Find Books
Finding Books in OneSearch
OneSearch is Ball State Libraries' integrated discovery tool for books, scores, articles, recordings, and other library materials. It also indexes selected trustworthy online resources and incorporates subscription databases such as Academic Search Complete. On the Libraries' home page, you will see a simple search box:
|
After searching for your topic, you may find more resources than you need. You can narrow your results by using the filters listed to the left of the search results. For both physical and online books owned by Ball State University Libraries, check "Library Catalog." For physical books, the location (Music Collection) and call number (beginning with "M") indicate the books' location in Bracken Library. To specify online books (ebooks) only, check "eBook Full Text Online." Some eBooks require log in with Ball State University authentication to view the book. |
 |
More information on OneSearch can be found at the research guide here: https://bsu.libguides.com/onesearch.
Classification and Call Numbers
The Music Collection at University Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing books and scores on the shelves. This system, maintained by the national library of the United States and utilized by libraries across the country and around the world, groups together items on similar subjects. Each item is then assigned a unique call number which combines alphabetical and numerical characters. These features are designed to make browsing library collections easier for users and librarians alike. Tip: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section.
Call Numbers for Music Education:
MT 1 Instruction and study. General works
MT 9 - 15 Printed pedagogical aids
MT 17 Music in special education
MT 18 Music in colleges and universities
MT 20 - 34 Systems and methods
MT 22 Jaques-Dalcroze
MT 23 Kodály
MT 26 Orff
MT 87 Community music
MT 170 - 810 Instrumental techniques
MT 170 General works
MT 179 - 258 Keyboard instruments
MT 259 - 338 Stringed instruments. Bowed stringed instruments
MT 339 - 533 Wind instruments
MT 655 - 725 Percussion and other instruments
MT 728 - 736 Ensembles
MT 740 - 810 Instrumental techniques for children
MT 820 - 915 Singing and vocal technique
MT 820 General works
MT 821 Physiology and care of the voice
MT 855 - 884 Specific techniques
MT 892 Interpretation, phrasing, expression, etc.
MT 898 - 915 Vocal techniques for children
MT 918 - 948 School music
Subject Headings and Subject Search
University Libraries also uses Library of Congress Subject Headings, or LCSH, to facilitate subject searching of its online records. This integrated and multilayered system of tagging establishes a controlled vocabulary whereby users can search the catalog with agreed upon terminology. The easiest way to run a subject search is to find an item with your subject and then click the red hyperlink under Details to see other works with this same subject. You can also set the search field to Subject Terms and enter approved subject headings manually.
Subject Headings for Music Education:
Music -- Instruction and Study
Music -- Psychological Aspects
School Music -- Instruction and Study
Singing -- Instruction and Study
[instrument] -- Instruction and Study
[instrument] -- Methods
Recommended General Works for Music Education
Most books on music education are classified under the subclass MT, "Music -- Instruction and study." MT books are shelved in ranges 31 through 33 unless oversized or in the Music Reference area. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book.
Foundations of Music Education by
Preface. Introduction: Why Study Foundations of Music Education? 1. History of Music Education. 2. Philosopbical Foundations of Music Education. 3. The Musical and Aesthetic Foundations of Music Education. 4. The Role and Purpose of Music in American Education. 5. Sociological Foundations of Music Education. 6. Social Psychological Foundations of Music Education. 7. Psychological Foundations of Music Education. 8. Application of Psychology to Music Teaching. 9. Curriculum. 10. Assessing Musical Behaviors. 11. Research and Music Education. 12. Teacher Education and Future Directions. Index.
