History of Printing Resources in Archives and Special Collections
Archives and Special Collections offers a variety of resources pertaining to the history of printing. These include materials dating from the 14th to 20th centuries.
The mission of
Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide
access to archival and printed materials that support the research and
instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international
scholars, and the general public.
Digital Media RepositoryThis link opens in a new windowDiscover early printings such as the Leaves From Famous Bibles and American Almanacs digital collections in the DMR.
Description:The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items. Time Period: 1800's to present Sources: Contains records more than 175,000 items_ Subject Headings: General, History, Humanities, News, Social Sciences (Images) Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Archival Material, Audio, Books/e-books, Images, Maps, Models, News, Other, Videos Information Included: Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Ball State University Libraries Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Introduction
Housed in the Digital Media Repository, the American Almanac collection provides samples of almanacs published primarily in the 18th century. The Almanacs are comprised of almanacs from the Gene Wierbach almanac collection and the Elizabeth Ball collection. 13 of the almanacs from the Wierbach collection are written in German.
