Contact Your Librarian
Lower Level, BL 087
Fall drop-in hours: Tues., 9 to 11 AM
Or, email me to schedule a one-on-one consultation
Welcome to the Art Research Guide! This guide is designed to help you discover new information and utilize research tools available from Ball State University Libraries. Begin your research by accessing reference materials like Oxford Art Online or locating any number of print reference volumes listed on the Reference Sources page. Next find Books, Articles, and Images and develop search strategies by learning about library classification, subject headings, OneSearch, and various databases like Art Full Text and Artstor. Also browse recommended materials for inspiration when determining your research topic. Dedicated pages for Art Education and Photography introduce resources for these subdisciplines (with other dedicated pages coming soon). Then, at Museums and Galleries, explore local, regional, and national art museums and their digital collections. Finally, as you are writing your term paper, find style guides and citation tools at the Writing and Citation page. Know of a resource not included in this guide? Feel free to email your librarian and they will add it. Or, suggest an item for purchase, if it is a resource not currently owned by University Libraries.
Library Quick Links
-
Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by live chat, email, text, or phone, or schedule a reference appointment.
-
Databases on Fine and Performing ArtsSpecialty databases and some general databases with significant visual arts content, including Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Artstor.
-
Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available through Ball State University Libraries.
-
Journals on Arts, Architecture, and Applied ArtsBrowse serials focusing on the visual arts and see access options, in-print or online.
-
Libraries WorkshopsSee what out-of-class sessions Ball State University Libraries has planned. Email your liaison librarian to suggest a workshop topic.
-
OneSearchLaunch a comprehensive search of University Libraries collections, including physical holdings and items with online access. Use filters to narrow results.
-
Reading Lists (Course Reserves)Look for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
-
Research Guides on Fine and Performing ArtsFind a comprehensive list of research guides on fine and performing arts topics created by Ball State University Libraries.
-
Suggest Materials for PurchaseBelieve a book or another item belongs in our collections? Suggest we purchase it here.