Popular Databases
The University Libraries subscribes to databases that include great content like academic journal articles, magazine articles, reference entries, and more.
- Academic Search CompleteThis general database includes full text articles in many subject areas and is a great place to start.
- JSTORJSTOR allows you to search over 2,000 journals from a variety of subjects. Caution: many articles in JSTOR will be from recent years, but you will also find older articles dating as far back as the 1800's.
- Literature Resource CenterThis useful resource for literature projects includes literary criticism of the works of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Some biographical information for authors is also available.
Search Google Scholar
Do you like Google Scholar? Make sure to include BSU Libraries' resources in your search so that you get access to as many full text options as possible.
Here's how:
- Go to Google Scholar
- Click on Scholar Settings
- Select Library Links and enter Ball State University
- Check the box for "Ball State University - Find It @ BALL STATE @ Ball State."
- After doing your search in Google Scholar, click on Find It @ BALL STATE for articles to see if they are available in full text through BSU subscriptions
Finding Articles
As a Dual Credit student, you have the same access to article databases as do on-campus students.
- To get started, try a library Database or the OneSearch tool.
- In rare cases where the article you want is available only in the library's print collection, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan, and it will be scanned and shared with you on your ILLiad/Interlibrary Loan page.
- If access to the full text of an article is not available through library databases or collections, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Find Databases
The University Libraries subscribe to databases, which include valuable research materials like academic journal articles. Some databases are specific to certain subject areas, while others include articles or other materials from many subject areas.
- To access the databases, go to the University Libraries Homepage
- Scroll down, Select Databases
- Select a Subject (Art and Dance, Business, Education, History, etc.) to view databases specific to a field of study
- Or, select a letter to see databases alphabetically by first letter
Search Tips for Databases
Different databases have different features, but here are some general search tips:
- You may have to run several searches using different keywords before finding the results you need. This is totally normal!
- Narrow your results - most database results page will have limiters like 'publication date' and 'item type' on the left hand side of the page
- If your search results include subjects listed under the item title and publication information, use those subjects! Sometimes you will find a new term that you can use as a keyword in your search.
Using OneSearch
OneSearch provides a convenient way to access many different library resources at once. You will find results from several library databases, the library catalog, and open access resources online.
- Find OneSearch on the University Libraries homepage
- OneSearch is a great tool to use as you begin your research
- In your research projects, you will benefit from using both OneSearch and databases specific to your topic
Search tips:
- On the results page, narrow your search using the options in the left-hand menu (including scholarly/peer-reviewed, content type, publication date, and more)
- Notice the format of any search results that interest you (for example, is the item a book, an article in a scholarly journal, or an article in a magazine?)