About Archives and Special Collections
The mission of Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to archival and printed materials that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.
Related Resources
- OneSearchSearch for early printings in OneSearch.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window Discover early printings such as the Leaves From Famous Bibles and American Almanacs digital collections in the DMR.
Introduction
The advent of printing, as well as rises in literacy in the United States and western Europe from the 1600's to 1800's, brought a rise in ephemeral publications. These types of printings, which were not meant to last, included newspapers, almanacs, and chapbooks and could be found within the everyday home.
Some of the earliest almanacs contained astrological infromation and predictions. Over time, particularly in the 17th and 18th centuries, popular almanacs began to develop into a form of folk literature containing home remedies, folk wisdom, fiction, and interesting facts along with gardening information and weather predictions. A variety of these early almanacs, including a copy of Benjamin Franklins Poor Richards Almanac, may be viewed in Archives and Special Collections or the Digital Media Repository.
Source: The Columbia Encyclopedia. New York: Columbia University Press, 2008. s.v. "almanac," http://www.credoreference.com/entry/columency/almanac (accessed November 29, 2011).
Astronomical Diary
Astronomical Diary or Almanack for the Year of Christian era 1805 by Nathaniel Low
