Introduction to these resources
Books in the Background information category below will give you definitions and helpful background information that will help you understand tests and measures as well as the research articles where you find them referenced.
The books in the Directories and Special Topics categories below will help you find reviews of tests by topic to help you find the test you need for your project. Many of these books even include contact information for the authors so that you can ask for permission to use their work.
Remember, our online database Mental Measurements Yearbook (in Step 1 of this guide) will also help you to find reviews and information about tests.
Background information
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by Call Number: General Collection BF176 .S78 2007Publication Date: 2007Access the online eBook by clicking on the title above. This book is also available in the General Collection with call number Ref BF 176 .S78 2007. This book includes very helpful brief definitions of terms you will encounter in tests and measures and their analysis in research articles.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by Call Number: General Collection BF39 .E497 2003 V.1-2This two-volume set gives an overview of the most commonly used and important tests for each topic or subject. This would be an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the tests used in your subject of interest. For example, a section on Caregiver Burden includes an overview of the issue and how researchers attempt to assess it, as well as descriptions of measures and references.
General Directories
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by Call Number: General Collection BF431 .G625 V.1-8ISBN: 9781433801372Publication Date: 2003This resource lists unpublished measures (those found in research articles but not published by a company or testing organization). A very brief summary of the purpose, reliability, and the citation for the article that used the measure are given. The index is helpful for locating tests about the subject that interests you. You may look up the referenced article for the test to learn more about it and in some cases to find the full test instrument. If found, the authors must still be contacted to gain permission to use the test/measure.
Special Topics
Handbook of Multicultural Measures by Call Number: General Collection HM1271 .G36 2011This valuable resource includes descriptions, references, reliability, and validity for tests related to several important themes. Themes include: Multicultural Competence; Racial Identity; Acculturation; Racism; Prejudice; Gender; Sexual Orientation; and Disability.
Sex and Gender Issues: a handbook of tests and measures by Call Number: General Collection BF692 .B38 1990This resource includes in-depth descriptions, references, reliability, and validity for tests related to sex and gender. An availability section is also included for each test which lists the company or author that can be contacted to attempt to procure the test. A sample of some of the topics covered includes: Dating; Love Attitudes; Sexual Experience Inventory; Sex Anxiety; Birth Control; Sexual Coercion; Eating Disorders; and more.
Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences by Call Number: General Collection GV706.4 .D57 2002ISBN: 9781885693402Publication Date: 2002This resource includes descriptions, references, reliability, and validity for tests related to sport and exercise science. Also a valuable addition for most listings: an Availability section gives name, university, and email for the author of the measure. Themes include: Achievement; Aggression; Anxiety; Attention; Attitudes; Body Image; Cognitive Strategies in Sport; Confidence; Leadership; Locus of Control; and Motivation.
Bibliography on Psychological Tests Used in Research and Practice in Sport and Exercise Psychology by Call Number: GV706.4 L47 2002The author includes the name of tests or measures, followed by a list of several articles that have used that test. One way to investigate a test further would be to find the articles in BSU's collections by typing the title of the article into OneSearch. For those articles that are available, you could see how the test had been used. Many of the tests listed deal directly with sports (motivational predictors of high performance, athletic identity, etc.) while others are wide ranging and may have additional applications (aggression, eating disorders, etc.).
Reference resources for advanced research
Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research LibrariesCall Number: General Collection LB3051 .D564 2001This resource lists test collections, the vast majority of which are available only for in-house use (cannot be checked out) at universities throughout the United States. This would be a useful resource for advanced researchers who are willing to travel to look at test collections and identify needed tests/measures.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Call Number: General Collection BF176 .C654 2004 V.1-4This set of four volumes gives extensive descriptions of the historical development of different types of investigation, the tests and measures used for each type, and factors such as ethics and legal issues. The four volumes cover: Intelligence/neuropsychological; Personality; Behavioral; and Industrial/organizational.