Call Number: MT1 .A25 1994Publication Date: 1994
Music, Education, and Diversity: Bridging Cultures and Communities by
Music is a powerful means for educating citizens in a multicultural society and meeting many challenges shared by teachers across all subjects and grade levels. By celebrating heritage and promoting intercultural understandings, music can break down barriers between various ethnic, racial, cultural, and language groups within elementary and secondary schools. This book provides important insights for educators in music, the arts, and other subjects on the role that music can play in the curriculum as a powerful bridge to cultural understanding. The author documents key ideas and practices that have influenced current music education, particularly through efforts of ethnomusicologists in collaboration with educators, and examines some of the promises and pitfalls in shaping multicultural education through music. The text highlights World Music Pedagogy as a gateway to studying other cultures as well as the importance of including local music and musicians in the classroom.
Call Number: MT1 .C223 2018Publication Date: 2018
Diverse Methodologies in the Study of Music Teaching and Learning by
Diverse Methodologies in the Study of Music Teaching and Learning brings to the music research community an expansive collection of distinct and varied studies, reflecting a broad range of topics based on the authors' interests and experiences. Methodologies exemplified in the collection offer readers insight into the design and conduct of a whole range of distinctive research approaches: from personal narrative to speech-act theory, from social analysis of institutional practices and traditions to children-as-researchers, from case studies of learning to critical analysis of multiculturalism, and from human development to survey analysis studies. As a set of studies, Diverse Methodologies represents and reflects the music education research community at a truly unique moment. The collection demonstrates the profession's increased motivation, willingness, and desire to expand and enhance the research base and traditions in the study and practice of music education. This volume is an important addition to the libraries of Colleges of Education and Schools of Music, as well as music scholars and educators, researchers, and graduate students who are concerned with advancing both the scope and quality of research in the study of music teaching and learning.
Call Number: MT1 .D58 2008Publication Date: 2008
Assessment in Music Education by
Assessment in schools has become a hotly debated issue in education. In the wake of political pressures for accountability, educators have sought to defend the principle that assessment should serve the interests of learners and learning. With the aim of improving learning and raising standards, this book presents a case for formative assessment, day-by-day, rather than summative assessment at the end of key stages. The author draws on and discusses the practical application of a range of theoretical and philosophical research, encouraging a holistic approach and focused teacher-intervention. The book provides material for reflection as well as practical tips, and is suitable for instrumental and classroom teachers (at all levels, but particularly 11-18), and the academic community.
Call Number: MT1 .F36 2010Publication Date: 2010
Teaching Music Appreciation Online by
In this book, readers will learn practical tips and strategies to teach music appreciation online. As online education is a growing field, an increasing number of teachers trained in traditional/live methods find themselves now teaching online and potentially without mentors to assist them. Students are also changing, seeking highly engaged, relevant, and interactive learning opportunities that connect to their lives. Here, readers will find helpful guidance in planning curriculum, integrating multimedia assets, designing forum discussions, developing assignments, preparing rubrics, engaging in forum discussions, preparing, managing, and teaching, the course, providing feedback and grading, and following up with struggling and challenging students. The book can serve as a resource to those already teaching music appreciation online or as a comprehensive guide to those new to the field. Additionally, it may serve as a resource to instructors in other disciplines who seek to shift live-courses to the online format, as well as music appreciation instructors who would like to integrate digital or online components into traditional face-to-face courses. The book is organized into five major sections, designed to guide the novice online educator in depth while also appealing to the seasoned veteran through the ability to review each section as a stand-alone resource. Although some readers will desire to read from cover to cover, they will also be able to move in anon-linear manner from chapter to chapter, using chapters in modular form, in order to benefit from the sections that most apply to them at any given time.
