Architecture

A virtual bookshelf that highlights resources relevant to current studio projects.  Browse through case studies and analyses through online magazines, search for specific subjects in an architectural periodicals database, and become familiar with library resources.

Databases

Material Bank

Material Bank is a database of the products of 450+ different manufacturers, primarily of finishes such as flooring, wall coverings, countertops, ceilings, furniture, vertical surfacing, stone, hardware, kitchen, and bath. While professionals can order samples with overnight shipping, students are limited to using their database. However, the database contains high-quality photos of different colors and patterns of each material and provides a lot of power in its filters. Filters include: 

• commercial, residential
• indoor, outdoor
• abrasion
• flammability
• environmental benefits and standards

In addition, Material Bank maintains an active presence on Instagram and Pinterest with hundreds of material palettes from which to draw inspiration.

ARCAT Database of Building Materials

Extensive database of building materials and manufacturers. Searchable by product type base material. ARCAT is especially useful for obtaining direct links to CAD drawings and Revit models in addition to providing specifications for many of the listed materials. Building materials are also browsable by CSI MasterFormat and a more general building product category listing that includes the following:

• appliances
• doors
• fixtures
• finishes
• furniture
• specialty
• HVAC
• lighting
• railing
• roofing
• siding
• stairs
• windows

Architizer Material and Product Search Directory

Building material search engine searchable by product type, category, or base material. Products also browsable by a wide range of categories including: 

• facade
• finishes
• flooring
• furniture
• signage

Architizer also provides a directory of projects and architectural firms, which can be quite useful. 

MaterialDistrict

Website dedicated to materials with a regularly updated blog featuring new materials and database of materials. MaterialDistrict is notable in that it allows you to search materials by keyword and also browse and refine by:

• material type (ceramic, glass, metal, stone, etc.)
• level of gloss (glossy, matte, satin, etc.)
• translucence
• texture
• hardness
• acoustics
• resistance to fire
• resistance to UV
• weather resistance

Note that many of the materials listed in the database are produced and available only in Europe. Even though they aren't more widely available, they do offer sources of inspiration and perhaps shed light on the future of building materials in North American markets.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The Avery Index is also helpful for searching information about building materials. Search the keyword "building materials" or pair the keyword "building materials" with your specific building type such as "school" or "office" or the following subject terms:

• alterations and additions
• vocational
• conservation and restorations
• specific types of schools such as "art schools"
• office buildings
• corporate office buildings
• multi-use buildings

Please see below for an interactive search box to Avery prepopulated with a search for "building materials." You can add the subjects above with Boolean operators such as AND/OR. For example, "building materials AND office buildings."

----------------------------------------------------------------

Image credit: top image, photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash.