organizes information on music suitable for concert performances by symphony orchestras, school music departments, church choirs, or solo performers, including works that celebrate not only Martin Luther King Day, but Black History Month as well. His selections comprise musical work written to honor King, as well as other Americans engaged in the struggle for equality and freedom such as Abraham Lincoln, Malcolm X, Harriet Tubman, Frederick Douglass, and John F. Kennedy. McDonald also incorporates works that more broadly address African American history and culture, such as William Grant Still's Afro-American Symphony. This third edition contains a considerable number of revisions, updates, and new work and includes entirely new sections devoted to jazz and blues songs, sample programs of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day concerts, and a discography, along with appendixes of works listed by orchestration, subject, and a list of publishers and sources. A Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King Jr. is the ideal tool for symphony orchestras, choruses, music departments, and other performing groups and organizations seeking to present concerts that celebrate Martin Luther King Jr., his legacy, and African American history more broadly.
Call Number: ML128.B45 C38 2012 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2011
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide by
In this expanded and updated edition, The Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide features over 3200 compositions, from duos to octets, by more than 1600 composers. Maurice Hinson and Wesley Roberts catalog published works for piano with two or more instruments with information on performance level, length, individual movements, overall style, and publisher. Divided into sections according to the number and types of instruments involved, The Piano in Chamber Ensemble then subdivides entries according to the actual scoring. Keyboard, string, woodwind, brass, and percussion players and teachers will find a wealth of chamber works from all periods in this invaluable guide.
Call Number: ML128.C4 H5 2021 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2021
Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire by
This comprehensive, annotated resource of solo repertoire for the horn documents in detail the rich catalogue of original solo compositions for the instrument. Intended as a guide for practical use and easy reference, it is organized into three large sections: works for unaccompanied horn, works for horn and keyboard, and works for horn and ensemble. Each entry includes publisher information, a brief description of the form and character of a work, technical details of the horn writing, and information on dedication and premiere. The authors also include commentary on the various techniques required and the performance challenges of each piece. Representing over ten years of careful compilation and notation by an expert in horn performance and pedagogy, and by a seasoned music librarian and natural horn performer, Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire will be an invaluable resource for performers, educators, and composers.
Call Number: ML128.H67 D46 2016 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2016
The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide by
The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide is the first comprehensive annotated bibliography of scholarship on virtually all aspects of madrigal composition, production, and consumption. It contains 1,237 entries for items in English, French, German, and Italian. Scholars, students, teachers, librarians, and performers now have access to this rich literature in a single volume.
Call Number: ML128.M2 L49 2011 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2011
Spirituals: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography for Research and Performance by
Spirituals originated among enslaved Africans in America during the colonial era. They resonate throughout African American history from that time to the civil rights movement, from the cotton fields to the concert stage, and influenced everything from gospel music to blues and rap. They have offered solace in times of suffering, served as clandestine signals on the Underground Railroad, and been a source of celebration and religious inspiration. Spirituals are born from the womb of African American experience, yet they transcend national, disciplinary, and linguistic boundaries as they connect music, theology, literature and poetry, history, society, and education. In doing so, they reach every aspect of human experience. To make sense of the immense impact spirituals have made on music, culture, and society, this bibliography cites writings from a multidisciplinary perspective. This annotated bibliography documents articles, books, and dissertations published since 1902. Of those, 150 are books; 80 are chapters within books; 615 are journal articles, and 150 are dissertations, along with a selection of highly significant items published before 1920. The most recent publications included date from early 2014. Disciplines researched include music, literature and poetry, American history, religion, and African American Studies. Items included in the annotated bibliography are limited to English-language sources that were published in the United States and focus on African American spirituals in the United States, but there are a few select citations that focus on spirituals outside of the United States. Of the one thousand annotations, they are divided, roughly evenly, between: general studies and geographical studies; information about early spirituals; use of spirituals in art music, church music, and popular music; composers who based music on spirituals; performers of spirituals (ensembles and individuals); Bible, theology, and religious education; literature and poetry; pedagogical considerations, including the teaching of spirituals as well as prominent educators; reference works and a list of resources that were unavailable for review but are potentially useful. This book also offers considerable depth on particular topics such as the Fisk Jubilee Singers and William Grant Still with over thirty citations devoted to each. At the same time, materials included are quite diverse, with topics such as spirituals in Zora Neale Hurston's novels; bible studies based on spirituals; enriching the teaching of geography through spirituals; Marian Anderson's historic concert at the Lincoln Memorial; spiritual roots of rap; teaching dialect to singers; expressing African American religion in spirituals; Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's music; slave tradition of singing among the Gullah. The book contains indices by author, subject, and spiritual title. Additionally, an appendix of spirituals by biblical reference, listing both spiritual title to scriptural reference as well as scripture to spiritual title is included.