Call Number: MT1 .H18 2020Publication Date: 2020
Becoming a Music Teacher: From Student to Practitioner by
New music teachers often struggle to find a way to connect the content learned in college classes with the content that will be taught in the classroom, since the nature of their work demands a high level of both musical and educational ability, while also the skills to switch from tuning an orchestra to leading a marching band or practicing voice parts with a chorus. Becoming a Music Teacher: Student to Practitioner focuses on making the connections between the college music classroom and public school music classroom transparent, visible, and relevant. Award-winning music educators Donald L. Hamann and Shelly Cooper have created a versatile text for music teacher education, and one that will provide a significant resource for music education students across the US. Based around an innovative organization and approach, Becoming a Music Teacher is made up of 40 short modules that focus on increasing a teacher's comfort and confidence level when instructing or leading groups. Each module is broken down into four individual components that demonstrate real life transfers from classes to classroom through the components of Personal Awareness, Personal Musicianship, Pre-Conducting, and Professional Knowledge. The Personal Awareness component gives a lesson on good teaching skills by focusing on body awareness, body language, and communication styles rather than abstract theories of education. Personal Musicianship provides a guided learning approach to teaching sight-singing and opportunities to create both vocal and instrumental accompaniments with the songs that are included in the modules. Pre-conducting discusses ways in which certain gestures or concepts could be used in rehearsing a school ensemble through the development of hand/arm independence, posture, and gestures. Professional knowledge links the module to the real world and places it in the context of the workplace, offering advice on how to work with other teachers and administrators, and includes characteristics of successful teachers, the role of schools in contemporary society, and diverse learners. When taken together, these components help the student develop a genuinely rounded skill set for the classroom. The lessons are activity-based and interactive, allowing readers to experiment, communicate, and provide feedback. The modules are also flexible and have been designed to be easily integrated into a music education classroom and applied to specific age groups, including adult learners, a demographic many music education students encounter but one rarely discussed in music education classrooms. Each module stands alone, allowing instructors to customize their lesson plans by selecting or highlighting the modules most relevant to their class. This text also includes exercises that promote reflection on professionalism, collegiality, and legal factors that affect both students and teachers, not found in most education texts.
Call Number: MT1 .H1358 2016Publication Date: 2016
Issues of Identity in Music Education by
Issues of Identity in Music Education: Narratives and Practices focuses on the stories of individuals-cooperating teachers and student teachers, undergraduate composers, singers and non-singers, Hispanic and white students, and instrumental music educators. Individually and collectively, these studies tell stories about the ways that people, places, and spaces in music education interact to shape identity. Although using specific methodologies within both qualitative and quantitative traditions, collectively these studies create a kind of complementarity-the kind of inquiry symbiosis that Sandra Stauffer in Volume 2 avers we are ready to embrace in the profession. Continuing the practice of inviting essays from prominent educators, Volume 3 presents the thinking of Jean Clandinin on narrative inquiry. Her essay brings both added depth and clarity in understanding the key ideas, processes, relationships, and ethics involved in narrative research. Peter Whiteman's and Regina Murphy's concluding essays advance the conversation on the role of discussant within the context of the Annual Meeting of AERA. Whiteman and Murphy share insights from their own experiences as they describe the purposes and processes of this important role. Like the studies within this volume, these essays elucidate the various roles and identities we hold as researchers. This volume is a significant addition to the libraries of Schools of Music and Colleges of Education, as well as an important reference for music scholars and educators, researchers, and graduate students who are concerned with advancing both the scope and quality of research in the study of music teaching and learning.
Call Number: MT1 .I85 2010Publication Date: 2010
Music Education for Changing Times: Guiding Visions for Practice by
Based on topics that frame the debate about the future of professional music education, this book explores the issues that music teachers must confront in a rapidly shifting educational landscape. The book aims to challenge thought and change minds. It presents a star cast of internationally prominent thinkers in and beyond music education. These thinkers deliberately challenge many time-worn traditions in music education with regard to musicianship, culture and society, leadership, institutions, interdisciplinarity, research and theory, and curriculum. This is the first book to confront these issues in this way. This unique book has emerged from fifteen years of international dialog by The MayDay Group, an organization of more than 250 music educators from over 20 countries who meet yearly to confront issues in music teaching and learning.
