Music in Special Education
Recommended Books
In the print Music Collection, books on music in special education are classified as MT 17. Other books can be found in MT 1 "Instruction and study. General works" and related areas like ML 3920 where music therapy is classified. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book. For additional resources, try searching OneSearch or a database for a specific topic (for example, autism), and then apply the subject filter "music" to narrow your results.
The Praeger Handbook of Special Education by
This book introduces readers to key concepts and issues in the evolving field of special education. Arguably, over the past thirty years, no other area of education has been as radically transformed as the provision of services to children with disabilities. Since the mid 1970s, special education has steadily grown to reach fully 12% of the U.S. student population in grades K-12, and millions of children from birth to age five. Despite its promise of equal access, special education has become a controversial field in many respects. Critics point to its high cost, questionable pedagogical effectiveness, and differential outcomes across localities, family income levels, and ethnicities. The more typical approach in the literature highlights the legal and procedural mandates that dominate the discourse on educating the disabled student, but fails to explore the underlying assumptions and inconsistencies that make this area of education a controversial and still unsettled enterprise. This handbook departs from the traditional books in the field by focusing on the ways that special education policies and practices are enacted, rather than highlighting only their intended outcomes. Contributors to this text focus on defining commonly used terms and professional jargon in order to give interested readers access and insight into the field of special education and its associated practices. Some of the subjects included in this volume are the history of special education, disability and society, law and special education, pedagogy, policies and practices, and research in special education.
Call Number: LC3965 .P73 2007 (General Collection and as eBook)Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies represents a comprehensive state of current research for the field of Disability Studies and Music. The forty-two chapters in the book span a wide chronological and geographical range, from the biblical, the medieval, and the Elizabethan,through the canonical classics of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, up to modernist styles and contemporary musical theater and popular genres, with stops along the way in post-Civil War America, Ghana and the South Pacific, and many other interesting times and places.Disability is a broad, heterogeneous, and porous identity, and that diversity is reflected in the variety of bodily conditions under discussion here, including autism and intellectual disability, deafness, blindness, mobility impairment often coupled with bodily difference, and cognitive andintellectual impairments. Amid this diversity of time, place, style, medium, and topic, the chapters share two core commitments. First, they are united in their theoretical and methodological connection to Disability Studies, especially its central idea that disability is a social and culturalconstruction. Disability both shapes and is shaped by culture, including musical culture. Second, these essays individually and collectively make the case that disability is not something at the periphery of culture and music, but something central to our art and to our humanity.
Call Number: ML3916 .O96 2016Publication Date: 2016
Perfect Pitch in the Key of Autism by
By focusing on the abilities rather than the deficits of people with learning, perceptual, motor, and other differences, Kupferstein and Rancer have developed a revolutionary piano pedagogy that will empower individuals with autism and other differences by unleashing the power of what can be done. Stephen M. Shore, Ed.D. Internationally known professor, consultant, speaker, and author on issues related to the autism spectrum and special education. Person on the autism spectrum Autistic people and musical individuals often have perfect pitch, a gift they were born with. The musical gift may be accompanied with learning differences such as reading comprehension problems, trouble with mathematics, and significant difficulties in learning how to read music. Th e authors combined many years of teaching experience to develop a research-based method that maximizes students? gifts to advance their musicianship
Call Number: ML3920 .K89 2016Publication Date: 2016
Music, Language and Autism: Exceptional Strategies for Exceptional Minds by
Children with autism often have an intense natural musicality. This book explains how music and language 'work' as systems of communication, and why music holds such a fascination for many young people on the autism spectrum. There are strategies for showing how music can be used to support language development and even substitute for verbal communication. Exploring the progression from a young child's intuitive engagement with music, to using it as a scaffold for communication, socialisation and understanding, the book illustrates, through the use of detailed case studies, how music nurtures a sense of self and provides a positive outlet to express inner thoughts and feelings without resorting to challenging or even destructive behaviours. Presenting an innovative approach to the use of music with people on the autism spectrum, this book will be a fascinating resource for speech and language therapists, music therapists, occupational therapists, teachers, teaching assistants, educational psychologists, carers and parents of people with autism.