Call Number: ML128.S4 A29 2015 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2015
Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide (Print and eBook) by
Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography emerging from more than twenty-five years of feminist scholarship on music. This book testifies to the great variety of subjects and approaches represented in over two decades of published writings on women, their work, and the important roles that feminist outlooks have played in formerly male-oriented academic scholarship or journalistic musings on women and music.
Call Number: ML128.W7 P46 2005 (Music Reference) and Taylor & Francis eBooks CompletePublication Date: 2012
ML134 Composer Bibliographies
Bibliographies on specific composers and their works are classified in ML 134. Also included in this section are many thematic indexes, or lists of compositions which incorporate musical themes, as well as bio-bibliographies, works which pair biography and bibliography in a single publication. Nearby in ML 134.5 are bibliographies on other types of musicians, such as singers, bands, conductors, and music journalists. See below for several recommendations, or search by call number to see all volumes held in the Music Collection.
Johannes Brahms: A Research and Information Guide by
Authored by Ball State University Professor of Music History Heather Platt, "Johannes Brahms: A Research and Information Guide" is an annotated bibliography concerning both the nature of primary sources related to the composer and the scope and significance of the secondary sources which deal with him, his compositions, and his influence as a composer and performer.
Call Number: ML134.B8 P53 2011 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2011
Samuel Barber: A Thematic Catalogue of the Complete Works by
Samuel Barber: A Thematic Catalogue of the Complete Works is the first publication to list the entire musical output of Samuel Barber, one of the most beloved and frequently performed American composers. In this exhaustive study, renowned Barber biographer Barbara Heyman chronologically lists and details hundreds of core repertory and the most recently published works, as well as numerous works previously unknown and unpublished. Each entry includes information about first performances, commissions, and the circumstances and inspiration of the composition; the texts of songs; a musical extract containing the opening measures of each work, movement, or major aria; duration, revisions, editions, arrangements, and a select discography of historical and contemporary performances. The descriptions of manuscript sources provide details about the hundreds of holograph manuscripts, sketches, drafts, and significant publisher's proofs with Barber's corrections. Entries are enhanced by Heyman's extensive commentary, which draws from Barber's correspondence, interviews, and diaries. Useful appendices to the catalogue comprise a register of works by genre; an alphabetical directory of works; an index of first lines of vocal works; a listing by nationality of authors and translators of texts set by Barber; and a comprehensive discography. This thematic catalogue is an invaluable guide for musicians, scholars, and students, providing an essential foundation for any serious study of Barber and his music.
Call Number: ML134.B175 A3 2012 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2012
Carole King: A Bio-Bibliography by
Carole King's early compositional work in the 1970s paved the way for many women songwriters of popular music. Among her best-known compositions are You've Got a Friend, Up on the Roof, Will You Love Me Tomorrow? and (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman. This reference encompasses Carole King's musical career from her compositions in the early 1960s through the 1990s, including her recently composed My One True Friend for the film One True Thing and Anyone at All for the film You've Got Mail. A brief biography of Carole King, which includes a critical analysis of her music, precedes an extensive discography of 1,275 recording entries and bibliography sections. Popular music scholars, along with Carole King fans, will appreciate this detailed source of available research materials on Carole King. The discography is divided into three sections: a performance discography, a miscellaneous discography, and a composition discography. Separate bibliographies cover writings, such as reviews, that focus on King's recordings, a general bibliography, and a brief bibliography of electronic resources. A filmography and videography are also included.