Call Number: MT1 .M9816 2009Publication Date: 2009
The Musical Experience: Rethinking Music Teaching and Learning by
The Musical Experience proposes a new concept - musical experience - as the most effective framework for navigating the shifting terrain of educational policy as it is applied to music education. Other books that deal with music education reform often concentrate on non-musical topics at the expense of music listening, performance, and composition, or concentrate on only one of these at the expense of the others. This book, however, works with musical experience as a comprehensive framework for all aspects of music education. The editors and their contributors define musical experience as being characterized by the depth of affective and emotional responses that music engenders, and illustrate that its breadth is embodied in the infinite variety of meanings - both personal and communal - that music evokes. The essays map out the primary forms of musical engagement (performing, listening, improvising, composing, etc.) as activities which play a key role in classroom teaching. The chapters also address the cultural dimensions of musical experience, which call for consideration of time, place, beliefs, and values placed upon musical activities, works, and genres. The book discusses how music teachers can most effectively rely on means of musical communication to lead students toward the development and refinement of musical skills, understandings, and expression in educational settings. As a whole, the book expands upon the dimensions of musical experience and provides, from the forefront of the field, an integrated yet panoramic view of the educational processes involved in music teaching and learning.
Call Number: MT1 .M987365 2014Publication Date: 2014
Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy by
This practical text provides a comprehensive introduction to understanding research in music education and music therapy. Designed primarily for the introductory research course taken by upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, it is also useful for all interested undergraduates inboth fields. In contrast with traditional "how to" textbooks, Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy adopts a unique "how to read and comprehend" approach to music research. It helps students explore and understand articles in professional research journals, familiarizing them withthe literature itself and with basic concepts, terms, and statistical symbols.The book opens with an overview of the research process and then offers in-depth coverage of a broad range of research genres: historical, philosophical, qualitative, quantitative, mixed-methods, and action research. Integrating relevant real-world examples of each genre into the text, authorKenneth Phillips includes eighteen full-length research articles that are elucidated by his own detailed commentary. The text also demonstrates how research findings can be applied in classrooms or therapeutic situations, thereby serving as a bridge between knowledge and practice.Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy is enhanced by study and discussion questions, suggested activities, and three appendices that contain resources for locating research articles in music education, music therapy, and the psychology of music. Grounded in the author'sextensive research background and teaching experience, this exceptional text offers students, music teachers, and music therapists an accessible and engaging entree into the world of music research.
Call Number: MT1 .P5116 2008Publication Date: 2008
Research Perspectives by
A volume in Advances in Music Education Research Series Editors Linda K. Thompson, Lee University and Mark Robin Campbell, SUNY at Potsdam Research Perspectives: Thought and Practice in Music Education calls attention to various theoretical and methodological aspects within the expanding field of research in music education. Perspectives presented in this volume offer readers a host of ideas and practices that range from international and historical to empirical and philosophical. Of special interest is a set of invited essays. Collectively, these essays illuminate our understanding of the peer review process, the importance of artistic vision in research and education, and the notion of complementarity - a recognition of the validity of diversity of thought and practice in music education research. The studies in Part 1 of Research Perspectives include early childhood musical development, an international comparison of early childhood preservice teacher knowledge and skills, and a psychohistoric examination of developmentally appropriate practice. Part II is comprised of studies focused on psychometrics of motivation, and professional development of practicing music educators. This volume is a significant addition to the libraries of Colleges of Education and Schools of Music, as well as an important reference for music scholars and educators, researchers, and graduate students who are concerned with advancing both the scope and quality of research in the study of music teaching and learning.
