Architecture Librarian
Questions? Just ask!
Finding eBooks in the University Libraries collections:
- OneSearch - includes links to titles available in the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) and ProQuest Ebook Central
- Use the "eBook Full Text Online" filter in the search.
- More on this in the "Finding eBooks in OneSearch" box below.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Check the availability and download options for each book
- Create an EBSCOhost account to download the full book.
- More in the "Using eBooks in eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) box below.
- ProQuest Ebook Central
- Check the availability and download options for each book.
- More in the "Using eBooks in ProQuest Ebook Central" box below.
Examples of some of the eBooks available in the collections:
Architecture : Form, Space, and Order by
The revered architectural reference, updated with contemporary examples and interactive 3D models The Interactive Resource Center is an online learning environment where instructors and students can access the tools they need to make efficient use of their time, while reinforcing and assessing their understanding of key concepts for successful understanding of the course. An access card with redemption code for the online Interactive Resource Center is included with all new, print copies or can be purchased separately. (***If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code -ISBN: 9781118986837). The online Interactive Resource Center contains resources tied to the book, such as: Interactive Animations highlighting key concepts Photo Gallery of architectural precedents illustrated in the book Flashcards for focused learning Architecture: Form, Space, and Order, Fourth Edition is the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design, updated with new information on emerging trends and recent developments. This bestselling visual reference helps both students and professionals understand the vocabulary of architectural design by examining how space and form are ordered in the environment. Essential and timeless, the fundamental elements of space and form still present a challenge to those who crave a deeper understanding. Taking a critical look at the evolution of spaces, Architecture distills complex concepts of design into a clear focus that inspires, bringing difficult abstractions to life. The book is illustrated throughout to demonstrate the concepts presented, and show the relationships between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultures. Topics include: Primary elements and the principles of space design Form and space, including light, view, openings, and enclosures Organization of space, and the elements and relationships of circulation Proportion and scale, including proportioning systems and anthropometry
Call Number: Available via ProQuest Ebook CentralISBN: 1118745132Publication Date: 2014-10-13
Construction Equipment Management by
This revised and updated edition of Construction Equipment Management fills a gap on this subject by integrating both conceptual and hands-on quantitative knowledge on construction equipment into a process that facilitates student learning. The first six chapters summarize interdisciplinary concepts that are necessary to ground students' learning on construction equipment management, including both engineering and economics. Each of the next 16 chapters covers a different type of construction equipment and associated methods of use. The final chapter introduces the more advanced concept of operation analysis. This allows the book to be used on numerous courses at different levels to prepare graduates to apply skills on construction equipment when planning for a new project, estimating its costs, and monitoring field operations. Organized around the major categories of construction equipment, including both commercial and heavy civil examples, case studies, and exercises, this textbook will help students develop independence in applying concepts to hands-on scenarios. A companion website provides an instructor manual, solutions, additional examples, lecture slides, figures, and diagrams.
Call Number: Available via ProQuest Ebook CentralISBN: 1351117459Publication Date: 2019-03-27
Interior Design Handbook of Professional Practice by
Everything you need to know about the practice and business of interior design -- from McGraw-Hill and Interior Design magazine Let today's most admired design professionals share with you their priceless insights, step-by-step guidelines, and real-life examples drawn from their own highly successful practices. Interior Design Handbook of Professional Practice packs fresh new ways of thinking and profitable ways of working -- quality information you expect when experts join forces Comprehensive, hands-on details show you how to problem-solve the design needs of clients streamline every stage of your practice, from finding and winning clients to project build-out and master the most efficient negotiation, bidding, contract, and documentation techniques. Achieve professional excellence and profitability with this authoritative resource as you learn how to act on the implications of the profound changes occurring in the design industry today with tips from designers who are at the top of their game. An outstanding preparation tool for the NCIDQ national licensing exam
Call Number: Available via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780071416030Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Site Engineering for Landscape Architects by
The Leading Guide To Site Design And Engineering-- Revised And Updated Site Engineering for Landscape Architects is the top choice for site engineering, planning, and construction courses as well as for practitioners in the field, with easy-to-understand coverage of the principles and techniques of basic site engineering for grading, drainage, earthwork, and road alignment. The Sixth Edition has been revised to address the latest developments in landscape architecture while retaining an accessible approach to complex concepts. The book offers an introduction to landform and the language of its design, and explores the site engineering concepts essential to practicing landscape architecture today--from interpreting landform and contour lines, to designing horizontal and vertical road alignments, to construction sequencing, to designing and sizing storm water management systems. Integrating design with construction and implementation processes, the authors enable readers to gain a progressive understanding of the material. This edition contains completely revised information on storm water management and green infrastructure, as well as many new and updated case studies. It also includes updated coverage of storm water management systems design, runoff calculations, and natural resource conservation. Graphics throughout the book have been revised to bring a consistent, clean approach to the illustrations. Perfect for use as a study guide for the most difficult section of the Landscape Architect Registration Exam (LARE) or as a handy professional reference, Site Engineering for Landscape Architects, Sixth Edition gives readers a strong foundation in site development that is environmentally sensitive and intellectually stimulating.
Call Number: Available via ProQuest Ebook CentralISBN: 111841909XPublication Date: 2013-01-22
Streets Reconsidered by
Streets Reconsideredis a fundamental rethinking of America's streets. It explores the future of streets and what America's roadways could be if they were designed for living, instead of just driving. The book includes: detailed design guidelines, fully illustrated, four color case studies of successful streets from around the world, a new paradigm of streets designed to promote human functions, turning new design ideas into a series of best practices that can be applied to any community. What would streets look like if they accommodated people of all ages and abilities, promoted healthy urban living, social interaction and business, the movement of people and goods and regeneration of the environment? Streets Reconsideredpushes beyond the current standards, focusing on the planning, design and construction of streets as a method for improving our built environment for everyone. The book is organized by the functions of a street: mobility, way finding, commerce, social gathering, events and programming, play and recreation, urban agriculture, green infrastructure and image and identity. Streets Reconsideredis the essential resource for city planners, urban designers, developers, architects, landscape architects, policymakers and community members who share a passion for great urban, human spaces.
Call Number: Available via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781138900431Publication Date: 2018-10-29
Finding eBooks in OneSearch
To find eBooks in OneSearch, select "eBook Full Text Online" from the filters in your search results:
Using eBooks in Proquest Ebook Central
Consult the availability options in ProQuest Ebook Central for each book. For example:
Using eBooks in eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Consult the availability options in eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) for each book.
Note: If "Full Download" is an option, you must first create a free EBSCOhost account in order to download the book.
More on how to check out and download books from EBSCO.
More on how to create a MyEBSCOhost account from EBSCO.