Call Number: ML3920 .O25 2013Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs: A Label-Free Approach by
A practical guide and reference manual, Teaching Music to Children with Special Needs addresses special needs in the broadest possible sense to equip teachers with proven, research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law. Chapters address the full range of topics and issues music educators face including parental involvement, student anxiety, field trips and performances, and assessment strategies. The book concludes with an up-to-date section of resources and technology information.
Call Number: MT17 .H36 2011Publication Date: 2011
Music and Dyslexia: A Positive Approach by
Music and dyslexia is of particular interest for two reasons. Firstly, research suggests that music education can benefit young dyslexics as it helps them focus on auditory and motor timing skills and highlights the rhythms of language. Secondly, dyslexic musicians at a more advanced level face particular challenges such as sight-reading, written requirements of music examinations and extreme performance nerves. This is a sequel to the highly successful Music and Dyslexia: Opening New Doors, published in 2001. The field of dyslexia has developed rapidly, particularly in the area of neuropsychology. Therefore this book focuses on these research advances, and draws out the aspects of music education that benefit young dyslexics. The contributors also discuss the problems that dyslexic musicians face, and several chapters are devoted to sight-reading and specific strategies that dyslexics can use to help them sight-read. The book offers practical techniques and strategies, to teachers and parents to help them work with young dyslexics and dyslexic musicians.
Call Number: MT17 .M87 2008Publication Date: 2008
Music for Children and Young People with Complex Needs by
There are around 40,000 children and young people in the UK alone with severe or profound and multiple learning difficulties, in special schools and in mainstream education. Research has indicated that provision is at best patchy, despite the widely held belief that music is beneficial, both in its own right and to promote wider development. This book seeks to foster progress in what is still a young discipline by reflecting on contemporary thinking and practice, identifying key issues, introducing recent and ongoing research, and providing practical advice for practitioners including teachers, therapists, and community musicians.
Call Number: MT17 .O35 2008Publication Date: 2008
Music Education for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Resource for Teachers by
Music Education for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Resource for Teachers provides foundational information about autism spectrum disorder and strategies for engaging students with ASD in music-based activities such as singing, listening, moving, and playing instruments. This practical resource supplies invaluable frameworks for teachers who work with early-years students. The book first provides readers with background information about ASD and how students with this condition manage their behaviors in school environments. It then progresses to provide teachers with information about planning music-based instruction for students on the spectrum. In the book's midsection, readers learn how students with ASD perceive, remember, and articulate pitch perception. Following chapters present a series of practical ideas for engaging students with ASD though songs and singing and concentrate on skills in music listening, most notably on activities that motivate students with ASD to interact with others through joint attention. Challenges that individuals with ASD experience in motor processing are examined, including difficulties with gait and coordination, motor planning, object control, and imitation. This is followed by practical teaching suggestions for engaging students with activities in which movement is mediated through sound (e.g., drum beats) and music. Closing chapters introduce non-pitched percussion instruments along with activities in which children engage in multisensory experiences by playing instruments--musical activities described in preceding chapters are combined with stories and drama to create musical narratives. Music Education for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder is accompanied by a companion website that supplies helpful supplemental materials including audio of songs notated in the book for easy access.
Call Number: MT17 .S4 2017Publication Date: 2017
An Attitude and Approach for Teaching Music to Special Learners by
An Attitude and Approach for Teaching Music to Special Learners is a valuable reference guide and text for music teachers who instruct students with special needs. Based on years of practical teaching experience, Sobol begins with the basics of classroom setup and management and moves on to musical literacy, the National Standards for Music Education, special education law, and teaching critical thinking skills. Throughout her book, Sobol consistently promotes the role of the teacher in reinforcing and building each student's inner confidence. Focusing on teaching students with moderate to severe learning, social, emotional, psychological, physical, intellectual, and language impairments, Sobol provides instructional strategies tailored to various disabilities and disorders. An extensive list of categories of disabilities is also included. The colors of the well-known stoplight-red, green, and yellow-are used to help students understand the foundations of harmony and differences in pitch, learn rhythmic notation, and link to concepts in other disciplines and to help teachers with classroom management. Color illustrations on the accompanying CD provide materials for use in the classroom. Sobol also provides a six-part sample lesson plan based on mediated learning techniques and a curriculum project designed to teach critical thinking skills. Throughout, Sobol's positive attitude infuses the book with possibilities. Her desire to provide a happy place in music where students feel safe is infectious. Her approach is an inspiration for all teachers: "Inside each and every child is a perfect human soul with unlimited potential locked up needing to be set free to find his or her ultimate power of expression."
