BooksDigital Collection
Digital CollectionLearn More...
This is the "Home" page of the "History of Printing Resources in Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Printing Resources in Archives and Special Collections  

Archives and Special Collections offers a variety of resources pertaining to the history of printing. These include materials dating from the 14th to 20th centuries.
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2013 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/archiveshistoryprinting Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About Archives and Special Collections

The mission of Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to archival and printed materials that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.

Related Resources

  • CardCat
    Search for early printings in CardCat.
  • Digital Media Repository
    Discover early printings such as the Leaves From Famous Bibles and American Almanacs digital collections in the DMR.
  • Early Book and Newspaper Finder
    Search the University Libraries ' catalog for early publications, and gain access to over 7 million digitized books, newspapers, and ephemera.
 

Welcome!

Archives and Special Collections houses a variety of resources pertaining to the history of printing.

Some of the earliest examples of pre-printing era text available in the Archives are illuminated manuscripts, handwritten books which have been decorated or embellished with minature pictures or designs. The majority of these texts are religious in nature, with the oldest spanning from the 400's to 1500's in western Europe.

The first evidence of moveable type printing in western Europe appeared in 1450, and brought with it what would become the development of mass production of literature. The Gutenburg Bible, produced by Johannes Guttenburg between 1450 and 1455, was the first book to be produced with a moveable type printing press. Books, pamphlets, or broadsides printed before the year 1501 are generally known as Incunable or Incunabulum.

The advent of printing, as well as rises in literacy in the United States and western Europe from the 1600's to 1800's, brought a rise in ephemeral publications. These types of printings, which were not meant to last, included newspapers, almanacs, and chapbooks and could be found within the everyday home. 

With the turn of the 20th century, and the influence of the Arts and Crafts movement, the Private Press movement was born. This movement brought such notable presses as the Kelmscott Press, known for it's fine bindings and engravings, and the Village Press, founded by type designer Frederic Goudy.

 

French Revolution Pamphlets

 

Les adieux à l'année 1790 par le peuple Marseillais.(The good-byes to the year 1790, by the people of Marseilles.)

 

 

View the whole collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip