Tests and Measures

Volumes one and two of this set include the abstracts (descriptions) of more than one thousand tests related to family and relationships, while volume three includes the full test instrument and scoring instructions for 168 of the tests. Many of the test entries include author contact information.

Includes full text tests.

Examples of some of the included tests: Certainty in religious belief scale; Christian conservatism scale; Religious attitude scale, and more.

Success in the study and treatment of eating disorders and weight-related problems depends greatly on the efficacy of the instruments used. As the number of available instruments has increased, so has the difficulty in determining which is most appropriate for a specific case or project. Offering a refined and carefully analyzed sampling of relevant material, the Handbook is the first comprehensive guide in this field. Following the introduction and discussion of such key constructs as binge eating and purging, dietary restraint and body image, the contributors offer critical analyses of the measurement instruments most suitable for study in those areas. Each instrument is then evaluated in terms of its development,

While a vast number of scale instruments have been published in various journals and conference proceedings, a comprehensive handbook of multi-item scales, with directions on how to use them, has never been published - until now. After an overview of the development of multi-item scales, the remaining chapters include scales on leading topics important to marketing research: individual behaviour; values; information processing; reactions to advertising stimuli; attitudes and ethics; and sales and sales management practices. Each of the 124 scales is presented in a consistent format, including the construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, source, other evidence, other sources, references and scale items. Then, of course, the actual measurement item is included. The scales have had to conform to strict criteria for inclusion in the Handbook.

This thoroughly revised and updated edition offers a comprehensive guide to measures of health and is an essential reference resource for all health professionals and students. A new chapter on measuring global quality of life has been included in addition to coverage of popular measures and functioning, anxiety, life satisfaction and well-being and broader status. An updated selection of useful addresses has been incorporated at the end of this revised edition. Key reading for upper level undergraduates and postgraduates in health studies, health sciences, research methods and social sciences.

In contrast to the great diversity of other crime and delinquency research measures, those drawn from the CPI and the MMPI have much in common. They are taken from standardized instruments administered under controlled conditions, with known stimulus properties and validity indicators. The CPI and MMPI measures will frequently be instruments of choice in research on personality and psychodynamics of offenders. CHAPTER 6 Law Enforcement and Police This chapter encompasses a variety of scales that refer to law enforcement or police agencies. Unfortunately, in the case of many scales, these terms are used simply with the assumption that the respondents understand the concepts and use them in the same way as researchers. In other cases, however, specific policing functions are identified and described. As noted in Chapter 3, a standard order of scale presentation is followed. First the attitudes scales are presented, followed by the behavior ratings, per­ sonality measures, milieu ratings, prediction measures and finally the very broad category of description. After the reviews are completed within each subcategory, other scales in that category are listed. (See Chapter 2 for a description of the criteria that were used in deciding upon whether a scale would be reviewed or simply listed. ) Listed scales are presented by title and bibliographic reference, followed by a very brief description.

This volume is a valuable resource for clinicians and researchers concerned with assessing patients' alcohol problems using psychometric instruments. Subject matter experts review domains of assessment-different stages of treatment such as screening, diagnosis, planning, treatment, and outcome-that require different types of instruments, and they describe issues relevant to each area. An update of the 1996 Assessing Alcohol Problems: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers, this second edition presents in one convenient location, samples of more than 70 assessment instruments, along with fact sheets, an at-a-glance "Quick Reference Instrument Guide," and tables within each chapter comparing instruments used in each domain of treatment. Assessing Alcohol Problems is loose-leaf bound to make page replacement and updating easier.