Call Number: ML134.K39 P47 1999 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1999
Jean Sibelius: A Guide to Research by
In her high-quality guide to major research on the music of Sibelius, Goss cites from the immense number of available bibliographic resources more than 700 scholarly books and articles. Excluded are current events publications, most newspapers, non-music journals, theses, and reviews of concerts and recordings. The introduction draws attention to specific entries. The indexes use English titles where possible and refer to page numbers instead of bibliographic citation numbers.
Call Number: ML134.S49 G67 1998 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1998
Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: The First Hundred Years and Beyond by
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-75) was one of the greatest composers of the 20th century, as well as the first major Soviet composer. In the fourth edition of Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: The First Hundred Years and Beyond, Derek C. Hulme names and describes all known musical compositions of the Russian composer. More than 175 major works are annotated and discussed, including such comprehensive details as titles and subtitles, dates of composition, instrumentation, and duration; information on dedications and premieres; arrangements by the composer and others; publication details; notes on bibliographical references and the location of the autograph score; and comprehensive chronological lists of vinyl, compact disc, and visual recordings. The entries are presented chronologically and by opus number, while indexes of names and compositions provide full accessibility. Several appendixes supplement the volume, guiding readers to further information in published sources and providing information on the composer's film, radio, television, and theatre productions; his abandoned projects and obscure works; and his recordings, including box sets and special USSR recordings. An appendix also discusses the monogram DSCH, a musical motif based on his name that permeates his compositions. This new edition also includes a comprehensive chronological chart of Shostakovich's works and historical events and several plates of memorabilia.
Call Number: ML134.S485 H8 2010 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2010
Joan Tower by
Through her compelling and well-crafted body of work over almost five decades, Joan Tower has become one of the world's most admired and celebrated composers. Joan Tower: The Comprehensive Bio-Bibliography celebrates her achievements and compositions, whether works for orchestra, symphonic band, chamber ensemble, or solo instrument. Author Ellen Grolman gives a full biography of the composer, supported by extensive personal interviews and family history dating back to 1637. She explores the experiences and influences that have shaped Tower's musical voice, from her upbringing in South America to her establishment of the Da Capo Chamber Players, and from her flight from serialism to her maturation into one of the most sought-after composers at work today. The book also gives extensive analysis of the composer's style, composing process, musical influences, and passionate advocacy of contemporary music. Many of the talented and esteemed soloists, chamber ensembles, and symphonic organizations with whom Tower has worked, including Leonard Slatkin, Zubin Mehta, the Emerson String Quartet, David Shifrin, Tania León, and Jennifer Higdon, speak candidly about their experiences with Joan Tower in the Peer Reflections section of the book. The bibliography of works lists each composition with date of publication, duration, dedication and commissioning data, and when available, premiers and selected performances. The discography entries include both commercial and non-commercial recordings, and an annotated bibliography precedes a comprehensive index.
Call Number: ML134.T783 G76 2007 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2007
The Vivaldi Compendium by
The Vivaldi Compendium will serve as the most reliable and up-to-date source of quick reference on the composer Antonio Vivaldi and his music. This takes the form of a dictionary listing persons, places, musical works and many other topics connected with Vivaldi; its alphabetically arranged entries are copiously cross-referenced so as to guide the reader towards related topics. The Vivaldi Compendium also provides a gateway to further reading. This is achieved via an extensive bibliography, to which reference is made in most of the dictionary entries. These two sections are complemented by an article-length biography of the composer and a carefully organized list of his works. Knowledge about Vivaldi and his music is still advancing at an incredible rate - many discoveries occurred while the book was in preparation - and every effort has been made to ensure that The Vivaldi Compendium represents the latest in Vivaldi research, drawing on the author's close involvement with Vivaldi and Venetian music over four decades.
Call Number: ML134.V7 T35 2011 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2011
Marian Anderson: An Annotated Bibliography and Discography by Call Number: ML134.5.A5 S5 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1981
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.