Call Number: MT17 .S63 2008Publication Date: 2008
Music for All: Developing Music in the Curriculum with Pupils with Special Educational Needs by
This book applies principles of current theory and practice in music-in-education for working with pupils with special needs. It offers the non-specialist teacher of music a means for accessing the National Curriculum to pupils of all abilities.
Call Number: MT17 .W55 1996Publication Date: 1996
Teaching Music to Students with Autism (eBook) by
Teaching Music to Students with Autism is a comprehensive resource for everyone who works with students with autism within the music classroom. The authors focus on understanding autism, advocating for students and music programs, and creating and maintaining a team approach by working together with colleagues effectively. A significant portion of the book is focused on understanding and overcoming the communication, cognition, behavior, sensory, and socialization challenges inherent in working with students with autism. The authors suggest ways to structure classroom experiences and learning opportunities for all students. The book includes vignettes and classroom snapshots from experienced music teachers which provide additional opportunities to transfer theory to real-life application.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2013
Academic Journals in Applied Behavior Analysis
Although not specific to music, the following academic journals can be excellent resources for research into special education. Be sure to notice the organizations which issue them as well as the databases which index them in order to find even more resources.
- Behavior Analysis in Practice (BAP) This transnational journal from the Association for Behavior Analysis International (ABAI) provides science-based, best-practice information relevant to service delivery in behavior analysis. The range of contents includes empirical reports describing the application and evaluation of behavior-analytic procedures and programs; discussion papers on professional and practice issues; technical articles on methods, data analysis, or instrumentation in the practice of behavior analysis; tutorials on terms, procedures, and theories relevant to best practices in behavior analysis; and critical reviews of books and products that are aimed at practitioners or consumers of behavior analysis.
- Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis (JABA) Original reports of experimental research involving applications of the experimental analysis of behavior to problems of social importance.
- Journal of Behavioral Education (JBE) Provides a forum for the publication of research on the application of behavioral principles & technology to education.
- Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities (JDPD) The Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original research and clinical reports from a variety of fields serving persons with developmental and physical disabilities. Submissions from researchers, clinicians, and related professionals in the fields of psychology, rehabilitation, special education, kinesiology, counseling, social work, psychiatry, nursing, and rehabilitation medicine are considered. Investigations utilizing group comparisons as well as single-case experimental designs are of primary interest. In addition, case studies that are of particular clinical relevance or that describe innovative evaluation and intervention techniques are welcome. All research and clinical reports should contain sufficient procedural detail so that readers can clearly understand what was done, how it was done, and why the strategy was selected. Rigorously conducted replication studies utilizing group and single-case designs are welcome irrespective of results obtained. In addition, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and theoretical discussions that contribute substantially to understanding the problems and strengths of persons with developmental and physical disabilities are considered for publication. Authors are encouraged to preregister empirical studies, replications, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses in a relevant public database and to include such information with their submission to the journal. Authors are also encouraged, where possible and applicable, to deposit data that support the findings of their research in a public repository (see detailed “Research Data Policy” module in the journal’s Instructions for Authors). In response to the need for increased clinical and research endeavors with persons with developmental and physical disabilities, the journal is cross-categorical and unbiased methodologically.
- Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior (JEAB) Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior (JEAB) is primarily for the original publication of experiments relevant to the behavior of individual organisms.
Special Education Guide
For additional resources on special education beyond music, see this research guide by Susan Taylor, Libraries Liaison to Special Education: https://bsu.libguides.com/specialeducation.