LibGuides: Art Resources: Art Education

Art Education

Libraries Databases

University Libraries provides access to nearly 300 online databases which you can use to find scholarly articles. Different databases are geared toward different disciplines. Find a complete list at the A-Z Databases page at the Libraries website. There are also databases specific to Fine and Performing Arts, Education, and Psychology which can be selected through the subject filter.

Recommended Databases for Art Education:

APA PsycInfo
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Description: Access the full text of The Chronicle of Higher Education as well as job ads.
Time Period: 1990's until present
Sources: Includes one publication.
Subject Headings: Education, Social Sciences, News
Primary Materials: News
ERIC
This is the free version of ERIC provided by the U.S. government. You can also select the versions of ERIC indexed by EBSCOhost and ProQuest, if you are more comfortable with their interfaces.

Description: ERIC is a free version of this key index to research in the field of education. Although this isn't a full text database, the full text of many ERIC documents is available. Additionally, authors of more than 400,000 documents have granted free access in pdf format. Other versions of this database search the same content and provide more access to the full text of articles.
Time Period: 1966 - present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Music
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
ERIC (ProQuest)
Description: ERIC (ProQuest) is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-Present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Music
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report

Many journals can be found in multiple online databases while others are in-print at Bracken Library. Click here for an extensive list of journals about art education, including online and physical locations. You can also download the browser extension LibKey Nomad to eliminate paywalls you might encounter, if you find an article on Google, Wikipedia, or a publisher's website.

Online Resources

Enhance your studies with these free online resources.

Art in Action
Art in Action provides art curriculum, materials, and training that empowers students to develop: Creativity, Critical Thinking, Self-Expression, and Resilience.
National Gallery of Art
Plan a field trip or bring art into your classroom. Find lesson ideas, teaching resources, or professional development opportunities for yourself.
Free Online Art Learning Resources for Students and Teachers
National Gallery of Art, Fun & Learning.
Useful Websites for Art Teachers
Art Lesson Ideas, Plans, Free Resources, Project Plans, and Schemes of Work.
PBS LearningMedia
Bring dance, music, theater, and Visual Art into your classroom with these standards-aligned resources.

Interlibrary Loan

Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via Art Full Text and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.