Skip to Main Content

Nutrition & Health Science

A research guide to resources for researchers in physiology, health science, and anatomy. Access the guide directly by using this URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/physlhsc.

Health statistics sources

Gluten & Gluten-free Diets

What is gluten? What does a gluten-free diet really do?

Fictions / Facts about gluten and gluten-free diets:

Gluten is a complex sugar [FACT: Gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in many grains; it is NOT an animal protein]
Glutinous rice has gluten in it [FACT: “glutinous” refers to the sticky consistency of this rice]
All grains have gluten [FACT: buckwheat, rice, and oats (if not contaminated by wheat or barley), for example, have little or no gluten]
Gluten-free diets will help you lose weight [FACT: no studies support this assertion to date; they are known to help only people with coeliac disease and gluten sensitivity/allergies]

Follow the links below to find out more and do your own research.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Description: Includes journals from the fields of behavioral genetics, biochemistry, child and adolescent psychology, environmental health, medical law, and microbiology. Most of the 100 plus journals in this database are available in cover-to-cover pdf's.
Time Period: 1985 to present
Sources: Indexes and contains the full text of more than 100 journal titles.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Science
Primary Materials: Journal Articles

Oxford Reference Online: "Malabsorption syndrome"
Gluten Intolerance Group: Support Groups
GIG Support Group Branches and Generation GF Groups are found in multiple locations and allow you to connect with others in your local gluten-free community. Through events, fundraisers, and group meetings, our GIG Branches and Generation GF Groups will allow you to become more involved in the promotion and advocacy of the gluten-free lifestyle.
Health Databases from Ball State University Libraries
A list of health- & medicine-related databases filtered from the comprehensive database list. Includes CINAHL, Medline, HealthSource, ProQuest Nursing, etc. For specific databases, see the "Finding Articles" tab on this LibGuide.
Mayo Clinic: "Gluten-free diet"

MEDLINE with Full Text
Medline is the premier index of medical journal articles from the US National Library of Medicine. This version is available from EBSCO through a BSU Libraries subscription.

Description: MEDLINE with Full Text is based on MEDLINE which was originally created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. This version of the databases has buttons (e.g. Access Now, Access Options, and Find It @ Ball State) below articles on the results list to help users locate the text of articles. Users can limit articles to peer-reviewed articles, evidence-based medicine, and articles published in the past year, or 5 and 10 years.
Coverage: 1965 to present
Sources: Searches more than 1,200 journal titles and provides the full text for 806 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Medicine, and Nursing, Psychology
Material Types: Journal Articles
MEDLINEplus
Description: A resource for finding dependable (and free) medical information on the Internet about health topics, drugs and supplements, genetics, and medical tests. It also includes a medical encyclopedia. This database does not index journal articles, and is intended for the general public, not for health professionals. Also available in Spanish.
Coverage: Current
Sources: Provides link to approximately 35,000 links curated by the National Library of Medicine.
Subject Headings: Health, Medicine, and Nursing
Material Types: Reports, Grey Literature, Reference Entries

Nurtrition Abstracts & Reviews

SciFinder^n
Online Chemical Abstracts and fulltext articles database. Includes chemical structure drawing component. Accessible only from the SHSL webpage.

Description: Key database for science research. Chemistry-focused but includes references from Medline as well. Users may search by typical means (e.g. keyword, author, title, etc.) but also by chemical structure.
Time Period: 1907 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 9,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Science
Primary Materials: Journal articles, substance data, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, etc.
Note: Must use your Ball State e-mail to register.
Sport Discus with Full-Text
Key database for sports medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. Provides abstracts and citations for journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Indexes over 2,000 journals.

Description: Key database for sport medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Time Period: 1975-present
Sources: over 2,000 journals
Subject Headings: Education, Health, Mobile (Physical Education and Sports Medicine)
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2025 2:51 PM
URL: https://bsu.libguides.com/nutrlhsc
Print Page

Subjects: Health, Medicine, and Nursing

Tags: dietetics, health, health_science, hsc, nutr, nutrition