LibGuides: Nutrition &amp; Health Science: Finding Articles

Databases

For online databases and index services go to the University Libraries home page, click on the Databases link, then use the pull down menu near the top of the page to select the Health option. This will bring up a list health-related databases allowing a more concise search of the literature.

Remember: Finding an article in a database does not mean University Libraries subscribes to the journal in which it appears.To make sure the journal title you want is accessible at University Libraries, consult OneSearch. Also, using databases can be tricky- a document called Database Searching Basics (PDF) can help.

CINAHL
Scholarly information published from 1982 to the present. Key source for research information about nursing and the allied health professions.

Description: Key database for the nursing and allied health professions, which indexes more than 4,100 peer reviewed journals including the publications of the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
The database allows you to limit your search to Evidence-Based Practice resources.
Time Period: 1981 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 5,400 journals, magazines, and trade publications and provides the full of 70 titles.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Science (Nursing)
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles
Health Business FullText
Semi-scholarly articles published from 1985 to the present. Covers journal articles on the topic of health care administration and management.

Description: Health Business FullTEXT provides access to articles on subjects such as, finance, health care facility management, health care regulation, marketing, and staffing. For articles on medical issues other than health care administration and management, see MEDLINE or CINAHL also on the Databases page.
Time Period: 1985 to present
Sources: Indexes and provides full text for more than 130 journals, magazines, and trade publications.
Subject Headings: Business, Health, Mobile, Science (Administration)
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Trade Publications

Health Databases from Ball State University Libraries
A list of health- & medicine-related databases filtered from the comprehensive database list. Includes CINAHL, Medline, HealthSource, ProQuest Nursing, etc. For specific databases, see the "Finding Articles" tab on this LibGuide.

Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular information published from 1985 to the present. Medical information from journals and reference books aimed at the general public.

Description: Health Source: Consumer Edition is a full text database of medical information from magazines, journals, and reference books. Reference titles include the Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, the Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine, and the Patient's Guide to Medical Tests. The database also provides access to pamphlets and other health information. Topics covered include, AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, and women's health.
Time Period: 1984 to present
Sources: Provides access to the full text of nearly 80 magazines and journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Science
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Other, Reference Resources, Report
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition
Scholarly information published from 1975 to the present.

Description: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition includes journals from many medical disciplines and focuses on nursing and allied health. Journal subjects include audiology, child and adolescent psychology, environmental health, nursing, nutrition, and public health. Of the 500 full text journals contained in this database, 436 are peer reviewed.
Time Period: 1958 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 800 journals and magazines and provides full text for more than 500 titles.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Science
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Trade Publications
HighWire: Library of the Sciences and Medicine
From Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts a repository of peer reviewed content with 1110 journals and 4,647,522 full text articles from over 130 scholarly publishers. These publishers have collectively made 1,840,225 articles free

Description: HighWire allows you to browse article by topic from a set of online medical journals and the PubMed database. Many of the full-text articles are available for free or through the BSU Libraries' subscriptions. Other articles are available for purchase. Although most of the content is from the 1960's forward, some content dates back to 18th century.
Time Period: 1960's to present
Sources: Provides the full text of more than 2.3 million articles from over 400 journal titles.
Subject Headings: Health, Science (Medicine, Biology, Life Sciences)
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles
MEDLINE with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles published from 1966 to the present. Medline is the premier index of medical journal articles published by the National Library of Medicine. See also MedlinePlus.

Description: MEDLINE, created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is the premier index of medical journal articles. This version of the databases has linked full text and FindIt@BALL STATE, a technology which helps users locate the text of articles when it isn't available in MEDLINE. The advanced search allows users to place a wide range of limits on their searches including limiting results to EBM reviews.
Time Period: 1946 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 5,200 journals.
Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Psychology, Science, Technology (Biomedicine, Life Science)
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Scholarly journal articles published from 1988 to the present. Includes full text of articles. Companion to CINAHL.

Description: Nursing & Allied Health Database is a comprehensive resource for students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals. It covers topics related to nursing, mental health, public health, and patient care.
Time Period: 1986 to present
Sources: Contains the full text of more than 800 journals and magazines.
Subject Headings: Health (Nursing)
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Sport Discus with Full-Text
Key database for sports medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. Provides abstracts and citations for journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Indexes over 2,000 journals.

Description: Key database for sport medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Time Period: 1975-present
Sources: over 2,000 journals
Subject Headings: Education, Health, Mobile (Physical Education and Sports Medicine)
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4

OneSearch

OneSearch is a tool for discovering the resources in the University Libraries collections. The simple search box allows researchers to discover credible and reliable library content in one simple search and see results in a relevancy-ranked list. Researchers can access full-text content when available, locate items in the libraries' collections, or request items through interlibrary loan if necessary.

For more information on this new discovery tool, take a look at the OneSearch subject guide.

As always, though, using only one source for all your information- even a meta-search tool such as this- can leave your knowledge of research topics lacking. Again, there is no quick and easy road to accurate and authoritative research. Real work is involved. Search results will overlap between sources but they will NOT be the same.

Nutrition & Health Science

LibKey Nomad: For Full-Text

Databases

OneSearch