Writing and Citation
Style Guides in the Print Collection
Most scholarly books and journals in music history and theory follow The Chicago Manual of Style. Although a very comprehensive guide, it is not specialized toward music and, therefore, it does not always cover musical topics thoroughly. Follow Chicago for citations, but then be sure to seek the guides below by Holoman, Wingell, and Cowdery for guidance specific to music research. Other specialized research and writing guidebooks can be found in ML 113, ML 3797, and ML 3880.
Writing About Music: A Style Sheet by
How do you spell "Mendelssohn"? Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? Is it "premiere" or "premiére"? The answers and much more can be found in this completely revised and updated resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with classical music in print. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files. A new section outlines best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.
Call Number: ML3797 .H65 2008 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2008
Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide, Fourth Edition by
Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper. Updated to reflect the latest research methodology, resources, and technology, it continues to offer strong coverage on research, organization, drafting and editing-and includes a thorough section on basic writing skills. KEY TOPICS: Contains complete chapters on writing about music, analysis and research, getting started, writing a research paper (from choosing a topic through outlining, writing the draft, editing and revising), questions of format, other kinds of writing projects (i.e., seminar presentations, concert reports, program notes), writing styles, and common writing problem. Covers the latest musicological research and new resources for researching both print and electronic publications. Discusses writing papers on a PC, and provides a sample paper in the appendix that illustrates matters of format and discusses the events in the musical work. MARKET: For writers.
Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2009 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2009
How to Write About Music: The RILM Manual of Style, Second Edition by
This manual addresses a multitude of special problems faced by writers on music–problems rarely solved by general writing guides. It applies an international perspective to matters often handled piecemeal and in ethnocentric fashion: work titles, manuscript sources, transliteration, non-Western theoretical systems, opus and catalogue numbers, and pitch and chord names, to name just a few. Detailed guidelines are provided for the bibliographic handling of standard print, audiovisual, and electronic sources, as well as specialized ones such as program notes, liner notes, and music videos. Throughout, abundant examples illustrate each point. The second edition includes a new chapter on indexing, additional formats for citing specialized sources, and many other revisions and additions. Students, scholars, librarians, critics, and performers will find this book indispensable.
Call Number: ML3880 .H69 2006Publication Date: 2006
The Chicago Manual of Style, Seventeenth Edition
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017 (General Reference -- 1 West)Publication Date: 2017
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013 (General Collection -- 3 East)Publication Date: 2013
Online Citation Style Guides and Tools
When using an online source, check for citation information, including a DOI (digital object identifier) or permalink. Library resources usually include citation formats for copying.
OneSearch uses the quotation mark as a symbol:
In RILM, Music Index, or other databases hosted by Ebscohost, the "Cite" icon is to the right of the detailed view of the item:
JSTOR offers a "Cite this item" link to the right of each item in a list of search results:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online Provides electronic access to The Chicago Manual of Style which contains recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. You can search this source, browse its table of contents and index, enter a section number, and view the seventeenth edition.
- "Citation Styles Guide" from Ball State University Libraries This research guide prepared by Ball State University Libraries' Information Services provides brief, 2 to 4-page overviews of several citation styles, including Chicago, MLA, APA, and others. Check the second tab, "Online Resources," for links to external websites like Purdue OWL.
- EasyBib: How to Cite Sources EasyBib is known for its Citation Generator, but it also offers useful citation guides and examples across a wide variety of formats beyond traditional print materials. Use their page, "How Do I Cite a...," to learn how to cite an app, blog post, social media platform, YouTube video, and many more.
- LibKey Nomad LibKey Nomad provides users with one-click access to full-text journal articles, both on and off campus. It locates and unlocks subscription materials which initially appear behind paywalls when found on websites like Google and Wikipedia. It in effect saves you the step of going back into our databases to find them a second time. All Ball State University students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to download and install the LibKey Nomad browser extension to the browser of your choice.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL) including their guide to Chicago Style
Helpful Resources
- Assignment Calculator (University of Minnesota) The Assignment Calculator breaks down research and writing projects into manageable steps based on your due dates.
- Finale Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning) In this course, USC professor and digital music expert Rick Schmunk guides you through everything you need to know to get started with Finale. Get familiar with hardware and software setup, then go over basics like opening and importing files. Learn how to create lead sheets and simple documents, as well as how to notate music on a grand staff using a computer keyboard or a MIDI keyboard.
- Noteflight Create Professional Quality Scores with Noteflight's free online notation editor. Noteflight is easy to use, customizable, and ready for professional use anywhere you are, on any device. Premium members have access to play and adapt content from Hal Leonard.
- The Writing Center at Ball State University The Writing Center at Ball State University is where students, faculty, and staff turn for writing support. Since 1959, we have helped thousands of Ball State writers through feedback sessions, workshops, presentations, writing communities, studio space, and online resources for writers. We're here because #bsuwrites.