Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition, Physiology, & Health Science

A research guide to resources for researchers in physiology, health science, and anatomy. Access the guide directly by using this URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/physlhsc.

Tools, etc.

Recommended databases and interfaces (ie aggregators)

Ball State University Libraries provides access to authoritative and accurate sources of information on peer-reviewed and otherwise scholarly publications through the Articles & Databases page.  Remember that part of your tuition goes to pay for such resources and services- you do have a subscription to journals like Nature through your status as a student at Ball State.

The Articles & Databases pages can be viewed in a couple of different ways.  You can look at an A-Z list of all the databases we offer access to or you can choose a subject (e.g. Science or Health) and just look at databases relevant to your field of interest. 

For instance, go to the Articles & Databases page and click the Subject menu box. Then click on the Health menu item.  This will bring up only those databases concerned with the health sciences including physiology.  Other subject areas that might apply to health science researchers would be Science or Social Sciences or PsychologyRemember: just because it doesn’t say HEALTH SCIENCE or PHYSIOLOGY doesn’t mean it can’t be relevant to what you are doing.  Do not neglect a source because it does not seem to fit your conception of what you want.

Beginning Tools:
OneSearch
Web of Science (same as Science Citation Index Expanded)
GreenFILE
ScienceDirect
Ingenta Connect

More focused/in depth:
HealthSource:Nursing/Academic Edition (an EBSCO database)
Natural Medicine (
contains evidence-based reports, checkers, and tools related to food, herbs, and supplements)
Medline with Fulltext (also accessible at Medline or PubMed)
SciFinder Scholar (chemistry-focused but also covers lots of biomedical sources and accesses Medline)
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology)
Public Library of Science (PLoS) (an open access publisher)
CINAHL (nursing and allied health database)
Nursing & Allied Health (a ProQuest database)
JSTOR (over 100 full-text journals on edpidemiology, health policy, gerontology, nursing, MMWR, etc.)

General Research & Reference:
Oxford Reference Online
Academic Search Premier (an EBSCO database)
Biomedical Reference Collection
Annual Reviews
Science.gov

Other useful tools:
WorldCat
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) (search engine like Google Scholar but science-focused with better refinement tools)
anatomy.tv
Abbreviations.com (find full journal titles from abbreviations)

(sample DOI for ILL: 10.1016/S1389-0352(00)00005-2)