Vocal Music

There are several sources of librettos available:

• Add the word booklet to a search to find CDs with librettos.
• Search Operas--Librettos to find separately published librettos in the Music Collection.
• Naxos Music Library is a streaming audio source that also includes a selection of opera librettos.

Nico Castel's Opera Libretti Series includes the original texts, word-by-word translations, and IPA transcriptions for entire opera libretti. They can be found in Music Reference and have call numbers ML 48 through ML 50. 

• French Opera Libretti (3 vols)
• Italian bel canto (3 vols; vol. 3 includes French libretti set by Italian composers)
• Italian verissimo (only vol. 1 available)
• Libretti of Russian Operas, volume 1
• Gluck & Monteverdi Operas
• Handel Operas (2 volumes)
• Mozart's Operas (2 vols.)
• Complete Puccini Libretti  (2 vols.)
• Strauss:  Four Opera Libretti
• Complete Verdi Libretti (4 vols.)
• Wagner: Meistersinger von Nuremburg, Tristan und Isolde, Parsifal
• Wagner: Ring of the Nibelung

Pronunciation Guide for The Lieder Anthology

Pronunciation Guide for The French Song Anthology

Newly Arranged Chinese Folk Songs, by Mei Zhong

Traditional and Modern Chinese Art Songs, by Mei Zhong

Exploring art song lyrics : translation and pronunciation of the Italian, German & French repertoire by Jonathan Retzlaff

• ML 546 .R48 2012 (Ref)

Italian Song Texts from the 17th Through the 20th Centuries

• ML 54.6 .I83 vol. 1-2 (Ref)

Schubert's Complete Song Texts: With IPA Transcriptions, Word for Word Translations and Commentary by Beaumont Glass 

• ML54.6 S39 G52 (Ref)

Richard Strauss' Complete Song Texts by Beaumont Glass 

• ML 54.6 S86 S62 2004 (Ref)

Arie Antiche by Alessandro Parisotti, with CDs

• M 1619 .A643 2010  (Volume 3)
• M 1619 .A644 2010  (Volume 4)

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, by Jeffers, Paine, Nash, and Jacobson
ML53.8 .J44 1988 (Music Reference) and Compact Disc 19700 (Hebrew texts)         

      Vol. 1  Sacred Latin Texts (includes information about liturgy)

      Vol. 2  German Texts

      Vol. 3  French and Italian Texts

      Vol. 4  Hebrew Texts

Album liner notes often have translations too. These can be found in the Compact Disc collection of Education, Music and Media or at Naxos Music Library.

• The Lied, Art Song, and Choral Texts Archive
  http://www.recmusic.org/lieder/
  Search by composer, poet, title or first line
• Art Song Central
  https://artsongcentral.com/
  Songs scanned from public domain anthologies, with IPA and translation
• Texts and Translations at Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL)
• https://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Category:Texts-translations

Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.