Call Number: MT1 .R511 2009Publication Date: 2009
Teaching General Music by
Teaching General Music is informed by a variety of teaching approaches and methods. These pedagogical frameworks guide teachers in planning and implementing instruction. Established approaches to teaching general music must be understood, critically examined, and possibly re-imagined for their potential in school and community music education programs. Teaching General Music brings together the top scholars and practitioners in general music education to create a panoramic view of general music pedagogy and to provide critical lenses through which to view these frameworks. The collection includes an examination of the most prevalent approaches to teaching general music, including Dalcroze, Informal Learning, Interdisciplinary, Kodály, Music Learning Theory, Orff Schulwerk, Social Constructivism, and World Music Pedagogy. In addition, it provides critical analyses of general music and teaching systems, in light of the ways children around the world experience music in their lives. Rather than promoting or advocating for any single approach to teaching music, this book presents the various approaches in conversation with one another. Highlighting the perceived and documented benefits, limits, challenges, and potentials of each, Teaching General Music offers myriad lenses through which to re-read, re-think, and re-practice these approaches.
Call Number: MT1 .T33 2016Publication Date: 2016
Winding It Back: Teaching to Individual Differences in Music Classroom and Ensemble Settings by
Winding it Back: Teaching to Individual Differences in Music Classroom and Ensemble Settings is a collaborative effort written by practicing music educators, teacher educators, pedagogy experts, researchers, and inclusion enthusiasts with a combined one hundred plus years in the field of music education. The framework of this text is centered on three core principles: Honoring the individual learning needs of all students; providing multiple access points and learning levels; and providing adequate learning conditions for all students within the music classroom. Topics include early childhood music, creative movement, older beginners, rhythm, and tonal development as well as secondary choral and instrumental music. All chapters focus on meeting the needs of all students and all learning levels within the music classroom. This book is ideal for practicing music educators, teacher educators, and arts integration specialists and enthusiasts alike. It provides specific musical examples both within the text and on the extended companion website including musical examples, lesson ideas, videos, assessment tools and sequencing ideas that work. The aim of this book is to provide one resource that can be used by music educators for all students in the music classroom both for classroom music education and music teacher preparation. Visit the companion website at www.oup.com/us/windingitback
Call Number: MT1 .W823 2016Publication Date: 2016
A History of American Music Education by
A History of American Music Education covers the history of American music education, from its roots in Biblical times through recent historical events and trends. It describes the educational, philosophical, educational, and sociological aspects of the subject, always putting it in the context of the history of the United States. It offers the most complete information on professional organizations, materials, techniques, and personalities of any publication.
Call Number: MT3.U5 M325 2007Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophical and Qualitative Assessment in Music Education (eBook) by
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophical and Qualitative Assessment in Music Education offers global, comprehensive, and critical perspectives on a wide range of conceptual and practical issues in music education assessment, evaluation, and feedback as these apply to various forms of music education within schools and communities. The central aims of this Handbook focus on broadening and deepening readers' understandings of and critical thinking about the problems, opportunities, spaces and places, concepts, and practical strategies that music educators and community music facilitators employ, develop, and deploy to improve various aspects of music teaching and learning around the world.
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Online CompletePublication Date: 2019
Music Education: Navigating the Future (eBook) by
Education involving music is a multifaceted and ever-altering challenge. As new media, technologies, and pedagogies are developed, academics and practitioners must make sure that they are aware of current trends and where they might lead. This book features studies on the future of music education from emerging scholars in the field. These studies are then supplemented by commentaries from established leaders of the music education community. Music Education covers topics such as music and leisure, new forms of media in music teaching and learning, the role of technology in music learning, popular music tuition in the expansion of curricular offering, and assessment of music education research. As such, it is an excellent reference for scholars and teachers as well as guide to the future of the discipline.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2015
Music Education and Social Emotional Learning: The Heart of Teaching Music (eBook) by
Music educators are in a prime position to help students become socially and emotionally competent while at the same time develop excellent musicianship. For every child to be successful in the music classroom, teachers need to be aware of the whole student. How do music educators create success when students every day struggle with social awareness, bullying, communication, problem solving, and other challenges? This pioneering book by Scott Edgar addresses how music educators can utilize Social Emotional Learning (SEL) to maximize learning in the choral, instrumental, and general music classroom at all levels, and at the same time support a student's social and emotional growth. Foreword by Tim Lautzenheiser.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2017
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.